Customer Reviews for

The King (Black Dagger Brotherhood Series #12)

Average Rating 4.5
( 423 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(287)

4 Star

(66)

3 Star

(33)

2 Star

(23)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

29 out of 64 people found this review helpful.

Yesssss

Omg I can't wait

posted by 16760832 on December 9, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

I paid for this in advance because I want to read it when it is

I paid for this in advance because I want to read it when it is released.  Everyone in the world is readinng it EXCEPT PEOPLE WHO HAVE A NOOK!  Get your at together Barnes & Noble.  I'm buying this from Amazon.     

posted by houndstooth on April 1, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted April 2, 2014

    This is probably one of the hardest reviews I have ever written.

    This is probably one of the hardest reviews I have ever written. So where to start?
    I suppose I should begin by admitting that I have not counted down the weeks for the last month before release of the last few BDB books as I did in the beginning. 
    Why? Because I personally felt that the author had lost the passion shown for her characters in the earlier stories. 
    So with that in mind, and knowing that it was because of DARK LOVER that my love affair began with the BDB, I was both anxious and wary of the release of THE KING.
    That said; the BDB books have always had more than one story happening in each book; however the primary storyline has always been the featured couple. Well it was in the first 7 books anyway. But I felt that after LOVER AVENGED, the books became busier, with a lot going on, yet less focus on the hero and heroine, so to speak.
    So, if you’re expecting a story that is primarily about Wrath and Beth, it isn’t. The title actually relates to the former and the current Wrath, as well as the obligatory parallel stories we’ve come to expect. 
    In THE KING this is even more prevalent, as these parallel stories have a powerful flavor of their own, but as usual no defined resolution.
    The book is monumental read of 573 pages; so is it impressive? Yes it is; and in all honesty, I closed the book believing that J.R.Ward could quite easily never write another BDB novel as it ended, as you would expect a series to close.
    Some will think I’m harsh not to give this book a 5 Star rating, but hey, I’m just one reader, and previous disappointments in this series have left me more judgmental; however THE KING will be a bestseller, there is no doubt.

    27 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2014

    Wrath and Beth

    First, i absolutely love the stories of Wrath and Beth. I am in love with Wrath and highly envious, yet intrigued, by Beth. I have been waiting on edge for this release. Anxious. Hugh fan.

    Now the nitty gritty with **SPOILER ALERT**
    I wanted a little more insight on John and Xhex. Didnt deliver. Z and Bella. Didnt deliver. Rhage and Mary. Didnt deliver. Butch and Marissa. Were they even mentioned? Kinda like what's happening with them now. You never get the real gist on John's seizures. We as readers know what they're about but it is never revealed.

    I love the clues that leads up to Beths outcome of her "sickness". But you dont quite get if Layla has had her baby. Nine months for Beth/18 months for Layla should have had both babies born around the same time. Umm? Actually, Im disappointed a Chosen would chose to have her body used in a way to help her King. The King himself and the Primale would have hung her out to dry to even think of such a thing and she knows it. Speaking of Chosen, where is the Scribe Virgin? Where are the fights with the Lessening Society? "There is no way Im letting my wife out without heavy backup..." Where is Butch? Where is Xhex? Dont get me wrong, love iAm, but the Queen could have had more of an army if Xhex was involved with protecting her mates sister who can also go out in daylight and can transport. There would have been no issue of the Queen undressing in front of a man who was not her mate/husband because Xhex was there and iAm could have stood guard outside. Whats the deal with Assail and Sola? Did that even have to play that much of a role in the novel if they were ending up where they did. Heartbreaking and who really cares, although Sola breaking out of the house was rather cool.

    Those were the cons. The biggest pro I can give is Wrath with Beth. From beginning to end, loved them. Adored the storyline, especially the back world of Wrath's father. Although, i would have loved to know more of the details leading to the assasination of the elder Wrath and mother. How did she know to hide her son? The spitting in the face of the Glymera? Beautiful! And a side note: George, Boo, and Fritz are just tooooo cute.

    All in all, it only took me 8 days to read this book because i worked 7. Probably would have finished it sooner-pesky jobs. But i find myself going back to some areas just to disappear into the Black Dagger Brotherhood a little longer. I feel like its the last novel, but really do hope it isn't. This book was rushed and there are way too many loose ends to tie up. Trust, i have read ALL of thr BDB novels.

