Customer Reviews for

The Kingdoms & The Elves Of The Reaches (Keeper Martin's Tales , Book 1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 123 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(106)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Delightful twists, complex story telling, and superb character devolpment

There is little to say about such a classic book that hasn't already been said by others, but after reading it for a third time and sharing it with friends, I have to share a few thoughts. 'Kingdoms and the Elves of the Reaches' is not by any means a perfect piece of li...
There is little to say about such a classic book that hasn't already been said by others, but after reading it for a third time and sharing it with friends, I have to share a few thoughts. 'Kingdoms and the Elves of the Reaches' is not by any means a perfect piece of literature. It has it's flaws and imperfections, and they are occasionally noticeable. However, these are greatly overshadowed by the most well thought out characters and stories I've come across in years. When you start the book you are immediately attracted to the characters. They all seem interesting, and you want to know more about them. Usually authors have a hard time maintaing that interest. Robert Stanek is not only able to increase that interest, but keep you interested in every character. They feel very real and there are many times where it felt less like I was reading a book and more like I was experiencing it. This one of the few books (and series) that I can recommend to friends.

posted by Anonymous on August 21, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Not original and not very interesting

This book is a rip-off of much better fantasy novels. There is not one original indea in the whole book. Also the characters were not at all compelling and they all spoke with the same "voice". And if it weren't for the juvenile illustrations one wouldn't even know w...
This book is a rip-off of much better fantasy novels. There is not one original indea in the whole book. Also the characters were not at all compelling and they all spoke with the same "voice". And if it weren't for the juvenile illustrations one wouldn't even know what they are supposed to look like, since there are scant physical descriptions (this goes for the landscape as well). The book is very short (large margines and big type and pictures that pad out the book) - so by the end nothing is resolved and the story is barely even started. I didn't know what was going on, what the book was about, and I could realy care less.

posted by SandyTwoStep on October 23, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 106 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2008

    Delightful twists, complex story telling, and superb character devolpment

    There is little to say about such a classic book that hasn't already been said by others, but after reading it for a third time and sharing it with friends, I have to share a few thoughts. 'Kingdoms and the Elves of the Reaches' is not by any means a perfect piece of literature. It has it's flaws and imperfections, and they are occasionally noticeable. However, these are greatly overshadowed by the most well thought out characters and stories I've come across in years. When you start the book you are immediately attracted to the characters. They all seem interesting, and you want to know more about them. Usually authors have a hard time maintaing that interest. Robert Stanek is not only able to increase that interest, but keep you interested in every character. They feel very real and there are many times where it felt less like I was reading a book and more like I was experiencing it. This one of the few books (and series) that I can recommend to friends.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Completely amazing!!!!!

    Robert Stanek's Kingdoms and the Elves of the Reaches is completely, totally amazing!!!! The entire series is phenominal. So much better than Riordan, Paolini, Colfer!!!! <BR/><BR/>It kept me glued to the page and I couldn't wait to find out what happened next. The characters are very intersting and the story is very well written with lots of mystery and goings on. Don't miss the sequel series In the Service of Dragons.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2008

    A reviewer

    Robert Stanek is undoutedly the new Tolkien. His work is amazing and superbly written. Nothing about the story is similar to Lord of the Rings but the books do have elves and plenty of creatures. The creatures for the most part are Stanek's own creations like from the shapeshifting wolm and their evil queen to troants who are half troll and half giant. Totally awesome reading experience. Don't miss out.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Not only for fantasy lovers

    I love the series! I know these books will be around for generations to come, and I am glad to have added them to my library. Following the adventures, misadventures and everything else of Seth, Vilmos, and Adrina is extremely fulfilling and I do recommend it to anyone who enjoys fantasy in a fully realistic manner. I have read all of the books but had the urge to read them all again from the beginning. I have the first two books in hardback so I started looking to buy the rest in hardback too. The books are very well written and the illustrations are completely amazing.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    The Kingdoms and the Elves of the Reaches #1

    I loved this book in paper, and it's great on my ipod! If not the best, then as close as it gets.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2008

    COOL X A MILLION!!!!!!!!!

    I loved this book!!!! What's not to love!!!! Such an incredible story and so well written. Definitely fun and cool!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2008

    MUST HAVE BOOK!!!!!!!

