Customer Reviews for

The King and Dr. Nick: What Really Happened to Elvis and Me

Average Rating 3.5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 13, 2010

    The King and Dr. Nick What Really Happened to Elvis and Me by George Nichopoulos

    Even today, regardless of our age or nationality, the only name that strikes us when we hear about the 'The king of Rock n Roll' is Elvis Presley. Elvis was not only the king of rock and roll but also the king of many hearts and he still rules the music world like no one ever can. Elvis always preferred to keep his personal life away from public eye and that gave birth to his mysterious yet larger than life image and perhaps, this is the reason his death brought along equally tragic and fascinating controversies.
    This book has been written by Elvis' personal physician, Dr. George Nichopoulos, who took care of the world's greatest entertainer's health for the last decade of his life. Besides being Elvis' personal physician Dr. Nick was also his confidant and like family to him. He not only witnessed the most crucial time of Elvis' career but also the end of his legendary life, up close.
    Dr. Nick very aptly talks about Elvis not as a world renowned artist but as a person who was known for his generosity and a giving nature. In this book Dr. Nick has tried to give all the readers a sneak peek into the legend's personal life inside Graceland and out on the road. As per him the main reasons for Elvis' tragic death was the extremely hectic schedule and his unhealthy eating habits which resulted in constant deterioration of his health and compelled him to rely completely on medicines consequently leading to over-consumption. Elvis' sudden and untimely demise did not put an end to Dr. Nick's association with him as it brought along an ordeal wherein he was accused of being responsible for Elvis' death and was dragged to courts and kept under constant media surveillance. But, despite all the odds Dr. Nick was found "not guilty" in the end.
    I was truly engaged in the book until the story turned towards "what happened after Elvis died". Use of heavy medical terms became too common which made me loose interest instantly. The book unnecessarily described every minute detail of how things progressed and Dr. Nick now became the center character of the book rather than Elvis. It felt like I had been reading it since forever and it nowhere seemed to end anytime soon. Despite all this, I would highly recommend this book to all the Elvis' fans that are still intrigued by his persona and want to know him in and out.
    ****Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
    Thomas Nelson Product Page
    http://www.thomasnelson.com/consumer/product_detail.asp?sku=1595551719&title=The_King_and_Dr._Nick&author=Dr._George_Nichopoulos
    Reviewer Resourse
    http://www.booksneeze.com/blogger/resources/9781595551719

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2014

    U wanna chat?

    Hi i am a twelve year girl who just wants to chat with nice peoples like u. Go to the ultimate strippers guide and request for angela

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Depends on How Much You Like Elvis

    If you are anything like me, and you weren't alive when Elvis was at his zenith of popularity, or even have an interest in his life and fame beyond a few snappy phrases, and a collection of songs that can be sung in a karaoke, then this book is not for you. Yes, it is entertaining, and enjoyable to read. However, it is far to dense to serve just to entertain or engage somebody at a casual reading level. Instead, this book serves to in effect, clear the name of Dr. George Nichopoulos, or "Dr. Nick" as the king of Rock N' Roll affectionately referred to him. Dr. Nick was Elvis' personal physician, however the two felt they were more apart of each other's families than merely doctor and patient. Dr. Nick took a beating in the press following the rock star's unexpected and untimely death in August of 1977. Many still perceive Elvis death to be the cause of overdose of drugs he had been addicted to for quite some time, and Dr. Nick to be the enabling doctor that kept the king pacified and well supplied with his favorite barbiturates. This book is a resounding and in-depth testimony against that fact, and offers perspective of Dr. Nick from the time Elvis first needed his medical attention, to the time following his death, where he continued to provide care for Elvis' father, and grandmother. It's a great book for those interested in Elvis, however, if you're not, it's an OK book at best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The King and Dr. Nick By Dr. George Nichopoulos

    Elvis Presley's electrifying music and euphoric dance earned him the title of "The King of Rock and Roll". Elvis Presley's legendary life had an equally mysterious end. This book, written by Elvis' doctor George Nichopoulos, gives, perhaps, the best insight in the King's life during the eleven years when Dr. Nick had Elvis under his care. This association "ended" on the tragic day of August 16, 1977 with the trip to the emergency room where, in spite of all the effort to save his life, Elvis passed away.

    Presented as first hand experiences, this book throws light on Elvis' lifestyle including his drug use. The book begins with the description of the tragic day when Elvis Presley left this world leaving his fans in pain and a never-to-be-filled void in American Pop Culture. The book progresses with the description of the years doctor spent with Elvis Presley while he toured the world and performed in concerts with hectic schedules which when coupled with the drugs led to slow and steady deterioration of the King's health. Towards the end, Dr. Nick makes a few startling revelations that discredits the popular belief, built over the years of unconfirmed and indiscriminate media reports, on the causes of Elvis' untimely demise.

    This book is a must read for all Elvis fans as it comes from the man who was not only near Elvis during his last years but also was responsible for his health. After all, outside a family, your doctor knows you the best!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The King and Dr. Nick

    I just finished reading "The King and Dr. Nick" and overall thought it was ok. Dr. Nick was Elvis's doctor and he was watching over Elvis's health for his last 10 years. You get to see the side of Elvis that only family members and close friends see.

