Customer Reviews for

The King (Black Dagger Brotherhood Series #12)

Average Rating 4.5
( 398 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(269)

4 Star

(61)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(23)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

29 out of 63 people found this review helpful.

Yesssss

Omg I can't wait

posted by 16760832 on December 9, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

I paid for this in advance because I want to read it when it is

I paid for this in advance because I want to read it when it is released.  Everyone in the world is readinng it EXCEPT PEOPLE WHO HAVE A NOOK!  Get your at together Barnes & Noble.  I'm buying this from Amazon.     

posted by houndstooth on April 1, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2014

    I paid for this in advance because I want to read it when it is

    I paid for this in advance because I want to read it when it is released.  Everyone in the world is readinng it EXCEPT PEOPLE WHO HAVE A NOOK!  Get your at together Barnes & Noble.  I'm buying this from Amazon.     

    17 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2014

    Not The best off the BDB

    Way to many Character stories. This was more like a cluster of novellas.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2014

    I agree with another reviewer that this book seemed that is was

    I agree with another reviewer that this book seemed that is was written last minute and has a lot of uneeded fluff to fill pages. The last one in the series, Lover At Last, was amazing and I was counting down the minutes until it appeared in my Nook library (after several calls to customer service after I also noticed that it was more expensive in the pre-order than when it released!). I was dying to read the Xcor/Layla story line that had developed in the last book, only to be given a small morsel! Too much time was placed on flashbacks of Wrath's parents that could have been cut down to a couple of pages and use those pages to fill out the other story lines going on. I found that I was more involved in the new storylines (that I didn't care about from the last books, except for Xcor/Layla) then in the Wrath/Beth, Wrath's parents storyline that dragged on and was honestly a bit boring mid-way through. I gave it three stars because I feel like a bonded mate that got aroused by the scent, but then they dematerialized on me. The only way the last chapters could have been more unfullfilling is if they were about Lessers (thank you for not wasting eink on them).

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2014

    I'll be honest, it almost broke my heart to give this book three

    I'll be honest, it almost broke my heart to give this book three stars. To be truthful it felt like a betrayal. With the exception of the firs book, which I also did not love, this is my favorite series of books and I like so many others pre-ordered, and waited on baited breath for it's release.
    As always, Ms. Ward writing takes you to another world. The story-lines are...magical, the characters all feel like old friends or live long enemies. It was the same for The King the book simply lacked...something. It was not a boring read, not a bad read, it just missed some of the...heat and excitement of the others as if Ms. Ward had a deadline to meet and instead of writing from the heart she wrote from her head if that makes any sense. I do not want anyone reading this to not read the series, this is book twelve and I've read the first eleven twice, most of them three times and several of them more than that. I recently saw on Ms. Ward's facebook page that she would write this series until the story stopped coming to her and I hope they never do. I would read this series if it had a hundred books in it.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2014

    P.S. to sighhhh review

    Writing style changed and some recent events mentioned made me think this book was put together at the last minute. I personally dont care that much for the other characters...would like to see more on brothers....like janeen taylor, writing from beginning young in series to grandchildren and death of main couple.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2014

    After anxiously for The King it did not deliver as I had hoped,

    After anxiously for The King it did not deliver as I had hoped, but it was still a good read. I liked the flashbacks to the past but I could have done with the other side stories. As other readers have stated the book could have and should have focused on Wrath and Beth more after all it was supposed to be their story. It was by far not as steamy, funny and intense as the earlier novels. I think perhaps Ward needs to consider writing a Novella perhaps on some of the months of interaction that occurred before the pregnancy as to give the reader's more insight into their relationship. After all she did it with Zadist in Father Mine and it should be done here to alleviate some of the disappointment that the readers feel. I hope that she can rekindle her fan base with Trez and iAm's  story. I actually grew more interested in them while reading her angels series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2014

    Anonymous

    I have mixed feelings about this book. On one hand I loved that Mrs. Ward refocused on one of the BDB's, but I dislike Assail and Trez story. Am I the only person who could care less about these two slimeballs finding love?

    Trez and his brother are ok about their parents being tortured and murdered?..oh and they're not black..just really dark vampires.......

    I didn't even get why she was flashbacking with the story of Wrath's father and mother. And there was hardly any mention of the Lesser's, which was irritating, because I still have unanswered questions about the Lesser's from Quinn and Blays book.

    I know I sound whiny, but the BDB's don't need new characters. Especially, if it's characters like Assail and Trez and iAm....don't even get me started on Revhenge..uhg..
    I will always be a fan of these books and will even read Assail and Trez books, which I'm sure is coming up soon. I just wish there was more back story on the charecters we already love and want to love more.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2014

    Sorry

    I love all the brothers, their shellans, their stories, but I feel with this book and the last one that Ms.Ward lost something special for these characters. I feel we're not getting enough for our main characters. All I'm reading about are these side stories and not enough about the brothers, and when you do get to a chapter thats for wrath and beth it feels rushed. Again, I love these characters I loved their stories but I am ready for an ending. Please, give me some closure, I don't want this series to be ruined like so many others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2014

    Too cluttered with characters

    I loved the first few books in the series and liked how new characters and storylines were introduced in each book. But this book and the previous one are just too clutterd with characters and storylines. I admire Ward's ambition in tryi g to write an epic series with multiple subplots, but her characters are all too similar to make the subplots that engaging. I was curious to see where the initial series protagonists ended up, but now I've lost interest. There is just too much going on in these books and the supporting characters are all too similar to care about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2014

    What about...

