BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Kingdom of Gods (Inheritance Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 43 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Wonderful conclusion to the series

Don't start with this book! Read the series in order. In this we get a deeper understanding of the events and characters from the first two books.

posted by 6882804 on November 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I really, really wanted to like this book. Having established he

I really, really wanted to like this book. Having established her incredible writing chops in The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms and The Broken Kingdoms, I expected to be wowed away by N.K. Jemisin in her trilogy's finale.

The verdict?

... eh.

I'll get the bad parts out o...
I really, really wanted to like this book. Having established her incredible writing chops in The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms and The Broken Kingdoms, I expected to be wowed away by N.K. Jemisin in her trilogy's finale.

The verdict?

... eh.

I'll get the bad parts out of the way first. One thing different about The Kingdom of Gods was the plot; in books 1 & 2 it was more structured and carefully paced, while book 3 felt all over the place, and more than once I found myself thinking “Great. What the HECK is going on now?” It needed more coherence. After that mess, the climax was a relieving, if anticlimactic, flop.

Another sore point: Sieh. While interesting, I never found him compelling. I always think of a bratty kid when he comes to mind even after reading The Kingdom of Gods. I never got the sense that he actually matured. Sure, giving examples of refraining to act on childish impulses could be interpreted as maturity, but that didn't sell any points for me.

Sieh's supposed to be a GOD. He's lived for thousands of years. He predates humanity. His experience is boundless in pretty much everything. Just because he's growing older doesn't mean he has to angst and melodrama his way through the book. (view spoiler)

Having already expanded on worldbuilding in books 1 & 2 of Sky and Shadow, there wasn't much to go on here. With a union of countries called The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms, much is still left to the reader's conjecture. I don't know if this is deliberate for the enigma, but I would have preferred to discover another place for the events in this book to transpire.

If it wasn't for the above, this book would get full stars.

Because it's original. The idea of an all-powerful figure falling to destitution might be somewhat of a stereotype in epic fantasy, and I think this is both the strength and weakness of The Kingdom of Gods. It seemed books 1 & 2 were more familiar with the generic idea of the hero being plucked from obscurity and into political intrigue and adventure, while book 3 meets with mixed success. It lacks that OOMPH that made its predecessors shine. As it stands, it's merely good.

But it makes up for that because the prose is FANTASTIC.

Despite this book's drawbacks I managed to devour it in one day, it's a page turner if you will. It's not often that I get utterly sucked into a story, but this kind of writing does that to you. This is QUALITY. I'm telling you aspiring authors, if you ever write epic fantasy make sure you have N.K. Jemisin on your shelf for divine inspiration.

Overall, The Kingdom of Gods was OK. Not too bad, not too good. But know that I'll definitely be reading N.K. Jemisin's future works.

posted by Natasa-WMYB on April 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted August 25, 2012

    A novel that focuses on emotional bonds, characterization, and p

    A novel that focuses on emotional bonds, characterization, and personal
    conflicts. If you are looking for sword-fighting or armies clashing
    you'll be disappointed, but battles of will, cruel and complex plots,
    betrayal, love, and surprising but logical plot twists abound.
    Well-written technically. Jemisin creates an interesting world based on
    a unique take on gods, godhood, and the interaction of such with
    humanity. Some of the main supporting characters are gods, though the
    protagonist herself is human. Some authors flounder when using gods in
    their fiction, but Jemisin shows a deft hand, making them at once
    immensely powerful and vulnerable to their own natures. This volume in
    particular focuses on Sieh, the eldest child of the Three. It's almost
    entirely from his point-of-view save for those few instances where he's
    unavailable, and does an amazing job of juxtaposing his godly nature
    over that of a vulnerable child struggling to grow up.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I really, really wanted to like this book. Having established he

    I really, really wanted to like this book. Having established her incredible writing chops in The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms and The Broken Kingdoms, I expected to be wowed away by N.K. Jemisin in her trilogy's finale.

