Customer Reviews for

The King James Version (KJV) Holy Bible : The Old & New Testaments, Deuterocanonical literature, Glossary & Suggested Reading List. ILLUSTRATED by Gustave Dore

Average Rating 4
( 1343 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(777)

4 Star

(191)

3 Star

(158)

2 Star

(89)

1 Star

(128)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

41 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

The Holy Bible (King James Version)

I found this Bible to be very quick and easy to use by navigating through the table of contents. I did a bit of research before deciding on a Bible, and am not disappointed that I chose this one. The text is of real quality. It's so easy to follow my pastor all over the...
I found this Bible to be very quick and easy to use by navigating through the table of contents. I did a bit of research before deciding on a Bible, and am not disappointed that I chose this one. The text is of real quality. It's so easy to follow my pastor all over the Word during his sermon. I'm thrilled with this Bible! It is the best one out there. I would definitely recommend it.

posted by Jaime_Neiman on June 11, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

? King James ?

This is a great value for your I-pad or other mobile device HOWEVER...
One should be warned that "additional books" from other religions have
been added to this version. Bascially, the presentation is contaminated
with false doctines sprinkled into Gods word. The c...
This is a great value for your I-pad or other mobile device HOWEVER...
One should be warned that "additional books" from other religions have
been added to this version. Bascially, the presentation is contaminated
with false doctines sprinkled into Gods word. The child of God should be aware of this. This presentation appears to be tainted from the picture on the cover page and the additional books incorporated into this "value".
If you can stear clear of these items, then you will have the KJV as God intended it to be.
Other than that...it is a comfort to be able to have the Word of God with you at anytime.

posted by 4352095 on August 10, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 777 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 39
  • Posted June 11, 2010

    The Holy Bible (King James Version)

    I found this Bible to be very quick and easy to use by navigating through the table of contents. I did a bit of research before deciding on a Bible, and am not disappointed that I chose this one. The text is of real quality. It's so easy to follow my pastor all over the Word during his sermon. I'm thrilled with this Bible! It is the best one out there. I would definitely recommend it.

    41 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2010

    A very nice Book

    As a student of Theology it really helped me to have the King James Version of the Bible on my nook. Not only was it small enough for me to carry around with ease, but the ability to go anywhere in the entire Bible at ease is amazing. It doesn't take long to load at all, and the text is rich in literary value. Not only that but for only 99 cents! What a bargain! I definitely give this book a 5 out of 5.

    36 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2010

    Slow to navigate to the actual Chapters

    This is not a review on the writings of the Bible, just the navigation. When you need to go to a certain book in the Bible it is sometimes hard to get to the chapter you need. Say, you want to go to Psalm 121. You will need to hit the "Go To" link, then hit the "Chapter" link. You will then need to scroll down to the book of Psalm. When you hit that link it will take you to the beginning of psalms, then each chapter in psalms has a number which you HAVE to Arrow down to. That is 121 times of arrowing down. That is very slow going. I thought I might be able to arrow UP (because Psalms has 150 chapters, it would be faster), but it wouldn't let me. I am still looking for a Bible that is easy to navigate. I hope that they make one soon. Trying to following the pastor during the sermon is NOT possible on this.

    My daughter has an app on her phone that is a lot better. You can scroll the books and then it lets you scroll the chapters. Much better and faster.

    20 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2010

    It loads very fast.

    It takes less than 10 seconds to load once a chapter is selected. I am very satisfied with this e-book.

    16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2010

    full KJV with apocrypha

    Navigation is not bad, in fact given the average for Nook, it is rather good.

    I like the low price of this Bible, and that it also includes the apocrypha which Catholics and Orthodox Christians will appreciate.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    There Aren't Enough Words!

    This eBook edition is thorough and very compatible with the Nook. The easy navigation makes it a breeze to find chapters and verses with ease. I Love It!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Beginning of Understanding.

    Care to challenge God? Yes, I really mean it and in a respectful way. If you are not sure God is who He says He is and did what He said He did then you have every RIGHT to ask Him to convince you.

    Offer a simple prayer, like 'I'll read this book through, it's up to you to convince me of it's truth.' and begin to read, at the beginning and just read it through. You don't need to race through it.

    I was "converted," before the half-way point in the Old Testament! I learned that if you are honest with Him he will respect you and provide what you need to 'know.'

    Best book in the world.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2011

    Fast searches,easy to use and convenient - the best

    This is my third purchase of the bible and i now know what makes for a usuable ebook. This version has it all. While in church, I am able to keep up with the pastor when he quotes a book and verse. I CAN DO SEARCHES EASILY. The other books that I have can not search or take 45 seconds to find exodus, for example. The way that this version is segmented also makes finding what you want in the old or new testament easy beyond belief. This is such a CONVENIENT book to use that it makes you want to read the bible more. Does this help?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2010

    THE BEST THUS FAR

    UPGRADE TO THE NOOKCOLOR! GET THIS VERSION YOU WILL BE SATISFIED, IT WORKS WITH EASE.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2010

    Perfect as an e-book

    Since I'm not using this to follow along with sermons or lessons- just my daily reading- I'm not seeing any navigation problems. It's been years since I've read the Kind James Version, and for all of its flaws, it's probably still my favorite. It just sounds so poetic and "biblical."

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2010

    Good Bible

    The navigation could be better, but it is not as bad as some reviewers say it is. What is funny and probably part of the navigation issues, is that this ebook seems to be catering the Amazon's Kindle, as it is shown in the instructions "help" file. I say funny because I would expect Barnes and Noble to make it with the nook in mind, first.

    I'm taking a star off because of the issues above. Otherwise it is a faithful copy of a printed KJ Bible.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    I really enjoy using this version of the Bible. It is easy to use. Very easy to find book, chapter and verse. I am very glad I purchased it and recommend it to anyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    Excellent

    Nice large print and easy to navigate.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    Awesome!!

    Absolutely amazing! Can be used quickly and efficiently on the go. Great and easy chapter find. Worth the buy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2011

    Return

    The #1 seller and most read book in the world still reigns!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2011

    Very nice

    This is the first bible app that i found that makes finding the scriptures, chapter and verse painless. Very nice! Navigation is pretty good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2011

    Awesome

    Grew up reading the KJV. I love having it on my Nook!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    highly Recommeded

    The Greatest Book Ever Written!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    This is just excellent on the Nook. And you're able to have the Bible handed at all times. Very easy to use. I would share the word of God everywhere I go. And it's always good to know the word of God for yourself.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    must read, best book ever

    sold over a million copies plus:)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 777 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 39