    I loved the scenes with IAm and Boo. Laughed really hard. He can stay but Trez and Assail, who cares. Not me. Loved Wrath and Beths story. I want more Xcor too, he is growing on me. And if there have to be so many side stories can JR please bring Lucas back. Remember Quinns long lost brother? The poor guy was a mess and I want to know what is happening with him. He needs some happy too. Please!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2014

    Can't wait for the next one!

    I generally love reading the books in this series. However, this book had quite a few "pop" references, ex. Miley Cyrus. It may be just me, but I did not like that at all, and I felt as though it took away from the rest of the book a little. Overall, I still enjoyed the book, and I can't wait until the next book comes out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2014

    A little disappointed

    I loved the series. This book was surprising. Did JR really write this, did not seem like her style. To much of the STRETCHING of words. Would have like to know how the other Brothers were doing. Have a feeling this is not the end of the series. I did like reading about Wrath's parents.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2014

    JR Ward was the first romance book I ever read and I was hooked.

    JR Ward was the first romance book I ever read and I was hooked. The first 4 or 5 books, I was unable to put down. Than there were a few that I was disappointed in, So I was not waiting with baited breath for this book but I was happy that we were going back to where it began. Ward's books have always had side stories so I was not distracted by that. What I was disappointed in was the story with Wrath and Beth did not always feel authentic. There were some great parts/interactions with them, but others felt rushed. With all of that said, the ending was fantastic and I will admit that I did shed a few tears. So, while I may not have loved it as I did the very first book, I still enjoyed reading it and will continue reading this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2014

    ?

    Just post something towards me lol

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2014

    Could of been better

    I love the series from the start but for the last couple of books J.R Ward has changed the way she writes. She has too many stories going at the same time and I find myself having to go backwards because I can't remember who is who. I love wrath and beth story but I felt she rushed it in the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2014

    This is one of my favorite book series, and I couldn't wait for

    This is one of my favorite book series, and I couldn't wait for this new book about Wrath and Beth. It started out a
    bit flat for me, and there were several peripheral story lines. It picked up in the middle, and had a great ending. I
    love these two characters. I love the world of the black dagger brotherhood. This has a good storyline. Wrath and 
    Beth have spectacular chemistry. This is a very good book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2014

    For those of us who love the BDB series, this one has it's momen

    For those of us who love the BDB series, this one has it's moments. Insight into Wrath and Beth, laughed out loud at Lassiter and some newer characters were introduced. The side stories are set ups for future books so the theme of The King gets a little lost in the telling. There was an unusual amount of flash back to Wrath's parents story which I found irritating and boring. I am invested in the original characters so I am sure I will read the next one.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2014

    I'm sure this will anger a lot of people but this book was a ver

    I'm sure this will anger a lot of people but this book was a very disappointing read for me. The Brotherhood has disappeared and has been replaced by a pretty little fairytale. There was NONE of the excitement, humor, or heat in this book that we have become accustomed to from J.R. Ward. If I had not read the transcript from the book signing yesterday I would've wagered that The King was the last book we would see in this series. Everything was neatly wrapped up and tied with pretty little bows. Again, what happened to the Brotherhood? We saw very little of any of them and what we did see we did not recognize. Parts I did enjoy: Wrath and Vishous talking at the clinic, Lassiter performing the wedding ceremony, the last scene with Wrath, maybe 7 pages out of 588.

    The last two, now three, books in this series have gone steadily down hill and since the next book isn't even about the brothers, I don't have much hope for it either. The stories have become flat, one dimensional exercises in seeing how many pages can be filled with uninteresting characters and plot lines that go nowhere. I would happily wait two years between books if it would get us back to the brothers that we came to know and love in the first eight books of this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I love all of JR's work. Even when I'm not entirely happy..I'm s

    I love all of JR's work. Even when I'm not entirely happy..I'm still lovin it.  With that said, I do agree that there were too many sub-plots in this one.  Assail/Sola, Xcor/Layla, Trez/Selena, Sex/random women, Wrath/Beth, Wrath's Father/Wrath's Mother....Yes, I cheated on certain sections (don't judge me -_-)...but I had to...really, I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    The English in the book is atrocious! I never anyone who says sl

    The English in the book is atrocious! I never anyone who says slang terms like Sesh, Natch and Abso...it was obnoxious. Don't even get me started on the acronyms...what happened to good old English? Also, J.R. Ward needs to lay off the extra unnecessary side stories. Wrath's parents story? Could have definitely been left out. All the other side stories were good because they will hopefully lead to other books. 3 stars because I love the Black Dagger Brotherhood.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2