BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Knight (A Highland Guard Novella 7.5)

Average Rating 5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 12, 2013

    I loved it! I love all of Monica's books and I did need a little

    I loved it! I love all of Monica's books and I did need a little Guard to read. It's a long wait till the Raider comes out. Great job Monica! I loved Joanna and James.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2013

    Love conquers all! I am a huge fan of Monica McCarty! If you lo

    Love conquers all!
    I am a huge fan of Monica McCarty! If you loved her Highland Guard series and can’t wait for her next book THE RAIDER, scheduled to be released in February, then THE KNIGHT will be perfect you. I am addicted to her amazing books, so much, that is the 15th one that I read of hers. I love her style of writing, her words flow! Again, I was not disappointed; Ms McCarty really showed that she is very talented writer and a wonderful storyteller. You don’t want to miss her novella; it’s the story of James and Joanna. James Douglas is a very ambitious knight who will do everything to help his clan. Stripped of his lands by the English king, he will use fear and intimidation, to gain them back. Nothing will get in his way, not even the beautiful Joanna. She will do everything to please him, but she will soon realize how naïve she was. For James, ambition is more important than love, to gain power and wealth. He thought she was not the right woman for him until a tragic event changes the course of their lives. Their love was very complicated with its ups and downs. Beautiful love story to read! Will Joanna trust him again? Or love him again? Will James realize what he really needs, love or power? Without any doubt, Ms. McCarty has done it again for me! I highly recommend her novella THE KNIGHT, a little gem to discover. If you follow her Highland Guard series, you won’t be disappointed. Don't forget to read next THE RAIDER, the story of Robert Boyd and Lady Rosalyn.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2014

    Awesome Series

    Monica McCarty skillfully mixes History and Fiction, excellent series brings true stories to vibrant life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    James and Joanna's story had me sitting here with my heart as

    James and Joanna's story had me sitting here with my heart as broken as theirs and several times I had to set it down and go pull myself together. Monica McCarty's writing has always pulled the emotions out of me. James has it in his mind that the most important thing in the world is regaining his family's name no matter the cost so when he hurts the one person that he holds deepest in his soul, can there be any turning back? He not only faces battles fighting for The Bruce, but he wages one of the most important battles of his life .... righting a vicious wrong. Make sure and have some tissues handy. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2014

    James Douglas is a warrior fighting for Robert the Bruce in 1311

    James Douglas is a warrior fighting for Robert the Bruce in 1311. Joanna Dicson, the marshall’s daughter, grew up with James and the two have loved each other for years, consummating their relationship the last time James was home from campaign. James rises quickly within the Bruce’s ranks and earns the nickname “The Black Douglas” for his ruthless and effective fighting style. Years ago, the Douglas title and lands were stripped from James’ family by the English king and he has been on a vengeance quest to reclaim them ever since. A mission from Robert brings him back to his hometown where he meets up with Joanna again. Unbeknownst to James, Joanna carries his child, but when he tells her that he cannot marry her, she is devastated. What follows is a story of love, loss, and learning to value family over ambition.

    At the beginning of the story, Joanna Dicson is a sweet, but naive young woman in love with James Douglas. She believes that James’ love means he will marry her, even though they come from two vastly different social statuses. As reality comes crashing down around her, she learns to stand on her own, growing a backbone and dignity that refuses to settle for anything less than James’ wife (not his leman!).

    James is egotistical and ambitious — not a healthy combination when it means shoving aside those that have loved you and stood by you for an untold number of years. His treatment of Joanna in the first half of the novella was absolutely appalling, to the point where I believed that he didn’t deserve someone like Joanna. He eventually saw the error of his actions and begins to court Joanna properly, but it took many months to get to that point.

    Both of these characters were immature at the beginning of this novella and the main push of the character development is the journey that changes them into more mature adults ready to face the future together. A good afternoon read, especially if you enjoy stories where you’re not certain if the couple will actually get together and the hero must do some serious groveling at the heroine’s feet to make up for his earlier transgressions.

    Originally posted at Plot Twist Reviews [dot] Com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2014

    I had tears in the back of my eyes and my chest remained tense for tghis whole story

    From beginning to end, I fought back tears one moment, my chest tensing with emotion the next, and cheering on the story and hero in his quest to realize what truly was important in his life and what wasn't. Great page turner from beginning to end. Passionate, emotional, and wondefully told story.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2014

    Highly recommend

    Love this book series. Can't wait for the next one!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2014

    Loved. James and Johanna's story. I'm a sucker for the "you

    Loved. James and Johanna's story. I'm a sucker for the "you are not good enough for me, even though I love you."
    plot. Then the guy has an epiphany and realizes that what he really desire to make his life complete was right there in front
    of him. Well developed characters for a short novella. I highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2014

    Beautiful reading material!

    If you love history and romance told in a very descriptive way pick up this novella and you will not regret it.

    Not having read any of the Highland Guard series, I didn't know if I would feel left out if I didn't start at the very first book. This novella was perfect. The story of James and Jo was such an intense read, it pulled me right in. They loved each other very much, but had different objectives and therefore a tragedy follows. Their love unravels and you can really feel their pain!

    Monica McCarty is a wonderful author. You actually feel like you are right on the field during a battle scene watching it come to life.

    The love scenes are so hot, I thought my Nook might catch fire! This is a keeper and I intend to read the rest of the series. Do yourself a huge favor and read this lovely story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2014

    I loved this! I am not normally a fan of novellas. They usually

    I loved this! I am not normally a fan of novellas. They usually seem so choppy, with storylines rushed and unfinished character development. Not so with this story. The character are much fuller developed that what I'd expected. The story is a great addition to the Highland Guard world. I'm sure it will help my enjoyment of "The Raider" (that I just picked up today at my B&N store!!!!!).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    Good read

    Enjoyed reading this short book. I have read and enjoyed all of the Highland Guard books and looking forward to The Raider. This particular book is the only one to inspire me to learn more about James Douglas. So I found and am in the process of reading The Crown in the Heather (The Bruce Trilogy) in which Robert the Bruce meets James Douglas and how he becomes part of the Highland Guard.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2014

    James and Joanna started out as sweethearts from the beginning.

    James and Joanna started out as sweethearts from the beginning.  But something happened.  
    And so the story goes on how James tries to win her back.
    This series is different from the rest of the Highland Guard series.  The focus is less on the mission and more on hero and the heroine.
    That is why the story is short, but it is good just the same.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    Great Book

    Read all of the Highland Guard and can't wait for another. Nice little Novella to keep me waiting for the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2014

    Highly recommended

    I am in love with the Highland Guard series and have read all that have been published so far. This one was about the Black Douglas who does not join the guard because he does not want to be anonymous. He wants to elevate the Douglas name and increase the importance of his clan. He is a ruthless warrior and deserves the feared title of the Black Douglas. But he has a soft hear for his child hood love. She has always believed that they would become man and wife but he meant to love her forever while marrying someone else for wealth, land and power. He breaks her heart when this is made clear to her. She loves him with all her heart but refuses to share that love with a man who would not consider her good enough to marry. He goes on to fulfill his lofty ambisions but cannot remove the love for her from his heart. When facing losing her he has to make a choice between power and love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    Wonderful !

    The series just keeps getting better. Cannot wait for the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2