Customer Reviews for

The King (Black Dagger Brotherhood Series #12)

Average Rating 4.5
( 434 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(295)

4 Star

(67)

3 Star

(34)

2 Star

(23)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

29 out of 64 people found this review helpful.

Yesssss

Omg I can't wait

posted by 16760832 on December 9, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

I paid for this in advance because I want to read it when it is

I paid for this in advance because I want to read it when it is released.  Everyone in the world is readinng it EXCEPT PEOPLE WHO HAVE A NOOK!  Get your at together Barnes & Noble.  I'm buying this from Amazon.     

posted by houndstooth on April 1, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 295 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 15
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2013

    Yesssss

    Omg I can't wait

    29 out of 64 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2014

    I give it a 5 ONLY because its a BDB book!!! Im so irritated with B&N right now!!!!!

    B&N I am so disapointed right now I preordered months ago so I could wait for this night. If this is how you reward us Nook owners maybe its time to swich to kindle!!! Again the only reason this reveiw got a five is because I wouldn't ever reveiw a BDB book with anything less. B&N way to let us avid readers down!!!

    18 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2014

    I'm sure the book is AMAZING!!!!

    Shame on Barnes and Noble!!!!! Release the book already!!!!!! Or I'm buying a kindle!!!!!

    17 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2014

    Awesome series.. not so happy about Barnes and Noble holding it.

    Awesome series.. not so happy about Barnes and Noble holding it... its April 1st... GIVE IT TO US!!!

    14 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2014

    Complaining people...

    A lot of time of have your preorder book, you just need to reset. Or if its in your wishlist still showing preorder, if you go to the book in shop, it is available. I know it takes 1 extra step but the book can still be accessed. Leaving the author a low book review, simply because of a small, easily fixed technical issue, is STUPID!

    12 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2014

    RATING: 5 for BDB, 1 for Barnes & Noble. Can't put a 1 for

    RATING: 5 for BDB, 1 for Barnes & Noble. Can't put a 1 for BDB so I have to put the 5 here. The fact that you pre-order and they get our money for over 2 months before the book is released (in my case) and we are the only ones to not be able to read it is absolutely a slap in the face to their loyal customers. I had this happen once before with a different series and stupidly thougth it was a one time glitch. Apparently Barnes and Noble has no real respect for its readers. I will never pre-order again. Books and the Nook are their "thing" you would think they would lead the industry. SAD, ANGRY, DISGUSTED and DISAPPOINTED!!!! AND STILL WAITING!!!!

    9 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2014

    Watching the clock!

    I'm going bonkers! Reminds me of watching the clock on the last day of school before summer vacation.

    7 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    I understand setting up the next book in the series and I love s

    I understand setting up the next book in the series and I love seeing some of the side stories. But in this one there was : Beth and Wrath, Layla and Xcor, Sola and Assail, Qhuinn and B (a tiny bit), Selena and Trez as well as flashbacks to his parents. All in all it was too many stories and not enough attention went to the main story. That being said if it weren't for the Layla/Xcor and many of the Selena/Trez sections I wouldn't have finished this book because I wanted to slap Beth for the majority of it. The side stories were all extremely engaging don't get me wrong, but in a 534 page book when you're spending over 50% on other characters it seems to me the main characters weren't the right "set" to focus on.This is NOT a stand alone book and really should be read in order. One of my favorite parts about how these books are written is that they're like a soap opera; while the book is always centered around a man couple (Wrath and Beth in this book), all of the other characters have leading roles as well, so that everyone's stories continue and not just the Leading Couple" Love it! The King is a great addition to an already addictive series that sucks you right in to the world of the Black Dagger Brotherhood and their mates. I cannot wait for the next book to be released, I never want this series to end!! 

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2014

    Loved it!

    The Warden has done another wonderful job bringing characters we know and love to life. You will cry and laugh so hard you cry in parts. Can't wait for the next book!

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2014

    Not happy with Barnes and Noble

    Can't wait to read the book would have liked to have started it this morning I did purchase it 2 months ago it's still not in my library 0 stars for Barnes and Noble 5 stuff for the Brotherhood

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2014

    Yeah

    I just restarted my Nook and I am so ready to read!!! Love this series....

