Customer Reviews for

The Kingmaker's Daughter (Cousins' War Series #4)

Average Rating 4
( 105 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(49)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Another Great Gregory Read

There is very little of Gregory's work I don't enjoy (wasn't too crazy about the Mary, Queen of Scots novel, for instance) but her latest efforts with "The Cousins' War" novels have been exceptional. Told from the perspective of Anne Neville, wife of Richard III, we se...
There is very little of Gregory's work I don't enjoy (wasn't too crazy about the Mary, Queen of Scots novel, for instance) but her latest efforts with "The Cousins' War" novels have been exceptional. Told from the perspective of Anne Neville, wife of Richard III, we see the tragic and horrific consequences of being a woman and used, almost inexclusively, as a political and sexual pawn for men deperately trying to keep or gain a crown. Gregory has such a superb approach to her work it's just a great read from beginning to end. This novel is a bit shorter than some of the others (probably out of necessity as Neville died young at 28) and keeps a fast, engaging pace. Characters are generally easy to keep track of--that is sometimes a barrier in these historical novels--and if you have read her previous "Red Queen" "White Queen" and "Lady of the Rivers" you should not have much problem following this angle of the War of the Roses.

That being said, the countless Edwards and Richards--good Lord, every other man was given the same name...so you have to pay a bit more attention there--and as I read I kept thinking that skimming through the "Queen/Rivers" novels again would help jog a memory or two. However, as a whole, Gregory continues to write literate, readable historical fiction--she's very dependable, which I so appreciate. Am also looking forward to the next installment as she says in her "Afterword" it will present some of her ideas on what happened to the two royal princes who disappeared from the Tower...maybe or maybe not at the hands of their uncle, Richard III.

posted by irishclaireKG on August 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I love almost everything Philippa Gregory writes. The Kingmaker

I love almost everything Philippa Gregory writes. The Kingmaker's Daughter, to me, was only so-so and not the strongest in the Cousin's War series. Anne comes across as a ninny and unimpressive throughout the book despite all she overcame and dealt with. I far prefer...
I love almost everything Philippa Gregory writes. The Kingmaker's Daughter, to me, was only so-so and not the strongest in the Cousin's War series. Anne comes across as a ninny and unimpressive throughout the book despite all she overcame and dealt with. I far preferred the portrayal of her 2nd husband, Richard, as he has not always been portrayed well in other books. Although the witchcraft around Elizabeth Woodville is not new to the series and is being portrayed from a different perspective in this book, it did not lend itself to the same excitement as in other books. I became tired of Anne's constant whining about Elizabeth Woodville being a witch. I did not find Anne a sympathetic or relatable character; she felt childlike and overly naive throughout the entire book. It is not a terrible book but it is not one I will re-read.

posted by UCFJennybean on November 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 105 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    Another Great Gregory Read

    There is very little of Gregory's work I don't enjoy (wasn't too crazy about the Mary, Queen of Scots novel, for instance) but her latest efforts with "The Cousins' War" novels have been exceptional. Told from the perspective of Anne Neville, wife of Richard III, we see the tragic and horrific consequences of being a woman and used, almost inexclusively, as a political and sexual pawn for men deperately trying to keep or gain a crown. Gregory has such a superb approach to her work it's just a great read from beginning to end. This novel is a bit shorter than some of the others (probably out of necessity as Neville died young at 28) and keeps a fast, engaging pace. Characters are generally easy to keep track of--that is sometimes a barrier in these historical novels--and if you have read her previous "Red Queen" "White Queen" and "Lady of the Rivers" you should not have much problem following this angle of the War of the Roses.

    That being said, the countless Edwards and Richards--good Lord, every other man was given the same name...so you have to pay a bit more attention there--and as I read I kept thinking that skimming through the "Queen/Rivers" novels again would help jog a memory or two. However, as a whole, Gregory continues to write literate, readable historical fiction--she's very dependable, which I so appreciate. Am also looking forward to the next installment as she says in her "Afterword" it will present some of her ideas on what happened to the two royal princes who disappeared from the Tower...maybe or maybe not at the hands of their uncle, Richard III.

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Anne Neville was a lesser known noblewoman and queen of England.

    Anne Neville was a lesser known noblewoman and queen of England. In The
    Kingmaker’s Daughter, Philippa Gregory brings Anne to vibrant life by
    writing about her difficult life and subsequent rise to glory as Queen
    of England. What is most heart-wrenching about Anne’s story is that she
    and her sister, Isabel, were pawns to the men in their lives whose quest
    for power was relentless. Although Anne is not the spirited, feisty
    heroine of other historical biographical novels, she is truly
    fascinating. It is important that these women’s lives are written about,
    not only to show the extent of their suffering at the hands of the men
    surrounding them, but to clearly reflect the true status of women and
    their lack of rights in all eras of history. What is important is that
    Philippa Gregory has written a true and accurate accounting of this
    woman’s life, and that is what I applaud highly. Her conflict with
    Elizabeth Woodville is deep and all encompassing throughout the novel
    and makes for a fascinating story-line. Although Anne is not the
    fiery heroine, the conflict surrounding her is all consuming and makes
    for fast page-turning. The novel captures the reader’s interest from the
    very first to the very last page. It is eloquently written with
    believable characters, an incredible amount of brilliant descriptions,
    and wonderful emotion. The Kingmaker’s Daughter is the fourth book in
    a series about the women in Cousin’s War Series - Elizabeth Woodville,
    Margaret Beaufort, and Jacquetta Woodville. It is not necessary to read
    this in any particular order. It is fascinating to see how the author
    moves between these characters, fairly depicting them and their
    personalities, despite their faults. Fans of Philippa Gregory will
    definitely enjoy this novel set in a disorderly and dangerous period in
    England’s rich history. I highly recommend this! What a wonderful story!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    Intruguibg Ng Intriguing and Romantic More romanticisized than joth E Goid Good read, likeable characters

