BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Lady Risks All

Average Rating 4
( 69 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

The Lady Risks All - Stephanie Laurens

This was fantastic! I love reading all Stephanie's books. Her stories are very well done and as my family can tell you, I reread every story many times over.

If you enjoy reading stories from the days of the Ton, then Stephanie Laurens books need to be added to your co...
This was fantastic! I love reading all Stephanie's books. Her stories are very well done and as my family can tell you, I reread every story many times over.

If you enjoy reading stories from the days of the Ton, then Stephanie Laurens books need to be added to your collections!

Well done Stephanie!!!!!!

posted by 10503936 on September 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Overall, I found this to be a very entertaining story. The chara

Overall, I found this to be a very entertaining story. The characters are pretty well written and developed, though kind of one sided. The altruism in this book is very overwhelming.

What bothered me the most about this book, and has started bothering me more and more...
Overall, I found this to be a very entertaining story. The characters are pretty well written and developed, though kind of one sided. The altruism in this book is very overwhelming.

What bothered me the most about this book, and has started bothering me more and more in Ms. Laurens' writing is her repetitive, heavy handed style. I mean, everything is written twice, at least. There is one sentence, where they are kissing, and he manages to "taste[d] her growing urgency", "her burgeoning desire", AND the "tempo of her escalating arousal".I mean seriously, we get the point. It is a very descirptive style of writing, but it is seriously overused in her novels. Her love scenes are steamy, but they get a little gratuitous. I enjoyed the story, but found myself skimming through a lot of it. Some of the steamy stuff and some of the just repetetive self analysis, and these crazy perceptions she gives her characters sometimes.

posted by junkboxny on March 29, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 69 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Great Book

    I love Stephanie Laurens books. I have read almost all of her Cynster series and all of The Bastion Club series and have enjoyed evey one. If you take a chance on this book I don't think you will be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2012

    As Always

    As always another excellent story by a great author!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2012

    A bit different

    This was a bit different for Stephanie Laurens. the hero is not quite as upstanding as usual but she carries it off brilliantly. After all he has very good reasons for being less than respectable.

    It was great to read a favourite author with a slightly new twist.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2012

    A must read

    The day I received this book I could not put it down. I kept getting up in the middle of the night to continue reading this book. I received it on friday at 6:30 P.M. an I finished reading it on saturday at 4:00 P.M. The plot and characters kept me glued to the book. I read all her books and I have gotten friends hooked on her books. She is a fabulous writer. I recommend this book to everyone but make sure you have time to read or you will be getting up like I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2012

    Good Hot Romance!

    Good romance novel with an unusual conflict.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    Our expectation for Lauren's books has a very high bar!

    The tale of the two most unlikely lady and gentleman ever even meeting and then somehow through danger and serendipity being thrown together to solve a mystery keeps your attention throughout! Since this is her 50th book I have great admiration that she continues to conjure up compelling stories with out being redundant.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2012

    Very good read

    Very good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2012

    Great Read

    I own all S.L. books was exctatic when her web page told of this one coming out. Naturally I was not disapointed! It was great to see Roscoe take the fall. Well written gripping story from first page to last. Can't wait to see who falls next!
    Thank you Ms Laurens for the always entertaing stories of the ton! Even its slightly underside.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    An Exciting, Passionate, Historical Romance

    The Lady Risks All is an exciting mystery, one filled with enough twists and turns to keep me wondering who the villain is right ‘til the very end. It's also a lovely, historical romance, that was sweet, passionate, and very sensual.

    This story is my first taste of Stephanie Laurens’ writing and, despite some minor flaws, I was quite pleased! Her way of telling a story is sweet and flowing… full of emotion and, as I said, sensuality. The characters, Miranda and Neville, are such complex people that I couldn’t help but fall hard for them both and hope to see them attain the happily ever after they so rightfully deserved.

    The bottom line: In this colorful world Ms. Laurens has created we are given a glimpse of both the shady and the sophisticated side of life in historical England, a world I look forward to visiting again, one day soon.

    My thanks to Edelweiss and HarperCollins/Avon Romance Publishing for providing me with an ecopy of this book for review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2012

    Different from the Cynsters but a great read!

    I truly enjoyed this story. I am a big fan of Laurens & was nervous to read this story when it was not about the Cynsters. I am glad I did. Yes it is a love story but the action & mystery are through out the story. The characters were well written & I felt bad for aunt Gladys & her opinions. I would recommend this to all my historical romance friends. Thank you, S Laurens for another splendid read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2012

    As always

    Stephanie laurens sets the standard for other writers. I have read all her books! She is by far and away one of the best! This book was amazing, and I can't wait for the next

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 69 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4