Customer Reviews for

The King Of Erotica 1

Average Rating 5
( 101 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(98)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 99 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2008

    God Made a miracle

    He rose from childhood tragedy to being a rebeliious teenager and no one knew he was nursing four years of abuse. He acted out. Reading thses things about him, reading that he rose from prison to where he is now shows us that this young black man has seen some things, been accused of some things and his head is high on his book cover and the beautiful part about it is that his book isn't abou thim. Reading this book was invigorating, to say the leaset. I'm 50 years old, and yes, I've seen some things, but the onslaughts he's lived through shape his writing ability to the legendary strokes it has become. No one can match this book. His short stories are outrageously real. Candidly real. He dige deep into the character and you wonder why they do the things they do. Why did Melissa Jackson attend a 60 plus member orgy in the back of her church while the corrupt Pastor Troy lead an organization straight to the tithe's baskets? Why does Clever want to live out her dreams? Why does Jadish have horrible nightmares, being that she's a virgin and never had sex with a man. The answer will stun you. This book is like the Lord of the Rings. It ends on cliff hangers leading into Book two. I can't wait to read book three. I love it and this man is going to blow up and everyone will know his name!!!

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2008

    What a Book should Be

    His book isn't a book. Its documentation through a sexually brilliant mind. I'm looking forward to Book 2. The man is on his way. Straight to the top!

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2008

    WOW!!!

    This book was read at a friend's house. She called over a few friends and we read this book aloud. I have never heard of Dapharoah69, but now that I bought the book and part 2 I eagerly await their arrivals to my home with glee and excitement. And I must say Dapharoah69 is a deep brothah with a candid soul. He is destined for greatness. No one left my friend's house the same. Dapharoah69 is more than Erotica. He is the Business. No one can mess with his style!

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2008

    The Book Lives up to the Hype!

    He name is making the rounds baby. And I am not one to do a review, but after reading the book I just had to. DApharoah69 writes things that you don't read everyday in a book. His characters are so mindblowing how could i walk away the same as I was before I read it. This book has it all, a testimonial, The Oath of the Freak. In the beginning it reads like a sexually charged Chicken Soup for the Soul, detailing the Alpha and Omega and why he wrote an erotic book. He is clearlymore than just a pretty face and sex. And slapping himself on the cover lets the world know that the King of Erotica has arrived. And there will never be another one.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2008

    Dapharoah69

    I bought this book because I was skeptical. I bought this book because his name is making the rounds as being Zane's competition. Reading this book I didn't get that he was Zane's anything. He is being himself. He even notes in the book that he doesn't want to be compared to anybody but himself. The man has survived brutal onslaughts in his life. He candidly talked about the creation of the King of Erotica in the beginning of the book. Its like I knew him all my life. Even Zane isn't as open with her readers the way he is. This separates him from the pack. The Oath of the Freak was original and different. Every short story, from 'Down, set, hike' to 'Jadish Houston' and 'On the Low Low' will absolutely blow your mind. He writes without apology. He is what erotica needs. A man who doesn't water things down to go commercial. I am enroute to purchase his second book. I already know it'll be a treat.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2008

    OMG!

    To say this book changed my life is to put it mildly. Because of this man, I now understand the bisexual and gay community even more. And what's even better is that the book kisn't a sexual orientation book. It is a book about all people from all walks of life loving, living, having sex and reaping the rewards or the devastation that follows. Jadish Houston should be nominated for story of the year. It defiantely knocks anything Zane has ever written and she was my favorite author, that is until Dapharoah69's book was in my mail box.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    He's the Best

    I love this bok. I can't believe some of the things I read. On the Low Low was so intense I looked at my man to make sure he wasn't a gay man on the low. Dapharoah69 writes believable characters and he looks good while doing it. There was not a dry spell in this book.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    THE KING OF EROTICA, THIS BOOK CHANGED MY LIFE