    The cousin's war is an excellent series The characters are well developed, enjoyable, and memorable In this novel the king makers daughters are developed in a similar fashio to the bolyn girls Both are born and bred to be queen, yet only one is truly corrupt enough to cast aside those who really care Great read and helps with the understanding of the fued between the families for the crown

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2013

    Must Read

    If any book by Philippa tells the story about the "role" of women during this time period, its definitely this book. I'm so intrigued to go back and read all books in this series again just to re live the intertwined relationships of the fascinating Isabel and Anne Neville, Margaret Beaufort, Elizabeth Woodville and even Margaret of Anjou and Jacquetta. From beginning to end this book had me captured!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    Great historical fiction

    This is the story of Anne Neville, the daughter of Warwick, the Kingmaker. She became the wife of Richard III and died young. It is told is great contrast to her novel The White Queen, which is the story of Elizabeth Woodville, queen to Edward IV and mother of the Princes in the Tower. The whole novel takes place during the Cousins War, or what becomes known later as the War of the Roses. I read this book in 3 days. Fantastic read. I felt as though I was in 1400's and in the middle of all the battles and intrigue.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2013

    A Tudor must read

    History from the woman's perspective, imagined but I would imagine close to the truth. Women shaped the times from behind the scenes and I have a better understanding of all the people of that time through this look through the women. This applies to all of Phillipa Gregory’s books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Another Knockout

    Another winner in the series! If you like her other books you will love this as well. She has a great way of turning history into a nonstop pageturning drama. I end up reading until the we hours of the morning even if its the 15th time ive read that particular book. If you like historical fiction and have never given this aurthor a try, any of her books are worth a read. And whats great about her Tudor and Cousins War series is that you dont have to read them in the order they were published, especially the Cousins series. So enjoy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2013

    A must read by Phillipa Gregory

    I have read many books by this author and this will rate as one of my favorites. This book tells the story of the War of the Roses as seen through the eyes of Anne Neville. I would give it 4.5 stars.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2013

    Intriguing

    Here is history from an unexpected point of view victim or owner of her own destiny, anne neville turns out to be a very likable character and offers another point of view on this chapter of english history and leaves you wondering who was right and had the right in this war, must read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Excellent book especially for Philippa Gregory fans!

    This book revisits characters from several of Philippa's others set in this time period, but from a different character's perspective. I enjoyed it very much!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2012

    A great story of power/struggle for English throne.

    I am a great fan of Philippa Gregory. I have read almost all of her books and I love the way she combines fiction with English history

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I love almost everything Philippa Gregory writes. The Kingmaker

    I love almost everything Philippa Gregory writes. The Kingmaker's Daughter, to me, was only so-so and not the strongest in the Cousin's War series. Anne comes across as a ninny and unimpressive throughout the book despite all she overcame and dealt with. I far preferred the portrayal of her 2nd husband, Richard, as he has not always been portrayed well in other books. Although the witchcraft around Elizabeth Woodville is not new to the series and is being portrayed from a different perspective in this book, it did not lend itself to the same excitement as in other books. I became tired of Anne's constant whining about Elizabeth Woodville being a witch. I did not find Anne a sympathetic or relatable character; she felt childlike and overly naive throughout the entire book. It is not a terrible book but it is not one I will re-read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    Awesome history

    One of the best historical fiction writers around, Gregory does an amazing job combining fact and fiction. I love the aspects of witchcraft she weavea through the stories. You'll learn about history without even knowing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2014

    Another great book.....

    Loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2014

    Excellent Historical Fiction

    This is the fourth book in the Cousins' War series and it did not dissapoint. It is interesting to relate the events in this book to the events in the other three books, The White Queen, The Red Queen, ad The Lady of the River, and track the lives of these women. Amazing how Philippa entiwnes her tales from the different perspectives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2013

    Great Read!

    I am new to this portion of English history, but I found this book very enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    Recommend this book

    The author does a great job to bring history to life. I really liked the way she showed King Richard III. He really took a bad virtict on the death of his nephews. He could have been innocent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    As Good as the Show

    I loved the show and then my friend told me there were books and so I had to get them. Originally she told me that they were a set of three books but then I found out about the two new ones so i got them on my Nook and read the first one in two days and am curreny reading the second newest book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    Okay, but not great

    I realize that this story is told from Anne Neville's point of view, but I have to wonder at the portrayal of some of the chsaracters. Warwick, the kingmaker, was an opportunist who changed sides when he didn't get the power he wanted. He didn't want a king, he wanted a puppet in his control. Elizabeth Woodville ws an ambitious, grasping woman, but I'm sure she didn't have supernatural powers. As for the deaths of Isabel and of Anne's young son, medical knowledge inthe fifteenth cen tury was virtually nonexistant, and poison was often suspected when no one knew the true cause of death.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    Should I buy it?

    Should I buy this book or not? I read the overveiw, which seemed okay, but I still don't know.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 105 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6