Customer Reviews for

The Lady Risks All

Average Rating 4
( 68 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

The Lady Risks All - Stephanie Laurens

This was fantastic! I love reading all Stephanie's books. Her stories are very well done and as my family can tell you, I reread every story many times over.

If you enjoy reading stories from the days of the Ton, then Stephanie Laurens books need to be added to your co...
This was fantastic! I love reading all Stephanie's books. Her stories are very well done and as my family can tell you, I reread every story many times over.

If you enjoy reading stories from the days of the Ton, then Stephanie Laurens books need to be added to your collections!

Well done Stephanie!!!!!!

posted by 10503936 on September 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

So so

I've read a few of Laurens books before, so when I saw this one I decided to give it a try. I loved the characters of Roscoe and Miranda. They seemed like real people to me. However, I didn't enjoy the flowing prose that the book centered around, especially in the intim...
I've read a few of Laurens books before, so when I saw this one I decided to give it a try. I loved the characters of Roscoe and Miranda. They seemed like real people to me. However, I didn't enjoy the flowing prose that the book centered around, especially in the intimate scenes. It became redundant and boring after the third or fourth time, and I found myself skipping whole pages of it. Overall the book was an enjoyable diatraction with an engaging plot.

posted by Anonymous on October 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2012

    The Lady Risks All - Stephanie Laurens

    This was fantastic! I love reading all Stephanie's books. Her stories are very well done and as my family can tell you, I reread every story many times over.

    If you enjoy reading stories from the days of the Ton, then Stephanie Laurens books need to be added to your collections!

    Well done Stephanie!!!!!!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    Overall, I found this to be a very entertaining story. The chara

    Overall, I found this to be a very entertaining story. The characters are pretty well written and developed, though kind of one sided. The altruism in this book is very overwhelming.

    What bothered me the most about this book, and has started bothering me more and more in Ms. Laurens' writing is her repetitive, heavy handed style. I mean, everything is written twice, at least. There is one sentence, where they are kissing, and he manages to "taste[d] her growing urgency", "her burgeoning desire", AND the "tempo of her escalating arousal".I mean seriously, we get the point. It is a very descirptive style of writing, but it is seriously overused in her novels. Her love scenes are steamy, but they get a little gratuitous. I enjoyed the story, but found myself skimming through a lot of it. Some of the steamy stuff and some of the just repetetive self analysis, and these crazy perceptions she gives her characters sometimes.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2012

    Good read, brings together loose ends

    Neville Roscoe has been a minor character in some of the later Cynster novels. Now we learn his story, which I found interesting not compelling. I love Stephanie Laurens books. That said, this was not my favorite but not my least favorite, either. If you enjoy the Cynster series, you will like this book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    So so

    I've read a few of Laurens books before, so when I saw this one I decided to give it a try. I loved the characters of Roscoe and Miranda. They seemed like real people to me. However, I didn't enjoy the flowing prose that the book centered around, especially in the intimate scenes. It became redundant and boring after the third or fourth time, and I found myself skipping whole pages of it. Overall the book was an enjoyable diatraction with an engaging plot.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    Overly drawn out and boring

    I have enjoyed this author's other books, but I don't know if I'll be able to slog my way through to the end of this one -- very slow-moving with tepid romantic scenes

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved it

    Really great book. Kept me entertained all the way.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2013

    Not My Cup of Tea

    I am a big Stephanie Laurens’ fan but lately her books leave me with more questions than answers. I hate having to drop her, but I believe I will have to because I’m still struggling to finish the book. To begin with, I don’t like all the kidnapping, which seemed to be the main theme of Laurens’ books. I most especially don’t like, neither do I enjoy, reading about a young innocent woman, practically throwing herself at a man. Miranda was practically begging Roscoe to have sex with her. After he refused her the first time, she continued with more begging. I don’t believe this would happen even in these enlightened times, let alone in historical England. The book had a disconnect with reality, which I find hard to accept. For those who don’t mind the begging for sex, and the senseless kidnapping, then maybe this would be a good read, but for me, No!
    I gave the book three stars because of my previous love of Laurens' other books.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    Loved it.

