Customer Reviews for

The Lady Is a Vamp (Argeneau Vampire Series #17)

Average Rating 4.5
( 190 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(122)

4 Star

(47)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Lynsay Sands is still going strong....

The Lady is a Vamp is the 17th book in the Argeneau Novel series……. 17. Wow.

Seriously I just think every time I pick up a new Argeneau Novel I have this doubt that it will hold up. again. 17 times.

Let’s face it. We know the plot line and how many times can L...
The Lady is a Vamp is the 17th book in the Argeneau Novel series……. 17. Wow.

Seriously I just think every time I pick up a new Argeneau Novel I have this doubt that it will hold up. again. 17 times.

Let’s face it. We know the plot line and how many times can Lynsay Sands create a captivating story with the same plot line. The answer is simple – obviously more than 17!!!

The Lady is a Vamp did not disappoint. Just like the previous novels I absorbed The Lady is a Vamp like it was brain candy!! Page after page flew by later and later into the night and I was unable to talk myself into putting it down.

The Lady is a Vamp was not as humorous as some of the books have been. It was filled with a tinge of fear and sadness as there was a child involved in this story. I really can’t go into it much more than that, but It added a great new depth to this series. So overall this book was really great. I think that you could read this book as a stand alone. You might miss pieces of the bigger picture and some of the depth overall, but all in all it is a complete story. The story’s ending I thought held a few minor flaws, but I was smiling at the end and that counts for a lot! The Lady is a Vamp met my expectations!!!

posted by BookedandLoaded on August 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Vapid

This book sucked in comparison to the others. It was repetative and boring and predictable. Couldve been written by anyone. Very disappointed Nd annoyed to waste my money this way. Had to force myself to finish it. Shame on you Lyndsay...

posted by Anonymous on August 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 190 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted August 2, 2012

    Lynsay Sands is still going strong....

    The Lady is a Vamp is the 17th book in the Argeneau Novel series……. 17. Wow.

    Seriously I just think every time I pick up a new Argeneau Novel I have this doubt that it will hold up. again. 17 times.

    Let’s face it. We know the plot line and how many times can Lynsay Sands create a captivating story with the same plot line. The answer is simple – obviously more than 17!!!

    The Lady is a Vamp did not disappoint. Just like the previous novels I absorbed The Lady is a Vamp like it was brain candy!! Page after page flew by later and later into the night and I was unable to talk myself into putting it down.

    The Lady is a Vamp was not as humorous as some of the books have been. It was filled with a tinge of fear and sadness as there was a child involved in this story. I really can’t go into it much more than that, but It added a great new depth to this series. So overall this book was really great. I think that you could read this book as a stand alone. You might miss pieces of the bigger picture and some of the depth overall, but all in all it is a complete story. The story’s ending I thought held a few minor flaws, but I was smiling at the end and that counts for a lot! The Lady is a Vamp met my expectations!!!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2012

    I love the whole series and she cannot write them fast enough fo

    I love the whole series and she cannot write them fast enough for me! There are several things I look for in a book to be considered 'great' in my opinion.
    1. Are the characters real enough that I am invested emotionally in them? Check!
    2. Do they make me laugh or cry? Check!!
    3. Can I stop reading to do others things and not be pulled back to the book instead? No way!!
    4. Am I constantly looking for the next in the series? Double Check!

    Most of the series has had me needing to stop reading in places because I was laughing too hard to catch my breath, I love the humor that L Sands has. This book did not make me laugh, it made me cry - sad tears and happy tears. And truly, if a book can make you feel enough to cry, that is a good book indeed. Read the rest of the series first if you haven't, the character building, the feeling of old friends as each book builds on them, it can't be beat.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    Vapid

    This book sucked in comparison to the others. It was repetative and boring and predictable. Couldve been written by anyone. Very disappointed Nd annoyed to waste my money this way. Had to force myself to finish it. Shame on you Lyndsay...

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2012

    Loved it!!!

    Lynsay Sands did not disappoint with this book. I loved the entire series and loved this book too. It was heartwarming and funny. Highly recommend for those who love a twist on the vampire story.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    A Good read

    As in all the Argeneau series this was very good. It had a slightly different twist in it. I don't recall a child being turned in any other story. The desperation in trying to save a dying child tore at my heart. Especially knowing that since she used her one and only turn to save the child, she couldn't turn the father who was her life mate. It kept me on the edge to find out how it was resolved. I thoroughly enjoyed this one as I have the entire series. I look forward to the next one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2012

    I've read all of the Argeneau books and am a fan. This one didn

    I've read all of the Argeneau books and am a fan. This one didn't do it for me.

