Customer Reviews for

The King (Black Dagger Brotherhood Series #12)

Average Rating 4.5
( 396 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(268)

4 Star

(60)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(23)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

29 out of 63 people found this review helpful.

Yesssss

Omg I can't wait

posted by 16760832 on December 9, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

I paid for this in advance because I want to read it when it is

I paid for this in advance because I want to read it when it is released.  Everyone in the world is readinng it EXCEPT PEOPLE WHO HAVE A NOOK!  Get your at together Barnes & Noble.  I'm buying this from Amazon.     

posted by houndstooth on April 1, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 396 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 20
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2013

    Yesssss

    Omg I can't wait

    29 out of 63 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2014

    This is probably one of the hardest reviews I have ever written.

    This is probably one of the hardest reviews I have ever written. So where to start?
    I suppose I should begin by admitting that I have not counted down the weeks for the last month before release of the last few BDB books as I did in the beginning. 
    Why? Because I personally felt that the author had lost the passion shown for her characters in the earlier stories. 
    So with that in mind, and knowing that it was because of DARK LOVER that my love affair began with the BDB, I was both anxious and wary of the release of THE KING.
    That said; the BDB books have always had more than one story happening in each book; however the primary storyline has always been the featured couple. Well it was in the first 7 books anyway. But I felt that after LOVER AVENGED, the books became busier, with a lot going on, yet less focus on the hero and heroine, so to speak.
    So, if you’re expecting a story that is primarily about Wrath and Beth, it isn’t. The title actually relates to the former and the current Wrath, as well as the obligatory parallel stories we’ve come to expect. 
    In THE KING this is even more prevalent, as these parallel stories have a powerful flavor of their own, but as usual no defined resolution.
    The book is monumental read of 573 pages; so is it impressive? Yes it is; and in all honesty, I closed the book believing that J.R.Ward could quite easily never write another BDB novel as it ended, as you would expect a series to close.
    Some will think I’m harsh not to give this book a 5 Star rating, but hey, I’m just one reader, and previous disappointments in this series have left me more judgmental; however THE KING will be a bestseller, there is no doubt.

    27 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2014

    I give it a 5 ONLY because its a BDB book!!! Im so irritated with B&N right now!!!!!

    B&N I am so disapointed right now I preordered months ago so I could wait for this night. If this is how you reward us Nook owners maybe its time to swich to kindle!!! Again the only reason this reveiw got a five is because I wouldn't ever reveiw a BDB book with anything less. B&N way to let us avid readers down!!!

    18 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2014

    I'm sure the book is AMAZING!!!!

    Shame on Barnes and Noble!!!!! Release the book already!!!!!! Or I'm buying a kindle!!!!!

    17 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2014

    I paid for this in advance because I want to read it when it is

    I paid for this in advance because I want to read it when it is released.  Everyone in the world is readinng it EXCEPT PEOPLE WHO HAVE A NOOK!  Get your at together Barnes & Noble.  I'm buying this from Amazon.     

    17 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2014

    I wish I could give this a five star I really do, its just I can

    I wish I could give this a five star I really do, its just I can't. I've read all the BDB books and with this one is felt like I had to force myself into reading it. The only thing that actually got me throw this was getting the little crumbs about the other 'newer' romances plots. These are my feelings alone, I was just disappointed Id rather reread all the other books then actually reading this one..

    15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2014

    Awesome series.. not so happy about Barnes and Noble holding it.

    Awesome series.. not so happy about Barnes and Noble holding it... its April 1st... GIVE IT TO US!!!

    14 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    Disappointed

    I remember when I first discovered this series. I fell in love! Sadly, the last few books did not meet my expectations. I feel like in this book there were too many side stories going on and Beth and Wrath did not have the spotlight. I bought the book because of them, not for new characters.

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This will be my last BDB book. I'm so irritated how JR Ward chan

    This will be my last BDB book. I'm so irritated how JR Ward changed her writing style. Introducing new love stories and made Wrath's and Beth's story an after thought.  She had to hurry towards the end to get their story out. It was rushed and a huge disappointment

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2014

    Complaining people...

    A lot of time of have your preorder book, you just need to reset. Or if its in your wishlist still showing preorder, if you go to the book in shop, it is available. I know it takes 1 extra step but the book can still be accessed. Leaving the author a low book review, simply because of a small, easily fixed technical issue, is STUPID!

    12 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2014

    Not The best off the BDB

    Way to many Character stories. This was more like a cluster of novellas.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2014

    RATING: 5 for BDB, 1 for Barnes & Noble. Can't put a 1 for

    RATING: 5 for BDB, 1 for Barnes & Noble. Can't put a 1 for BDB so I have to put the 5 here. The fact that you pre-order and they get our money for over 2 months before the book is released (in my case) and we are the only ones to not be able to read it is absolutely a slap in the face to their loyal customers. I had this happen once before with a different series and stupidly thougth it was a one time glitch. Apparently Barnes and Noble has no real respect for its readers. I will never pre-order again. Books and the Nook are their "thing" you would think they would lead the industry. SAD, ANGRY, DISGUSTED and DISAPPOINTED!!!! AND STILL WAITING!!!!