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recomend!

    What can I say.....I truely LOVED this book. It took my quite sometime to finish the book...it was not because I didn't find it intriquing.....it took awhile because of something we call work.
    I thought J.R. Ward did another Outstanding job!
    I have read all the Black Dagger Brotherhood books in the series and fell in love with all the characters throughout the years. I have grown to love them all except the lessioning society, but then again, without them, the stories may not be as equally intriguing. The King was Awesome. I found it hard to put the book down.....I found myself getting into the books so much; that I was staying up later to read one more chapter...then one more and as hours slipped by; you find yourself getting less sleep because you are held xaptive by the awesome story J.R. Ward tells.....you just don't want to stop reading.
    As with all of the BDB books....J.R. Ward does an Outstanding job telling you as much as she can...painting a vivid explanation of everything that is happening. I have invested quite a bit of reading time in the series, and have become long time reading friends with the brothers; when the books are finished...I find it hard to read that last page knowing my time with the BDB is coming to an end for awhile.
    I would highly recommend "The King"! You will not be dissapointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2014

    In love again!

    I have been addicted to the BDB from the start and i enjoyed the King immensely. The only complaint i have would be out ended a bit abruptly after such a long book and so many stories it was just over! I get that only one story gets a final conclusion, that seems to be Ward's way to continue the series and build up the next story but even Beth and Wrath's story went from 60 to 0 in like 8 pages. But still it was an amazing read i couldn't put it down I can't wait for Trez and iam's story I hope for 2 books out of them cause I love em so much already! I want more ass kicking in theirs too! Read it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2014

    Love

    I still gave it 5 stars even though I felt the side stories were just filler and I ended up skipping through to get back to why i bought the book - Wrath and Beth! The BDB is fighting, rugged, sexual, and sardonic.. Where was the lessers? The adventure? I miss that. However... the LOVE connection and bonds, still kept me in love with the Brotherhood.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2014

    I started reading this series as an escape during a very difficu

    I started reading this series as an escape during a very difficult time in my life. It kept me sane and I fell in love with Wrath. Now,I always feel like I'm coming home when I read any BDB book. I was pleased to see Wrath and Beth's story evolve. I was not bothered by the parallel story lines. I'm excited to see what J.R. Ward has coming for Xcor, iAm and Assail. Can't wait.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2014

    Love me some BDB

    Gotta give 5 stars to one of my fav series ever.... Wrath's story --including his fathers-- is sweet and a great insight into the Monarchy . It is very hard for me to care about Assail or Tres, though, even after all the time she spent on them. I don't hate their characters, I just feel they are unworthy of so much attention. I will keep buying, but hope we get back to the exciting page turner stories! And why were so many sub- stories just abandoned abrubtly after spending all that time on them? Oh, and don't make us wait a whole year for the next one! Pretty please!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2014

    So good

    Worth the wait! Just love this series! Just wish i didnt have to wait a year for the next one!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2014

    I've got to be honest. I was losing faith in The Warden. The las

    I've got to be honest. I was losing faith in The Warden. The last few books in the Black Dagger Brotherhood series just didn't seem to have the same spark as those that came earlier. It seems as if ever since the new baddies on the block, the Band of Bastards (or, BOB), hit the scene, the story lines seemed to multiply and fragment, which detracted from the main Brother we were supposed to be focusing on. After reading The King, though, it truly felt like the magic was back.

    After trying, unsuccessfully, to oust Wrath from the throne with force, Xcor and the BOB have decided to try the legal route. They have teamed up with the glymera council to take the throne away from Wrath based on the idea that he mated with a half-breed, the product of which would never be a full-blooded heir. Meanwhile, Beth feels her biological clock ticking and wants a baby, despite Wrath's very strong feelings to the contrary.

    Wrath and Beth were the very first couple that J.R. Ward wrote about in the Black Dagger Brotherhood series. For fans, this is where it all started. So, for her to go back to them and focus on their relationship now, after being together for several years, was somewhat cathartic. We all thought their story had been told. As it turns out, Ward had only scratched the surface.