    I have read all of her books and have had so so reactions to a few of her more recent titles but I loved this book. Good story. Two equally strong characters. She didnt have to water down one to make the other strong. Thoroughly enjoyable read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2012

    great

    great

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2014

    Love her: tired of the same.

    When I read my first Mrs. Laurens book I was hooked. Love the ton Cynsters, but after reading about five, it's all the same. He wants to marry, she is too independent and strong and does not accept. Eventually, you know she will agree. There's always romance, kissing and wooing, and it just seems like the women lead characters are all the same. Now I feel like I hate the female leads. I know exactly what is going to happen. Im ready to be surprised!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2013

    a light read...

    a light read but enjoyable. I hadn't read anything of hers before. now reading her Black Cobra quintet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    Not as good as her others

    Stephanie is one of my favorite writers. Reread a lot of her books. Hope her last of the Cynster books is the best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    A unique intriguing read

    This is a fast paced extremely well written Historical Romance as are all of Ms. Laurens' books. Emotionally engaging, theplot twines around a complex plot that doesn't xonclude until the very end.

    I wholeheartedly recommend this book to any and all romance lovers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    I think this I one of my favorite books by Stephanie. It has a l

    I think this I one of my favorite books by Stephanie. It has a little different twist that a lot of her books since one of the main characters is not actively in the ton. Love love love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    Great story

    Loved Roscoe!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A horrific event forces Lord Julian Delbraith to make a terrible

    A horrific event forces Lord Julian Delbraith to make a terrible decision, one in which he will sacrifice himself for the greater good of his family. Gone is his former self, his life of comfort and noble decadence. In its place arises a man of danger and intrigue, a seemingly ruthless opportunist praying upon the gambling weaknesses of men.
    Miranda Clifford is a captive to the life her aunts decreed for her, one of rigid respectability and the fear that their true origins might be discovered. Their fortune came from trade and no former wealth from titles and magnificent holdings in the countryside. Her neighbor, Neville Roscoe, is a danger Miranda can scarcely afford – or as it happens, ignore.
    Following her brother Roderick to Roscoe’s, Miranda is determined to halt his gambling excesses. Instead, she finds her brother engaged in a plan to aid the poor and Miranda is mortified when Neville Roscoe himself discovers her hiding in his home. Unfortunately, Roderick suddenly disappears and Miranda can think of no one better to track the kidnappers than Roscoe.
    Over the next several weeks, Miranda comes to know herself and Neville much better. Even though she is now in her upper twenties, she suddenly realizes she is quite capable of directing her own destiny. She has choices to make, difficult ones that can affect the futures of her family and Roscoe’s, as well.
    Unfortunately, a dangerous man lurks in the background, ready to strike at Roderick and his sister in a desperate attempt to save himself. As the suspense mounts, it remains anyone’s guess whether Roscoe can locate the mysterious Kirkwell before it’s too late to save Roderick and the lovely creature who may hold the keys to his heart.
    This was an outstanding novel. Historically accurate, passionate and mysterious, this story held me riveted to the very last word.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2013

    Another winner  from SL.  Matthew Brenher does a fine job of nar

    Another winner  from SL.  Matthew Brenher does a fine job of narration.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    Another great Laurens book!

    I'm a huge fan of Ms Laurens, I have read all of her books and this book did not disappoint. I loved the interaction between Neville and Miranda, both strong people. I loved the love and respect that Neville's family had for him. I loved both characters bravery.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    The best of the Laurens talents.

    I have all the Laurens books, and have followed the characters as they move in and thru them. While 'Mastered by Love' is my all-time favorite, 'Lady Risks All' is coming a close second. While we met Roscoe a couple of times -- always large, looming, mysterious, but fair and reliable in a 'fight' it was a relief to read his own story. As usual Laurens develops the characters so realistic for the times, with remarkable, strong and vibrant details, Never boring, a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Yet another keeper from Stephanie Laurens!

    While I was a little sad that the Cynster's and the Bastion club crew where not in the book very much, I was not let down with The story itself. I personally have trouble reading books more then once and because of that I don't buy very many books. However Shephanie is an author that I have read most of her books at least twice and some of them 3 times. Thank you Stephanie for the continued quality writing! I can't wait to see what comes next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4