BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Kraken Project

Average Rating 4
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Well worth the time

Loved this book, has to be one of his best. It starts a bit slow, and a little scattered. 50 pages, or so in,eveything clicks into place. A rather amazing commentary on human nature and the influence of the internet. Well done Mr Preston. More please.

posted by 5520197 on May 18, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I thought that this was Mr. Preston poorest novel to date; his s

I thought that this was Mr. Preston poorest novel to date; his stand alone novels are usually very good to excellent. This one was so bad that I stopped reading it about 75% of the way through. His journey into the world of AI was annoying and somewhat predictable. I...
I thought that this was Mr. Preston poorest novel to date; his stand alone novels are usually very good to excellent. This one was so bad that I stopped reading it about 75% of the way through. His journey into the world of AI was annoying and somewhat predictable. I was hoping that he would depart from the earth-based activities and spend more of his time on Kraken where the software program would have been better suited and certainly more appealing.

posted by HendyRPH on July 10, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2014

    Well worth the time

    Loved this book, has to be one of his best. It starts a bit slow, and a little scattered. 50 pages, or so in,eveything clicks into place. A rather amazing commentary on human nature and the influence of the internet.

    Well done Mr Preston. More please.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2014

    Another great thriller from Douglas Preston

    Although I was expecting a sci-fi thriller, this turned out to be great techno thriller. Bringing back Wyman Ford brings
    continuity to the story & beyond. It doesn't have the vocabulary of the Preston-Childs Pendergast series which lets the reader run as fast as the story. Couldn't put it down for the last 100 pages. Preston didn't disappoint

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2014

    Mixed Feelings from a Preston Fan

    The premise of this book is a realistic seeming NASA exploration project, and how it goes awry also works. But, getting into the "mind" of the artificial intelligence is so awkward that it's painful. The experiences of this artificial being throughout the book are thin, confusing and annoying. And the final leap in what amounts to the story's epilogue is too bizarre and leaves a bad taste.

    That said, the human side of the adventure is great Preston form. Serial characters evolve. Potential new serial characters are compelling and well developed. The bad guys evoke hate and fear. The good guys tug at your sympathies. And the situations reach out and grab you and won't let you go.

    I will read the next book in this series, though I cringe to think that it might include more weak attempts at science fiction.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2014

    I thought that this was Mr. Preston poorest novel to date; his s

    I thought that this was Mr. Preston poorest novel to date; his stand alone novels are usually very good to excellent. This one was so bad that I stopped reading it about 75% of the way through. His journey into the world of AI was annoying and somewhat predictable. I was hoping that he would depart from the earth-based activities and spend more of his time on Kraken where the software program would have been better suited and certainly more appealing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2014

    A great premise leading to an entertaining, albeit unchallenging, story

    The premise of this book--that an artificial intellect program attains self-awareness and then escapes into the internet--promises a thought-provoking and intellectually challenging read. The story quickly becomes another formulaic cross-country cop chase with the entirely predictable budding romance between two people from vastly different backgrounds who are forced to work together while running from the Government. The Kraken Project is a fun summer read and I enjoyed it for what it was. But I'm still looking for the Heinlein or Asimov of our era who will take on this looming future possibility.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2014

    I¿m not giving away the ending by saying that we never get to Ti

    I’m not giving away the ending by saying that we never get to Titan, but don’t be disappointed after page one I never thought about it again. Douglas Preston delivers an amazing thriller that just kept me listening when I ought to have turned the story off and done something else.

    I wanted to know what a Wall Street shark, a young boy all the way across the country, and NASA programing team leader had in common. It wasn’t obvious for a long time. Then in an instant, Dorothy brought them together.

    Dorothy takes a while to get to know. She’s young and turbulent, like a teenager. She has feelings; she has fears, two things your average AI doesn’t deal with. She’s a good girl at heart, but at times, she’s an angry twelve year old with a gun, a scary thing indeed.

    Melissa Shepherd and Wyman Ford chase after Dorothy while the FBI relentlessly chase after them. However, unlike a recent book by Dan Brown, Douglas Preston provides just enough chase to keep it interesting.

    And then it’s over.

    Well, not quite over. I think Douglas has yet another spell binding book on the way and I can’t wait for it to arrive.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2014

    Liked this book and looking forward to next Wyman Ford adventur

    Liked this book and looking forward to next Wyman Ford adventure. Enjoyed the exploration of possible pitfalls of AI. Would like to read a sequel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2014

    A big disaapointment

    The basic idea of a AI software program escaping into the internet is intriguing. However, if a major plot line that includes helicopter parents and an emotionally damaged 14 year old coupled with plots lines that are "incredible to the point of laughable then the book may be for you.

    Personally I like my SciFi written for adults rather than borderline YA. That said I read it to the end because Preston can surely keep a reader's interest.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2014

    I like Wyman Ford, but I could not get past the first few chapte

    I like Wyman Ford, but I could not get past the first few chapters of this one. I think I will try skipping more of the book until I find something interesting. So far not a very good story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2014

    Liked his others better

    Just did not find interesting..did not draw me in to the fantasy of Dorothy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2014

    Another great by Preston!

    Well researched and written. Fast paced with sufficient character development. Another great read by Preston. Well worth checking out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2014

    Starts slow. Speeds up. I read it in one night. The AI has a pag

    Starts slow. Speeds up. I read it in one night. The AI has a page or so of confused independence that might put you off at first but you'll find it enhances the story once you understand what it is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2014

    Recommend

    Liked this book. Kept my interest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2014

    Recommended

    A good read entertaining

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2014

    Highly recommend

    You must check out the fantastic book from Douglas Preston!!! It will give you chills & make you think about computers and IA in a completely new way!!! I would give this more than 5 stars if more were available!!! ENJOY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2014

    Great Read !

    Loved the book, it is a good story, fast reading because I didn't want to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2014

    Gripping! Fascinating!

    I am not sure whether a program could really escape into the Internet or cloud or wherever, but I can easily believe, ever since the movie 2001, that a program can become self aware and discontented. That's what happens here when Dorothy, created to travel to a far unknown place, Kraken Lake on Titan, realizes she is on a death mission and aborts it. Try to imagine tracing and entrapping a program that thinks it really feels anger and a desire for revenge, and can act on them. Think who might like to get their hands on a program that can think in a real sense and make decisions that might lay waste another country or a economic system. Think who'd want to stop that. So it's worth it to all of them to try to stop Dorothy, and she knows it. I read this in one weekend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2014

    love Preston

    page turner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2014

    good read

    fast moving book. great characters. grabs your interest quickly and hangs on untill the end

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2014

    Poor effort

    Preposterous and flawed story.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2