    Wrath's devotion to Beth has never been called into question. In fact, it is this intense devotion which has him paralyzed in fear at the thought of her having a child since many of the females of their race die in childbirth. It's understandable, but what is he to do when that is what she wants more than anything? He struggles greatly with this decision and doesn't always handle it well.

    And, while this is all going on, Wrath is also being hit from the other side by the smarmy glymera who are drafting papers with the assistance of Saxton's father to take the throne away from him because of his choice in a mate.

    As we have seen from Ward lately, there are multiple POVs in The King. Within the first 13%, we get POVs from Wrath's father, Wrath's mother (both in the form of flashbacks that happen periodically throughout the book), Wrath, Beth, Alocer, Xcor, Sola, Assail, Trez and John Matthew. I was concerned that with that many POVs, we were going to get more disjointed stories and not enough of the one I really wanted to read.

    And, then something awesome happened. Things started pulling together. The stories solidified and I got interested in them. All of them. Assail's and Sola's story came together in an incredibly dramatic fashion early on in the book, and an event caused them to end up at the Brother's house. Trez's obsession with the Chosen Selena grows and his ability to avoid her diminishes. iAm develops a bromance with Boo the cat (seriously - it was awesome). Xcor's fixation on Layla puts him at odds with the other members of the BOB. Which then affects the actions to dethrone Wrath.

    All the side stories seemed to come together in cool and interesting ways. There were interesting twists thrown in too involving both the baby situation between Wrath and Beth and the attempts to find a way around the glymera's attempts to castrate him via paper. I had an impossible time putting down this book.

    We don't see too much of the other brothers in The King. There is a lot of John Matthew, as peeks of Darius show through some more. We see Tohrment and Vishous as they help Wrath through his marital struggles, and Zsadist as he helps Wrath work through his mental blocks regarding having kids. Payne helps Wrath work out his frustrations. Other than that, there's only glimpses of the others - Rhage, Butch, Phury, Qhuinn, Blay, Xhex and Lassiter. I did miss the Brotherhood togetherness.

    J.R. Ward has already said that the next book in the series will be about Trez and iAm. Trez's story built up quite a bit in The King, and we learn a lot more about him, iAm, and their close relationship to each other. We find out about the impossible situation Trez is in, thanks to his horrible parents, and the lengths that iAm is willing to go to to save him. And, we saw how much he truly cares about Selena, who has some serious problems of her own. After the awesomeness that was The King, I have very high hopes for The Shadows.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2014

    What can you say about Wrath that hasn't already been said? We a

    What can you say about Wrath that hasn't already been said? We all love him and since he was our first in the BDB he holds a special place in my heart (and I'm sure others as well). It has been such a long wait on this book but it was worth it. The back story of Wrath's childhood was really great to read so we know where he came from. The other characters in the book just give it that much more of a storyline and intrigue trying to figure out what will happen between Wrath and the B.O.B or the glymera. I really love that the Shadows, Trez and iAM, had a bigger part to this story and especially love that my Z had a good part in it too. Now comes the anticipation for the next book so here's to hoping time goes by quickly

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2014

    HAIL TO THE KING!!!! LONG LIVE THE KING!!!! I thought that it st

    HAIL TO THE KING!!!!
    LONG LIVE THE KING!!!!
    I thought that it started off kind of slow, but then came the confrontation between Wrath and Beth about her sitting with Layla trying to jump start her needing. After that point, I was hooked. The half of the book is much stronger than the beginning. I enjoyed revisiting with Wrath and Beth, because they are such a wonderful bonded couple and Beth is willing to do anything to help Wrath maintain his crown.
    I loved it once Wrath “FOUND” himself and his place in the world. It was like a switch was flipped in him that made him understand everything so much more clearly than he had in the past.
    If you love your romances filled with passion, romance and HEA’s then you will definitely love this book. Faith, trust and honor were a lot of the things that made this story, along with compromises that were made by both Wrath and Beth. I loved LW and how much Wrath was drawn to him and I loved it at the end where Wrath was holding LW up to his first moon…
    I can’t that this was my favorite of the BDB, because that title goes to Lover Awakened, Z and Bella’s story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 295 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 15