Customer Reviews for

The King's Deception (Cotton Malone Series #8)

Average Rating 4
( 115 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(60)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

How can you have so many "reviews" before a book is la

How can you have so many "reviews" before a book is launched and all be anonymous? I expect to LOVE this book since, like so many others, I have been waiting mounths for it's June 11th release.

posted by saramc1 on June 12, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

What I enjoyed was the history but the rest of the story became

What I enjoyed was the history but the rest of the story became more and more ridiculous as the book went on until it was totally unbelievable.

posted by ebooks18 on July 10, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 115 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Another great Steve Berry book. Five stars.

    Another great Steve Berry book. Five stars.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2013

    How can you have so many "reviews" before a book is la

    How can you have so many "reviews" before a book is launched and all be anonymous? I expect to LOVE this book since, like so many others, I have been waiting mounths for it's June 11th release.

    5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    One of his best!

    This is one of Berry's best novels. There are stories going on within stories, deceptions on top of deceptions. I learned more than I ever wanted to know about the history of the British monarchy but in the end it all came together and made a wonderful thriller! I highly recommend this book if you like this genre!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2013

    What I enjoyed was the history but the rest of the story became

    What I enjoyed was the history but the rest of the story became more and more ridiculous as the book went on until it was totally unbelievable.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    King's deception

    Steve Berry is one of thebest out there. The Kings Deception is no different than his other books, it gets you hooked and before you know it the book is done. Excellent.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2013

    Add Steve Berry to my list of favorite authors. Steve, where ha

    Add Steve Berry to my list of favorite authors. Steve, where have you been all of my reading life? How come I'm just now discovering you?

    Me-thriller fan/historical fiction fan/Tudor fan. The King's Deception - all of these rolled into one.

    How does the upcoming release of a Libyan terrorist responsible for the bombing of Pan Am Flight 103 over Lockerbie, Scotland play into international diplomacy? That's easy to figure out. Many British and American citizens were killed in this tragedy, so America is naturally concerned with figuring out why Britain would allow this release.

    Where does a 500-year-old "Tudor Plot" play into this modern-day intrigue? THAT is the kicker.

    Cotton Malone, a retired American agent, is doing a favor for his former boss, bringing a teenage fugitive back to London as he travels with his son Gary.

    This simple favor turns into a dangerous adventure where it's sometimes hard to tell the bad guys from the good, and twists and turns abound.

    Mix in the fact that there may be a Tudor secret (or two) that could change the course of history - powerful enough to possibly sway the British into intervening in the release of the Libyan terrorist - and you have two parallel tales, both equally fascinating and fun for this reader.

    There's a suspense thriller with characters that you actually CARE about. The interplay between Cotton, his son Gary, their "fugitive" Ian and various other characters makes for a well-developed character study even for someone new to the Cotton Malone novels. There's enough believable action and plot to keep any thriller/suspense reader happy, and enough plot twists to keep you on your toes.

    Then there's the historical fiction aspect of it. What would be the international implication if Queen Elizabeth's reign and her actions were deemed false? Was there a reason why Queen Elizabeth enforced such strict rules about touching and/or seeing her person? Why did she never marry? Why did she insist that there be no post-mortem autopsy? What is the Daedulus Society and whose secrets are they keeping?

    You have to read this one to find out. It was extremely good - fast-paced, involved, with more than a few surprises thrown in - I closed this one with a satisfied thunk.

    QUOTES:

    "We truly have little idea what Elizabeth actually looked like. All of the surviving portraits are suspect. And she was definitely a person of strange habits. As Robert Cecil noted, she wore wigs, heavy makeup, and unflattering clothing. By all accounts she was not a pretty woman, her language coarse, her manner brusque. She controlled her life, and her world, totally. No one could, or would, question her decisions. So it is entirely possible that the ruse could have worked."

    "I've been around a long time, Malone."
    "I'm not one of your exes. You might find beating up on me a bit more difficult."

    BLOGGERS: Have you reviewed this book? If so, please feel free to leave a link to your review in the comments section; I will also add your link to the body of my review.