    I never thought such a wonderful piece of creative genious existed. I was truely captivated from begining to end. And what was so surprising to me was, there were absolutely "NO" similarities in book 2 that stemed from book 1. Each story was much more refreshing than the last, it really kept me on the edge of my seat. The author's vision was exquisitely tasteful, the characters in each story will be forever engraved in my mind as well as my heart, you can't help but to gain a positive and benificial message from his writings. I recently recieved word from over 47 readers of this book, all hailing THE KING OF EROTICA; that they too have benefited from the books, and a third installment is currently brewing. I'm eagerly anticipating this "must have" masterpiece. I know book 3 will be memorable, and the KING will soon be a household name.<BR/>(TO: THE KING OF EROTICA, "KING, YOU are truely a genious, my admiration for your no holds bard creativity is greatly appreciated. Some authors beat around the bush and sugar coat their artistic talents,or abolish reality from each passage of the book. But not you KING, I take my hat off to you for not giving in, by allowing society to justify whom you are. Your book took me on a roller coaster ride of emotions, I laughed, I cried, I simply couldn't put it down. I could actually see a few fantasies of mine come to life, with each flip of a page. You are "my" definition of a true writer. YOU taught me that love and sex don't go hand and hand, that it's not the most important thing in a realtionship. SEX is apart of life, but never make the mistake of evolving through it. I THANK YOU.)<BR/>Everyone, the KING is here and he's here to stay, this is a terrific gift for "mature" friends and family members, and was a wonderful stocking stuffer for me this past holiday season, my loved ones "RAVED" over this one. I gained so much from book 1 and book 2, and I'm certain that you will also."ALL HAIL THE KING OF EROTICA"

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2008

    I love this book

    Whats not to love about the King of Erotica. What's not to love about how personal he gets to his readers. Even though the short stories are fictional, he gives a huge piece of himself throughout the book. The first half is stories. The second half is poetry. And what an amazing poet he is. The book's opening has the Oath of the Freak that you must read and sign, and when you do be prepared to be taken on a rollercoaster. Rayne in the Bedroom completely blew my mind. I have never read a story like this. A sexual Dr. Jekyl and Mr. Hyde. Overall, I give the book an A! He is in a league all his own

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2008

    The First Book is Mind blowing

    I was one of many people who bought Book 2 before book one was available. And I must say the Throne's Special Edition has come from a very brilliant mind. To use sex and his uncanny ability to trap you in his universe to tell a story is something the average person can't do. He is blessed. I felt 'Jadish Houston' and her nightmares. I was sucked in by Melissa Jackson in 'The Golden Mask,' which is arguably one of the best pieces of erotic fiction I have ever read. An orgy in the back of the church and the way he colored between the lines blew me away. Dapharoah69, you have arrived. His poetry are landmarks of their own design. He does it all. And it doesn't hurt to look good while you're doing it.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2009

    The King of Erotica's the book not the man

    I don't know why some people compare him to Zane. He does what she doesn't: represent his works with himself on his book covers and not models. He actually knows how to describe an emotion and a scene without overdoing it. When I received my book I was excited. I started reading it the minute it left the packaging.. From the first page you know he put his soul into it. He was the book's promoter, CEO, creator, formatting, marketing director...he was a one man show. Steve Shires cover photo is top quality. He captured Dapharoah69 in all his splendor. HE IS A BEAUTIFUL MAN!!! And his writing gets gritty, real and raw. Can you handle it? He has what Zane doesn't: beauty, smarts and his characters aren't watered down, edited commercialized fiction.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2008

    He is so good

    Man I never knew one man can write so good. I mean I dont mean that in a bad way. Im used to brothahs hustling on the block and I dont like reading but I couldnt help reading this book. It is truly magnificent.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    THE BEST BOOK I EVER READ