    The Kingdoms and the Elves of the Reaches is filled with myth & legend, dreams, and visions. It never falters. This book is a must for any book collection. I think that you should atleast go to the store and read some of it or read the excerpt.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2008

    THE BEST BOOKS IN THE WORLD!!!!!!!!!!

    The Kingdoms and the Elves of the Reaches is maybe the best book people who like fantasy or sci- fi would really enjoy this book. if you compared this to harry potter then i would think that The Kingdoms and Elves is better. The Kingdoms and Elves II is also outstanding.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2008

    Very good

    This was one of my all time favorite books. It has a good plot and characters. Very well written R. Stanek BRAVO and keep it up! A must-read for fantasy/action lovers.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Lose yourself in a fantastic new world!

    This is the best book I ever got assigned to read! My teacher said it was good and it really truly certainly definitely was very very very very very very good. Since I read it i read the others too. I now got my dad to get me them too so I dont have to borrow from my teacher's no more. I don't see how any book could be better ever.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    THE BEST IN THE WORLD

    The librarian at my school recommended this book to me last year and I loved it so much I read all of them. Out of all the books I ever read ever this is the best in the world and I already read it six times!!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Totally AMAZING!

    The new Harry Potter!!!!!!! Last year all my friends were reading it and I was like what's it about and they were like readit yourself and find out so I did and I loved it. The Kingdoms and the Elves is by far the best most amazing book I ever read and I have read over 200 books!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2008

    This book is terrific

    This book is FANTASTIC! Anyone who can say this isn't the best book they've ever read is sadly mistaken. Powerful details put you right in there beside Vilmos, Seth, and Adrina. I highly recommened to anyone who loves a good fantasy adventure to read this book!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2008

    # 1 page turner!

    WOW!! I love this book. It was wonderful. Stanek is the new Tolkien. Everyone that reads this book is going to be introduced to a new fantastic world of adventure.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2008

    Awesome

    The Kingdoms and the Elves is a great book that had me hooked when I started reading the first few pages and I am very, very picky when it comes to literature. When I first saw this book I thought it would be boring, but I had time to kill so I took it off the shelf and started reading it. I read for hours and hours, and I decided to buy it. This book is addicting as is the 2nd one.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2007

    Worth Every Second

    The Kingdom's and the Elves of the Reaches Book 1 is a spellbinding fantasy tale that is sure to leave you without regrets. The story itself is richly detailed and well told. This book follows the lives of three different characters. The first is Seth, a warrior elf sent on a fateful journey to the lands of man in a desperate attempt to gain human help. Next is the story of Vilmos, a boy gifted with the power of magic in a land where it is exiled and punished by death. The third follows Princess Adrina Alder. Definetly a must buy for any fantasy fan, as this is a definetly well told tale that is sure to entertain. However, this book is part of a series, and therefore doesnt conclude with Book 1, so to get the full effect you'd really have to read the whole series. Plus, the books keep getting better as the series goes on.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2007

    Definitely worth buying

    After reading the book The Kingdoms and The Elves of the Reaches I really liked it. It's about Vilmos, Seth and Adrina. For Vilmos life in a small village isn't easy. He's got a dark gift of forbidden magic. For Adrina life is hard for another reason. She's sad about her mother and being stuck in the city all the time. For Seth, he seems old since he's a long lifed elf but is young on the inside because he's not mature. This is the story of how these very different people save their world. I give it five stars because the idea is wonderful. You haven't truly lived until you've read this book and the others.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2007

    Fantastic!

    Everyone says Stanek's Kingdoms and Elves are the Narnia and Rings of our time and I think they are absolutely right! I loved this whole series. It starts great and gets better and better.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2007

    You won't regret buying this book

    I've really treasured this book for many different reasons. Mostly, I loved the rich plot and characters, along with the lush details and fast paced narration. I can honestly say that there was never a dull moment I encountered in this book. Robert Stanek's books really are unique, and will be treasured by all that read them-teens or adults, book lovers or book haters- and shouldn't be missed.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2007

    One of the most outstanding fantasy books I have ever read

    I've been reading fantasy novels for as long as I can remember, and lately It's been harder for a novel to catch my attention than it used to be. I found a cure for this, however, in this wonderful series. One of the best parts of this is the lush details. I love how his writing really paints a picture in my mind as I read. Also the plot is very interesting, which is a very enjoyable part of the series. All in all, this is a great book and series to start reading, and I'm sure you're going to enjoy it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 106 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6