    Writing: 4.5 out of 5 stars
    Plot: 4.5 out of 5 stars
    Characters: 4.5 out of 5 stars
    Reading Immersion: 5 out 5 stars

    BOOK RATING: 4.6 out of 5 stars

    Sensitive Reader: Some people die, but not extremely depicted.

    Book Club Recommendation: Yes - I can see people having lots of fun with this one.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    The best book yet

    Steve berry clearly out did himself on this book deals woth the lockerbee bomber and the leverage that might make England try to get Scotland to rethink releasing the bomber and the fact that Elizabeth the first last of the tudors and queen during Englands golden age was not who everybody thought she was

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    Berry did an excellent job at taking the Tudor legacy and adding

    Berry did an excellent job at taking the Tudor legacy and adding a bit of mystery and intrigue into it. Being a frequent traveler to England I must say he truly captured and studied the culture in Great Britain, it was as if I was standing nearby in all the great English buildings with Cotton and Co. And to those who may feel that the Tudor scandal was less than compelling, let me tell you that if such a thing were true, it truly would have destroyed England and would have been a very real threat to that situation! Overall Berry did a superb job capturing the mood for this book and I will most certainly be keeping an eye out for his future titles!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    Amazing story

    Love the Cotton Malone series and this one is great.... hated to put it down to get meals and such....LOL

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2013

    Still one of the best uses of your time

    I always enjoy how he bases his books on historical evidence. Not just a good, entertaining tale but you possibly learn something in the process.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2013

    Far-fetched plot well written

    Truly have enjoyed all Steve Berry, but found this one a little too far-fetched. As always, well-researched and well-written, but the conclusions drawn weren't believable this time around.
    SPOILER: Why in the world would author choose to debunk such a beloved historical personage?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    Steve Berry has a winner!

    I've enjoyed THE KING'S DECEPTION--another good read from an exceptional author. I have read most of his books and look forward to the next. The tie-in with history is a bonus.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2013

    Recommend

    If you're a Steve Berry fan, this is another good read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    kings deception a must read

    have read all of berry,s books. this is a quick read.highly recommended.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2013

    Loved this book

    Very interesting plot line.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    Always a good read!

    A great historical thought provoker!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2013

    Riveting!

    Typical Steve Berry... lots of twists and turns, plenty of action and a far fetched, though plausible, historical basis. Had a hard time putting it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2013

    Great premise - "okay" execution

    I thoroughly enjoy the entire Cotton Malone series - including the novellas; that disclaimer out of the way, I found this one had the potential to be so much more...

    The premise of "The King's Deception" was well researched and the locations were vividly described and accurate to a fault - Steve Berry does his homework!...however, there was almost a feeling that he was forced to a deadline with this book...the story being told in "hindsight" was a departure from his standard formula, and while we have come to expect tidy endings to these historical crime dramas, this one just didn't have the same "can't put it down" feeling of most of his other works...

    If you are a fan of Cotton Malone, by all means read the book - the history and settings are worth every minute you'll spend, but if this is your first experience with Berry's novels, go back to the beginning and read those first - you will get to experience Berry at his best, unlike this effort...

    Let's hope this doesn't mark the end of the Cotton Malone series - I'd like to see such a great character go out on a high note!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    All in all a great book.

    All in all a great book.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Another Great Cotton Malone Story

    Steve Berry continues to deliver excellent story telling and action in this latest Cotton Malone chapter. This one is a look back 2 years into the pass and tells the story of Cotton's adventure with his son Gary in England. This involves the legend or the Tudor kings and the possibility that Queen Elizabeth I was not what she appeared to be. The story begins during the period that Scotland was about to release the convicted terrorist bomber of the Lockerbie Pan Am flight 103 to Libya. The US CIA tries to stop this by researching the past history of Queen Elizabeth 1 and the "Kings Deception ", one that could create turmoil for the current English government. There is a great back and forth with lots of twists that keep you interested right up to the thrilling end. Can't wait for the next Cotton Malone chapter as they have not disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 115 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6