Customer Reviews for

The Lady Most Willing...: A Novel in Three Parts

Average Rating 4.5
( 76 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted December 27, 2012

    The talents of three funny and romantic authors combine to make

    The talents of three funny and romantic authors combine to make this romp in a Scottish castle a delightful and heartwarming book. 

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2013

    The Lady Most Willing, the second ┬┐novel in three parts┬┐ on whic

    The Lady Most Willing, the second “novel in three parts” on which Julia Quinn, Eloisa James, and Connie Brockway have collaborated,
    is part legend, part farce, and wholly delightful. It reminded me of Seven Brides for Seven Brothers, a classic MGM musical from 1954,
    directed by Stanley Donen.

    The prologue sets the tone and places the stories that are about to unroll in the realm of myth and magic. These are tales for a winter’s
    night, guaranteed to evoke smiles and sighs.The suggestion that these stories are touched with magic is a thread that runs through the
     book. It is repeated in the middle story when Fiona says to Oakley that their time together is “some strange fairy-tale moment” that will
    end when the storm passes and reality intrudes. Finally, the epilogue gives the Scots credit for knowing that “magic has its place.”
    Readers will experience the magic of a feel-good read that evokes a smile, a giggle, or a resounding laugh on nearly every page.
    For those who like their humor broad, there is the kidnapping and the over-the-top behavior of the laird and a single-minded beauty
    with more hair than wit. For those who like their humor more subtle, there are witty exchanges and clever quips aplenty.

    The actors and other professionals associated with Seven Brides for Seven Brothers spoke afterwards about how much fun making the
     movie was. The novel suggests that same sense of creative joy. I could almost see the authors’ smiles as I read the book. And from
    beginning to end, this reader was smiling back at them.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2012

    I loved the way this book wove the story lines together. I coul

    I loved the way this book wove the story lines together. I could not put it down once I got going.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Very cute and a pleasant read

    This was cute. The stories were good, but because of the length were all very "love at first sight" types, which is not really my cup of tea. However, I attempted to lay that prejudice aside and just enjoy the ride, and it was a cute little farce.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    Another great 3 author novel!

    I enjoyed this 3 author romance novel better than their first! This story flowed from one author to the next. I wish that these three get together to write them more often. I was already familiar with Eloisa James & now I want to read the other 2 authors. Happy Reading :)

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2013

    WHEN YOU PUT THE SCOTS AND THE ENGLISH TOGETHER.... IT'S MAYHEM


    WHEN YOU PUT THE SCOTS AND THE ENGLISH TOGETHER.... IT'S MAYHEM!!

    The Lady Most Willing...: A Novel in Three Parts (Mass Market Paperback)
    This is the second novel in the series from our renowned trio romance writers. I also like the first book ("The Lady Most Likely..."), but I like this one even better. This 2nd novel in three parts was set in Scotland. And when you put the wild, unruly, (almost barbarian) Scots, as the English thought of them (worse as some thought, when they're half Scot-half French!!) with the stiff-neck, uptight, straitlaced, arrogant English, as the Scots thought of them... they hardly ever have anything nice to say to each other, you know, long story, or rather long histories (but that's another story altogether). As if it isn't bad enough as it is, but when you put them together in a crumbling down, freezing cold and drafty Scottish castle with abduction of the lasses to boot for the purpose of getting a bride or two. Only one thing could happen... Mayhem! This is a fun book to read. I enjoyed it tremendously. So, don't miss this book whether you're rooting for the English or the Scots.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Equally rollicking as its predecessor, The Lady Most Likely, is The Lady Most Willing.

    This time a kidnapping shapes the plot. The scheme is engineered by the volatile Taran Ferguson of Finovair Castle whose two unwed heirs are half Scottish: nephew Robin Parles, Comte de Rocheforte is half-French and the other nephew is the half-English Earl of Oakley, Byron Wotton. The laird reasons that if the nephews marry Scotwomen, their sons will be pure Scots. Rallying his clansman around his cry of let’s get us some brides, they swoop down on neighboring Bellmere Castle where a ball is taking place. Captured are two sisters, long-in-the-tooth Lady Fiona and assertive beauty Lady Marilla Chisholm; wide-eyed Lady Cecily Maycott – and, by mistake Catriona Burns a highland lass and an English duke who had fallen asleep in the stolen carriage, the very furious John Shevington, Duke of Bretton. The blizzard of 1819 makes their return impossible. The ladies are not unwilling to wed, and Lady Marilla instigates games geared to pairing off (note that the numbers are uneven, 3 lords, 3 ladies and 1 Highland lass. Hmmmm.). The lord-hungry Marilla is the catalyst that sends the men into other arms. Read (and laugh) on to see who winds up with whom. The skillful trio – Quinn, James and Brockway - score again!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Another great scottish love story

    I love historical stories and this does not disappoint. A must read for anyone who likes historical romances.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Entertaining Scottish fun

    I have been waiting for something new from my most favorite Author Julia Quinn and wasnt disapointed. This book was really fun and well coordinated by all Authors. Couldnt put it down and now Im sad there wasnt three more couples to read about.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2014

    Tyler

    Bbt

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2014

    Jordan

    Waits.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2014

    THREE GREAT WRITER ONE STORY NOTHING FOR ME TO SAY

    But WONDERFUL DELIGHTFUL AND DAM GREAT STORY THEY WEAVED AND NOT TO BE FORGOTTON NOT EVEN IN YEARS TO COME BARVO LADIES. Ms. D from Bronx NY (244) pgs. I read in one day and you will to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2013

    Very Entertaining

    Essentially 3 novellas in one book. Liked all the main characters, sweet stories, not much in the way of intrigue or complexity because each story is short, but very entertaining. I'll get the next one too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A delightful romp through Finovair Castle. The audio book is al

    A delightful romp through Finovair Castle. The audio book is also quite well done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    highly recommend

    very good book and very enjoyable reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    Like Seven Brides for Seven Brothers

    This book was along the same lines of that movie, which happens to be my favorite of all time. A nice, happy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    The book is cute, a couple of grammatical errors, and somewhat p

    The book is cute, a couple of grammatical errors, and somewhat predictable. I must confess, despite its flaws, I found the book full of humor, and the characters are easy to relate to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    Good romance

    I wasn't sure about this at first, because I often feel there is something missing in short stories. However, this book flowed well and kept me wanting more. I really enjoyed the way one writer picked up the story where the other left off. Well done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    Interesting way to put together an anthology- wish was longer

    .

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2013

    Fun!

    I enjoyed it - a different premise and just fun all around

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4