    BECAUSE OF THIS BOOK I UNDERSTAND THE GAY AND LESBIAN COMMUNITY. BECAUSE OF THIS BOK I UNDERSTAND STRAIGHT PEOPLE DOING WHAT THEY DO. HE IS SO IN YOUR FACE ITS SCARY THAT ONE MAN WROTE THIS MAGNUM OPUS. I AM A HUGE FAN OF HIS WORK. FROM COVER TO COVER YOU WILL BE HELD SPELLBOUND BY THE SEX, BUT MORE BREATHLESS OVER THE PLOTS AND THE STORYLINES

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2008

    He has come a LOONGGGGGG way

    I can remember when he first wrote book one. He was in tears, wondering would it be received the way he wrote it. I told him as long as it came from the heart. I did his photo shoot free of charge. He gave me credit and I thank him for that. I saw these stories before they made the light of day. Even I was skeptical about the GOLDEN Mask. The way he wrote that orgy in the back of the church not only blew my mind but I felt the sweat, felt the intensity, I felt Melissa Jackson, who is one of the best sexual vixens I have ever read in a book. I am very proud of him. Everything he is accomplishing he did on his own. He's a PHARAOH indeed.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2009

    The Man is an Instant MYTH with The King of Erotica

    This book has everything for all people, including the Oath of the Freak, which is pure genius. I am from Trinidad and I took a chance ordering all four of his books through this site and must I tell you it is worth every damn penny. From the first half of the book being short stories to the second half of the book being his mind-blowing poetry, I was taken through a throng of emotions. The way he weaves the plots together is amazing in itself. My favorite story, even though I love thel all, is jadish Houston and Joints, Beer and the Cheating Lovers. What a way to make a debut by taking no prisoners along for the ride. Glad I came across the links on Tagged.com/kingoferotica

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2009

    The King of Erotica is my Inspiration

    The book is everything you could ask for: drama, sex and candidness. Each story easily pours into the next and his vision and how he came to write the book has inspired me. This is my favorite book of all time.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2008

    Book One an Instant Classic/Legend

    I never thought I would say this about an erotic book. And I say this because he is so much more than sex. I have read through all the reviews before I even purchased Book 2. I actually read book 2 first. Im glad that I did. I am a young gay male and I live life on the low. Dapharoah69 captures this in some of the stories in this book. I felt what Terrance felt in on the Low Low. I felt the "First Nut" story. about the father who abuses his own son for his own sick pleasures. Dapharoah69 writes in a way I have never seen. I have read Giovanni's Room by James Baldwin and Passion Marks by Lee Hayes and Dapharoah69 slaughters them with the stroke of his genius. This is the kind of writing I like to read: raw, real, uncensored, uncommercialized fiction that makes you wonder, talk and shed tears in the process.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2008

    WOW, MAN!!!

    I am so in aweeeeeee of his stories that I had to read it twice. The first time I read it I had to get past the fact that such a handsome man can write amazing stories. The second time I got his shtick. He uses sex to lure his readers to the more underlining story. Whoever says this man only writes sex must have dropped out of the third grade because he is so much more. Literary genius.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2008

    Hmm: Dapharoah69 is just like his name: PHARAOH!

    I'm a straight male. And seeing this book on my sister's dresser lured me to pick it up. How could I not? A nice-looking brothah doing his thing was to be desired. I sat on her bed and thumbed through it. I tell you something. When I read in its entirety the Purpose of the Book ALPHA AND OMEGA, I was hooked. I bought a copy for myself. He tells you bluntly that his book isn't a straight book. It isn't a gay book. Its a book about REAL PEOPLE! Its understanding why people have the type of sex the way they do. I love the book. And I lok forward to reading BOok 2. Dapharoah69 is one of my favorite authors now. I urge you all to get a copy.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2009

    CLASSIC

    All I can say that he is a SOuthridge SPARTAN, CLASS of 95. All I can say is that he was Made in Dade County. ALl I can say is that he was raised in GOULDS, FLORIDA. This book single-handedly put GOulds on the literary map. His book: Pure GENIOUS!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 99 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5