    9 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2014

    I agree with another reviewer that this book seemed that is was

    I agree with another reviewer that this book seemed that is was written last minute and has a lot of uneeded fluff to fill pages. The last one in the series, Lover At Last, was amazing and I was counting down the minutes until it appeared in my Nook library (after several calls to customer service after I also noticed that it was more expensive in the pre-order than when it released!). I was dying to read the Xcor/Layla story line that had developed in the last book, only to be given a small morsel! Too much time was placed on flashbacks of Wrath's parents that could have been cut down to a couple of pages and use those pages to fill out the other story lines going on. I found that I was more involved in the new storylines (that I didn't care about from the last books, except for Xcor/Layla) then in the Wrath/Beth, Wrath's parents storyline that dragged on and was honestly a bit boring mid-way through. I gave it three stars because I feel like a bonded mate that got aroused by the scent, but then they dematerialized on me. The only way the last chapters could have been more unfullfilling is if they were about Lessers (thank you for not wasting eink on them).

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2014

    Watching the clock!

    I'm going bonkers! Reminds me of watching the clock on the last day of school before summer vacation.

    7 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2014

    I'll be honest, it almost broke my heart to give this book three

    I'll be honest, it almost broke my heart to give this book three stars. To be truthful it felt like a betrayal. With the exception of the firs book, which I also did not love, this is my favorite series of books and I like so many others pre-ordered, and waited on baited breath for it's release.
    As always, Ms. Ward writing takes you to another world. The story-lines are...magical, the characters all feel like old friends or live long enemies. It was the same for The King the book simply lacked...something. It was not a boring read, not a bad read, it just missed some of the...heat and excitement of the others as if Ms. Ward had a deadline to meet and instead of writing from the heart she wrote from her head if that makes any sense. I do not want anyone reading this to not read the series, this is book twelve and I've read the first eleven twice, most of them three times and several of them more than that. I recently saw on Ms. Ward's facebook page that she would write this series until the story stopped coming to her and I hope they never do. I would read this series if it had a hundred books in it.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2014

    So disappointed

    Should have stuck with beth and wrath's story. Too many additional side plots muddied the water.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2014

    Loved it!

    The Warden has done another wonderful job bringing characters we know and love to life. You will cry and laugh so hard you cry in parts. Can't wait for the next book!

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2014

    Awful!  far too many plot lines going on here.  Writing style so

    Awful!  far too many plot lines going on here.  Writing style so different, it makes me wonder if JR Ward actually wrote this.  All of the current pop culture, name dropping references were just, well, irritating.  I have been a loyal fan of BDB but this book needed serious editing and I really hated what was done with it.  Big question, if Wrath is the last full blooded vampire, how is it a valid excuse to depose him because his wife is a half breed & his offspring would be as well?  Wouldn't ANY of his children be of mixed blood?  Seems like this rather important detail was ignored.  I'm really angry about this book.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2014

    Wrath and Beth

    First, i absolutely love the stories of Wrath and Beth. I am in love with Wrath and highly envious, yet intrigued, by Beth. I have been waiting on edge for this release. Anxious. Hugh fan.

    Now the nitty gritty with **SPOILER ALERT**
    I wanted a little more insight on John and Xhex. Didnt deliver. Z and Bella. Didnt deliver. Rhage and Mary. Didnt deliver. Butch and Marissa. Were they even mentioned? Kinda like what's happening with them now. You never get the real gist on John's seizures. We as readers know what they're about but it is never revealed.

    I love the clues that leads up to Beths outcome of her "sickness". But you dont quite get if Layla has had her baby. Nine months for Beth/18 months for Layla should have had both babies born around the same time. Umm? Actually, Im disappointed a Chosen would chose to have her body used in a way to help her King. The King himself and the Primale would have hung her out to dry to even think of such a thing and she knows it. Speaking of Chosen, where is the Scribe Virgin? Where are the fights with the Lessening Society? "There is no way Im letting my wife out without heavy backup..." Where is Butch? Where is Xhex? Dont get me wrong, love iAm, but the Queen could have had more of an army if Xhex was involved with protecting her mates sister who can also go out in daylight and can transport. There would have been no issue of the Queen undressing in front of a man who was not her mate/husband because Xhex was there and iAm could have stood guard outside. Whats the deal with Assail and Sola? Did that even have to play that much of a role in the novel if they were ending up where they did. Heartbreaking and who really cares, although Sola breaking out of the house was rather cool.

    Those were the cons. The biggest pro I can give is Wrath with Beth. From beginning to end, loved them. Adored the storyline, especially the back world of Wrath's father. Although, i would have loved to know more of the details leading to the assasination of the elder Wrath and mother. How did she know to hide her son? The spitting in the face of the Glymera? Beautiful! And a side note: George, Boo, and Fritz are just tooooo cute.

    All in all, it only took me 8 days to read this book because i worked 7. Probably would have finished it sooner-pesky jobs. But i find myself going back to some areas just to disappear into the Black Dagger Brotherhood a little longer. I feel like its the last novel, but really do hope it isn't. This book was rushed and there are way too many loose ends to tie up. Trust, i have read ALL of thr BDB novels.

    Final note, usually, i am annoyed with grammatical errors, but amazingly, i dealt with these. I only wish J.R. Ward would have had someone to proofread for her. I know my I's are not capped, but my errors are nothing but laziness and im not writing a book. Lolol

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2014

    Interesting

    First and foremost I am always a huge BDB fan. I love the writing and think JR Ward captures her male characters exceptionally well. I enjoyed this book but alas I did not fall in love with it. I am always happy when she revisits the brothers however there were so many future stories being set up that I found it difficult to appreciate what was happening with Wrath and Beth. That's not to say that I'm not looking forward to reading how things will pan out for all of the others. It just seemed as though there were a lot of stories unfolding only to be ubruptly cut off to hastily jump ahead in time to wrap up the primary story all in about 20 pages. In the end I still enjoyed the book. I mean I'm already finished.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 396 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 20