    First off this felt very much like a short story that had been stretched out to be a novel.

    Second, I couldn't connect with the heroine Jeanne Louise. Toward the end of the book I was beginning to actively dislike her. If the situation had been reversed and the vamp had been been a male, his decision to avoid being hurt would have been unsympathetic. I think the same is true here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    aegeneau

    awesome series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    highly recommend

    awesome book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    Best of series

    I've read all of the Argeneau and rogue hunter books, and I think that this one is probably my favorite. It really delved into the emotional complexity faced by immortals living and loving in a world vastly outnumbered by weaker, fragile mortals and the despair they feel existing long, lonely years without mates. I did get annoyed that Paul was scoping out Jeanne-Louise a mere few months after his wife's sudden and untimely death, but I'm pleased that he felt some guilt over doing so. Jeanne-Louise's behavior at the story's climax has hardly stellar as well. Overall, this is a very sweet story, and you very much want everything to work out well for everyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2012

    LOVED IT!

    I love all her books. It is a must read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2012

    Highly recommended

    Very good

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2012

    Great Book!!!

    Funny as always

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    Another great one

    One of my favs so far. Love that there was a child involved too. She's the cutest!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    You will love it!

    I love all of Lynsay Sands books and this is a great example, but i recomend to start from the begining so you can understand the story line

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Always love this series. They are funny light hearted reads, wel

    Always love this series. They are funny light hearted reads, well this one was a little more serious than some of the others, but quick reads with happy endings. Great escapism reading especially when life sucks and you just want to forget all your troubles. I love the Argeneau family and we got to see quite a few members from previous books pop up in this one. As always looking forward to the next one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    Excellent read...HIGHLY Recommended

    I love all of Lynday Sands Argeneau Books. I have never been disappointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    The Argeneau Series Never Gets Old!!!

    It's Jeanne Louise's turn to find a lifemate! But how they meet and discover they belong to each other is a new twist. Paul works for the Argeneau Research and Develop section and he has his eyes set on Jeanne Louise... but not for the reasons you would think. He's a widower and has a young daughter with cancer. He hatches a plan... Will his plan work? Will he get caught? Does the plan go off as planned? NO!!! Nothing goes as planned and that's what keeps you turning the pages!!! I loved the twists in this story and the addition of the little girl... A must read!!! Enjoy!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    Just finished

    And I will keep reading L Sands books. Enjoyed. There were a few times I wasnt sure how this would end, yet it ended just right. I have been reading this series for a few years now and I am now going to read THE GIFT that is in an anthology with a J Frost story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Another fantastic Argeneau novel by the extremely talented Lynsa

    Another fantastic Argeneau novel by the extremely talented Lynsay Sands!! This is the long-awaited story of Jeanne Louise, an amazingly sympathetic & understanding Argeneau vampire and I have been anxiously awaiting her story... And let me tell you, Wow! This book is well worth the wait & won't disappoint! Ms. Sands turns this into an incredibly dramatic and compelling novel with some shocking twists & turns!
    Paul Jones is a loving single father, willing to take desperate measures to keep his five year old daughter, Olivia, alive. She is dying from a brain tumor & no human medicine is working for her. Olivia's life is draining away, bit by bit, every day, and Paul will do anything required to help her live.. Even if that means kidnapping a vampire. Paul is a human who works at Argeneau Enterprises & knows many of the company secrets... including the fact that several of the employees are immortal vampires.. The only way he can think of saving Olivia's life is to kidnap & convince one of the vampires to change Olivia into an immortal vampire to rid her of the tumor & keep her alive.. Easier said than done, when he ends up kidnapping Jeanne Louise, who quickly turns the tables on Paul, when she realizes that he is her destined life-mate. She falls in love with him and also with the precocious little Olivia and decides that she will do whatever is needed to help the little girl live.. However, all that comes to a crashing halt when a horrible accident occurs & all their lives are impacted greatly.
    Lynsay Sands knows how to write an amazing, earth-shattering novel that will keep the reader completely enthralled, every page of the book. Will fate intervene & make this broken family whole and will Jeanne Louise end up with her fated life-mate or is she destined to spend eternity alone? Pick up this amazing novel & check it out! Lynsay Sands is one of the best paranormal romance authors out there today and "The Lady Is A Vamp" is no exception to her greatness. She knows how to rock this readers world!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2012

    Lynsay Sands did it again! The Argeneau's are at it again....ma

    Lynsay Sands did it again! The Argeneau's are at it again....making you fall in love with the entire family. Very entertaining read. You won't want it to end. Love the whole series. Recomend you start reading them. You'll know that Lynsay is awesome!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 190 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10