    The verdict?

    ... eh.

    I'll get the bad parts out of the way first. One thing different about The Kingdom of Gods was the plot; in books 1 & 2 it was more structured and carefully paced, while book 3 felt all over the place, and more than once I found myself thinking “Great. What the HECK is going on now?” It needed more coherence. After that mess, the climax was a relieving, if anticlimactic, flop.

    Another sore point: Sieh. While interesting, I never found him compelling. I always think of a bratty kid when he comes to mind even after reading The Kingdom of Gods. I never got the sense that he actually matured. Sure, giving examples of refraining to act on childish impulses could be interpreted as maturity, but that didn't sell any points for me.

    Sieh's supposed to be a GOD. He's lived for thousands of years. He predates humanity. His experience is boundless in pretty much everything. Just because he's growing older doesn't mean he has to angst and melodrama his way through the book. (view spoiler)

    Having already expanded on worldbuilding in books 1 & 2 of Sky and Shadow, there wasn't much to go on here. With a union of countries called The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms, much is still left to the reader's conjecture. I don't know if this is deliberate for the enigma, but I would have preferred to discover another place for the events in this book to transpire.

    If it wasn't for the above, this book would get full stars.

    Because it's original. The idea of an all-powerful figure falling to destitution might be somewhat of a stereotype in epic fantasy, and I think this is both the strength and weakness of The Kingdom of Gods. It seemed books 1 & 2 were more familiar with the generic idea of the hero being plucked from obscurity and into political intrigue and adventure, while book 3 meets with mixed success. It lacks that OOMPH that made its predecessors shine. As it stands, it's merely good.

    But it makes up for that because the prose is FANTASTIC.

    Despite this book's drawbacks I managed to devour it in one day, it's a page turner if you will. It's not often that I get utterly sucked into a story, but this kind of writing does that to you. This is QUALITY. I'm telling you aspiring authors, if you ever write epic fantasy make sure you have N.K. Jemisin on your shelf for divine inspiration.

    Overall, The Kingdom of Gods was OK. Not too bad, not too good. But know that I'll definitely be reading N.K. Jemisin's future works.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2011

    Wonderful conclusion to the series

    Don't start with this book! Read the series in order. In this we get a deeper understanding of the events and characters from the first two books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2013

    Hunter

    Aww cry about it :'( go back to the first book jack a,s,s

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    Brooke

    I gt locked out

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    A nice end.

    I enjoyed that everything was wrapped up as nicely as it could have been. And loved the glimpse of Oree and Shiny again..I enjoyed their story in the second book. My complaint was that sometimes the storyline got a bit confusing and it was hard to keep track.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2013

    Conclusion not to be disappointed with!

    I was sad to see this series end, as I really enjoyed it. The author has a beautiful evocative writing style and her characters leap from the pages. She is a favorite new find for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2012

    It's Okay

    This book is okay. I like the twist and the development of the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    Fantastic

    Absolutly great finish to the series. Loved every minute.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Another great installment

    Love this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2011

    Brilliant Conclusion

    I think I could have given this four stars, but I had to go with five. It's rare to feel like a trilogy is truly a trilogy, and not just one book broken up (like John Twelve Hawks), and N. K. did that with three well thought-out books. Also, the momentum from the first book carries over here, for this book simply cannot be enjoyed without the other two. So, FIVE STARS, if you count the journey from one to two to three.
    Sieh, a character from the first two, is the narrator of this one. When I first realized, I wondered if I could like the book with him as narrator, and I did, it completely succeeded. I hate reviews that talk about plot, that's what reading it, and book jackets are for, so, suffice to say, these books have it all: plot, characterization, wonderful world-building. And it's rare to find lurid and sensual bits that seem authentic without exaggeration or gratuitousness. Thanks for Miss Jemisen for adding all that in, and adding it in well. She really tapped into class struggle, hidden desires, shame, and worship. I never felt like her material was derivative, and can't wait for whatever is next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3