    Final note, usually, i am annoyed with grammatical errors, but amazingly, i dealt with these. I only wish J.R. Ward would have had someone to proofread for her. I know my I's are not capped, but my errors are nothing but laziness and im not writing a book. Lolol

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2014

    Interesting

    First and foremost I am always a huge BDB fan. I love the writing and think JR Ward captures her male characters exceptionally well. I enjoyed this book but alas I did not fall in love with it. I am always happy when she revisits the brothers however there were so many future stories being set up that I found it difficult to appreciate what was happening with Wrath and Beth. That's not to say that I'm not looking forward to reading how things will pan out for all of the others. It just seemed as though there were a lot of stories unfolding only to be ubruptly cut off to hastily jump ahead in time to wrap up the primary story all in about 20 pages. In the end I still enjoyed the book. I mean I'm already finished.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2014

    Love BDB

    I really loved the book. But with so many side stories I think it should have and could have been longer. Yes longer. I have read many books that are much longer. The Eragon series for instance. Then she could have told us more about the time between Beth finding out she was pregnanant and the birth. And more if them with the new baby. Instead if just telling us that she is a fantastic mother we could see into that more. The only interaction with Blay Quinn and Llayla was once in Layla's room, when the queen tries to apologize. So many things could have been made more clear. As for the flashbacks, I didn't mind those. Actually more would have been good. Like the time leading up to their slaughter and the hiding of Wrath etc. It was interesting to see how Wrath remembers it a lot different. It shows that his parents shielded him from so much. He thinks his father's rule was all perfect but it was not. I hope in the future that we get to actually see them raising the baby. The lessons they teach him and not just flashes like we get of Nala. I would not complain about more in depth stories. What about the up and coming soldiers and the training? A flash of Lash returning and what the lessers are planning would help too. So no, longer books would not bother me.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2014

    I started reading this series and instantly fell in love with th

    I started reading this series and instantly fell in love with the characters. I actually re-read the series while waiting for The King to be released.

    The Brothers and their shellans, their stories are engaging. I devoured this book. The author always wraps up the main plot line, but leaves one wanting more with the other stories introduced. I really enjoyed this book and I enjoyed the new characters that were further explored. However, I miss the old characters. I like Trez and iAm, but I want to know what is going on with Butch and Marissa. Are they thinking about expanding their family? Rhage and Mary? How about interaction in between Rehvenge and his brother in law or how about interaction between Bella and Ehlena having a moment?
    How about all the shellans getting together and having a dinner and discussing their fears, concerns about their hellens, having children, and all of them living in the same house. I miss the characters - I like the new characters - but I want to know how the other ones are doing - they are why I fell in love with the series in the first place; I would like a novella concerning these couples just so I can stop wondering what is going on with them in the house. It is like they are on the fringes and I keep hoping that they are going to say something or have some role, but they are just in the room - no true interaction. I miss the Virgin Scribe- why I don't know - but where is she? DId the lack of belief make her nonexistent?
    Who is Xcor's father? Are we ever going to find out about Murhder? I would love to have background stories on Murdher, Torture, Agony orother Brothers-The foundation of the now present Brotherhood. Do we ever find out about Beth's mother - why won't Beth or JM go to Fritz to ask about their dad? He knew him and about Beth's existence. Surely he may have some information about Darius that would be of interest to his children. How about the other children that he lost? W
    I know that I am rambling but I want the answer to these questions and I don't know if I can wait years. This is an appeal - to the author, I have enjoyed your books thoroughly- please think about your first characters- please re- visit them. You don't have to give them a whole book just a chapter - or a novella. What about Lassiter? His story an past with Vishous- why do they do not get along? Sorry I just have a lot of questions about these characters that have completely enthralled me.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2014

    The King is the 12th book in the popular Black Dagger Brotherhoo

    The King is the 12th book in the popular Black Dagger Brotherhood series by American author, J.R. Ward. While the main plot concerns the King, Wrath, son of Wrath and his Queen, Beth, much of the narrative is also devoted to Assail and Sola Morte (Marisol), Wrath’s parents, Wrath and Anha, Shadow Trez and Selena, and Xcor and Layla. As well as the threat to his rule from the glymera and Xcor’s Band of Bastards, Wrath is trying to deal with Beth’s wish for a baby, something that he is against for several reasons. Sola Morte discovers another side to ruthless drug lord and cold-blooded killer Assail when he sets out rescue her. Shadow iAm’s character is expanded on with a few surprises. Trez finds that his plan to foil his destiny with the s’Hisbe backfires on him when he wants to get closer to Chosen Selena. And the pregnant Chosen Layla makes a secret deal with Xcor. Beth’s cat Boo takes a liking to a household member. A gutsy Sola Morte solves a security thumbprint dilemma with aplomb. The seventeenth century narrative about Wrath and Anha also elucidates the history of the association between the Brotherhood and the King. Lessers and the Band of Bastards make very few appearances in this installment and the noticeable lack of fights will certainly please some readers. A rather atypical member of the glymera who is (somewhat unfortunately) named Abalone (though he is not at all shellfish, sorry, selfish) is instrumental to a rather neat solution to the battle for Wrath’s leadership. This instalment has kidnapping, pregnancy with associated food cravings, birth, a traditional wedding, morning sickness, ultrasounds, a sedative dart, a poison chalice, an epileptic seizure, migraine, vengeance, sparring, a divorce, blackmail, and quite a lot of ice cream. There are a few twists in the plot and while some of the narrative strands are nicely tied up, there is plenty of scope for further novels in the series with several unresolved threads. As always, this is an addictive read and fans will look forward to the 13th book, The Shadows. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2014

    I love this series.