    Overall I was not wowed by this book, but it was still worth picking up and reading. I not really sure I liked the authors way of writing but I liked the story of the book. A really cool thing though was that Dr. Nick included pictures in the book, which I think is always a plus!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2010

    The King and Dr Nick

    The King and Dr. Nick is the story of Dr. George Nichopoulos' (Dr Nick) relationship with Elvis Presley. He was Elvis' doctor for the 10 years leading up to the death of the music superstar. The book gives a peek into the personal life of Elvis that only those closest to him have seen. It also tells about the court trial and media scrutiny the doctor faced after the untimely death of the singer.

    I was not alive when the events in this book took place, but I still enjoyed the book for the most part. Although I am not a huge Elvis fan, I've always been interested in celebrity lifestyle. I liked reading the personal stories that told about Elvis' generosity as well as his ego. It was also fun to look at the pictures peppered throughout the book. As the story turned to Dr Nick's trial, I found myself growing bored and the pages went by more slowly. This is certainly a must read for any real Elvis fan but others may not find it as interesting.

    ***I received a review copy of the reviewed book from the booksneeze program from Thomas Nelson***

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2010

    Knowing the Man

    This book is written by the man who was the main personal physician for Elvis the last 10 years of his life. He provides details of the day Elvis died, describes what daily life was like for Elvis as he performed, and the publicity and legal issues that came up after his death.He does this with very little bashing, and a lot of respect for most of the people he interacted with. He also has a love of Elvis.

    I may be too young for this book. I was 8 years old when Elvis died. My father shared his love of the man and his music, which I still have to this day. But there was never really discussion of any of the rumors or recurring publicity around his death and the possible use of drugs. That means the main premise of this book, to defend the legacy of Elvis, was not necessary for me. It is an interesting view of how hard Elvis worked, how seriously he took his performances, and some of the physical struggles he had.

    It also provides a look at the frustrating machinations of the media and the side-affects of political maneuvering. None of that has changed for the better.
    ****
    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2010

    The King & Dr. Nick

    Since I am only 25 years old, I completely missed the Elvis era. I know his music and have heard about him from my mom and my grandma, but I didn't really know much about his personal life and death. I actually didn't even know was the controversy was concerning his death until I read this book! The basis of the book is Dr. Nichopoulos [Dr. Nick] has finally written his story about Elvis. He spent a decade with Elvis, traveling on his tours and treating him and his entourage as Elvis' personal physician. Two years after Elvis' death, controversy began over whether or not Dr. Nick was to blame for the death of the king of rock and roll. Since I didn't know much about Elvis to begin with, I was very intrigued by this book and really liked the story. It was interesting to hear a personal account of someone so close to Elvis!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2010

    Fascinating and Tragic Story

    Disclaimer: I received the book The King and Dr. Nick from the Thomas Nelson Blogger Review Program in exchange for a review.

    I remember when Elvis Presley died, as well as all the hype and excitement afterward--tabloid headlines claiming he had died of drugs. The King and Dr. Nick, by George Nichopoulous, Elvis' personal doctor for ten years, describes the events that transpired before Elvis' death and the media frenzy that followed. It is oddly ironic that as this is being released, Michael Jackson's doctor is being charged in relation to the singer's death.

    I was expecting, just because of the subject, this to be a sensationalized expose on Elvis' death. Instead, it's a thoughtful recollection of a peek into a celebrity's life. Dr. Nick reports on the events in a factual and respectful way and doesn't ever cross the boundary into turning the story into a scandal. The most horrifying--and yet, not surprising--aspect for me was reading abut how the media wanted Elvis' death to be a scandal. They didn't like 'natural causes' as a cause of death, so they reshaped facts and used terms to make it look like everyone was covering it up. Elvin was larger than life, so his death needed to be more than ordinary 'natural causes.'

    A fascinating and tragic story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The King And Dr. Nick

    I received this book from Thomas Nelson book review bloggers program. I found this book to good to put down. I am from Tennessee and a lover of Elvis and I hated all the books out there that put him down or tried to slander him or just make $$ off his name.
    This book gives us a wonderful look into the kings life, illnesses, rumors, death, and how his private physician tried to help and how it affected his life as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2010

    More King, Less Dr. Nick Please

    It turns out I am extremely interested in Elvis, but not so much in Dr. Nick, his famous doctor. I guess I am too young to recall any of the hoopla that surrounded Dr. Nick shortly after Elvis Presley's death in 1977. He was blamed for the death, and dragged through courtroom drama to defend himself against the accusations.

    The first half of the book reveals an inside look at Elvis' life and lifestyle in the decade leading up to his death, during which time Dr. Nick was his personal physician. Barring the sometimes elementary writing style, ("I think Elvis' real goal in "horsing around" was so that we would not notice he really was not great at racquetball." "He really was not great"? How does this line get into adult literature?) the topic was enjoyable and well laid out. Elvis was a fascinating character. And he had some issues. Some of these issues were with legal drug use. And although Dr. Nick was found "not guilty" legally, I did think that he could have been more careful in how he treated Elvis. I think he got swept up in helping Elvis maintain the grueling schedule and lifestyle he had carved out for himself.

    The second half of the book chronicles the media attack against Dr. Nick and the ensuing courtroom battles. I lost interest here. The book got bogged down in the minuscule details of evidence and dragged on forever. And, I found that I didn't care too much how the story would end. I had no emotional investment in Dr. Nick.

    So, the first half is worth the read, but the second half didn't do it for me. That's why I give it 3 out of 5 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1