    I just hope she writes more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2014

    Karina

    Karina quickly nodded, running to change.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2014

    Much Better than the Last Few

    Ward has finally gone back to the type of plot that so engaged readers in her earlier BDB books. I have not enjoyed the last 2 or 3 but this one is classic. Yes, there is some stretching of words and some celebrity name dropping but it fits well within the context of the story. Finally, I can again look forward to reading future books from Ward. I was afraid she might have lost her touch,but clearly she is back to classic J R Ward style. Stephanie Clanahan

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2014

    Check it out

    I love the Brotherhood books. The King took longer to get into. The movement between different story lines and characters was confusing. I almost didn't finish the book. Thank goodness my mom made me finish what I start. It was so worth the struggle to follow all the plots. Read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I really wanted to give this book five stars. Truly, I did, but

    I really wanted to give this book five stars. Truly, I did, but the problem I had with this book was too many side plots and not enough of the Brothers. 

    Don't get me wrong, I found I enjoyed Assail and Sola as well as Trez, iAm, and Selena but there wasn't enough of the Brotherhood and the Lessers and the fighting for me. In fact (SPOILER HERE), there were only two MINOR instances of Lesser involvement and the Brotherhood only got involved after Trez called them to come clean up.

    So about my review... well... what did I like? I loved reading about Wrath and his past and how his present was sort of paralleling in a way with the past. While Beth (SPOILER HERE) is not poisoned, it is because of her that people seek to remove him from the throne.

    We see the true love and strength that Beth and Wrath have for each other and the lengths that they will go to for the other to make them happy. We see them both struggle with her Needing and whether or not to allow it as well as whether or not to have a baby. 

    I struggled with reading this book... it took me a month and the only books that do that are ones that I cannot get into. I grounded myself this weekend to finish this book and I'm glad I was able to focus on the story once I figured out why I couldn't get into this book.

    Will the fact that I had such a hard time getting into this book stop me from reading other BDB books in the future, heck no. I love the Black Dagger Brotherhood and hope for many more books about them and their world. I just wish there was less side plot and more history of how Wrath came to be as well as more of the Brotherhood in this story.

    Although it was implied that Blay and Quinn were in the house in several scenes, I cannot recall actually reading about them in the book. 

    And Layla and X'Cor... I'm sorry... but her sneaking out and him now knowing where the BDB are I am not happy with. Layla may think she was doing good to promise herself to X'Cor (SPOILER HERE) if he gave up his vengence to dethrone Wrath, but honestly the baby needs to be born and she needs to be gone from the mansion. End of.

    However, I did fall in love with Trez and iAm and cannot wait to read more about them when their story comes out.

    And that's my review in a nutshell.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2014

    Good book

    This book was good not excellent and compelling like some of her others that I would read all night long but still worth the read. I would also suggest going to your library, this book is expensive

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2014

    loved it

    forgot how superior Wards writing is compared to others in her genre. spectacularly written. Love the many different stories going on in this novel, very easy to keep pace with. I have read other series while waiting for the next installment of BDB. All others pale in comparison. The only thing I could say slightly in the negative would be the consant reference to pop culture and the way she shortens the english language. Its repetitive and feels akward, like she uses the constant references to remind us she's hip, but it sometimes comes across as uncomfortable. All in all a fantastic read. very pleased

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2014

    The King has arrived!

    I loved loved loved reading Wrath and Beth's story. Fantastic book! Ready for the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2014

    A worthy king, a worthy book

    A warrior accepts his flaws and becomes a better king. A journey worth taking, for a worthy king.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2014

    The king

    I did enjoy this book. It was different from some of the others because the focus was not just on the main two. I am hoping for another in the series so that we can find out what happens with the new love interests.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2014

    Highly Recommended- Exceeds Expectations

    This is a wonderful new chapter to Beth and Wrath's story. The ending is beautiful, makes you want to crow with delight!! If you love the Brothers, you will even more after this epic book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2014

    Highly Recommended!!!

    I really enjoyed this book. Was so hard to put it down. Wish they were longer! Loved how she went back and forth between the different couples. I want more of the other brothers that have kind a fallen into the back ground such as Butch/Rhage and more V. All in all loved it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2014

    Jr ward never disappoints

    I have read all of the bdb series, and enjoyed them all,and absolutely loved some. I just enjoyed this one but it definitely wasn't a disappointment like some of the other reviews stated. I do agree that it had a lot of side stories but I don't think it took away from Beth and the King. If you are a true bdb fan then you know that Jr ward always gets her readers involved with the characters of the upcoming stories. I'm very interested in what's going to happen with Trez and the chosen. Even though the shadow brothers aren't officially apart of the bdb they have been around long enough to be more involved in the story. And I cant wait to see what happens with Layla and wraths enemy. The only side story that was a waste of space was sola and assail I really didn't understand what was the point of them. As far as the other complaint about the brothers not being so involved in this story, I don't see why they would be when everyone has already had their story. Its time for change, this is the twelfth story and she has plenty of other characters to make other stories or spinoffs. So like I said I enjoyed it would recommend it especially to people who are familier with the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2014

    Great!

    After the previous book in the series I was not as excited for the this one. However, I really enjoyed this book! One again I look forward to the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4