Customer Reviews for

The Lady in the Tower: Queens of England Series

Average Rating 4.5
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 8, 2013

    My first by Jean Plaidy but, not my last. For several years of

    My first by Jean Plaidy but, not my last. For several years of heavy historical fiction reading, I've been reading around Anne B. I think this may be one of my first from her point of view. While I realize that there has been some more study of the period and a re-examination of mutiple players, still a great read. A compeling and potentially probable retelling of some major events and motivation behind them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    GET THIS SERIES

    This is a page turner. I have always been facinated with Anne Boleyn due to English history and the spelling of my last name.

    Anyway, this is such a pivital point in history with the break from the Church of Rome, the establishment of the Church of England, Henry Tudor's (VIII) struggles with siring an heir and Anne's tragic beheading.

    GET THIS BOOK. THE WHOLE SERIES IS FASCINATING. JEAN PLAIDY AND HER OTHER PEN NAME'S BOOKS ARE WELL WORTH READING!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A COMPELLING STORY THEN AND NOW

    To hear versatile actress Anne Flosnik read The Lady in the Tower is to be transported to 16th century England, to the court of Henry VIII. While Henry was, indeed, a contradictory figure his court was even more so, filled with plotting, scheming, betrayals of trust. Flosnik's voice itself takes us there with a distinct, brisk British accent. Her tone is both soft and firm. Add to this voice her acting ability and you have an exemplary performance, one that holds listeners rapt even though most know the outcome.<BR/><BR/> Throughout history we find women who intrigue, their stories captivating us even after centuries have past. Surely few of those lives are as compelling as that of Anne Boleyn. <BR/><BR/> History does not accurately record the date of her birth with guesses ranging from 1501 - 1507. What is known is that as a young girl she was sent to France, to the household of Mary, Henry VIII's sister who was the wife of Louis XII. She returned to England in 1921 to prepare for a marriage which did not take place. Following this she had relationships with several men. Anne was an ambitious woman, and eventually caught the eye of Henry VIII who was then married to Catherine of Aragon.<BR/><BR/> Catch Henry's eye she did and more. When she refused to become his mistress he decided to divorce Catherine and marry Anne. The marriage did finally take place after she became pregnant with his child, a girl. Anne never produced a son; Henry's attention soon turned to another. She reigned for a brief three years as Queen and the drama of those days continues to attract us.<BR/><BR/> Highly recommended<BR/><BR/> - Gail Cooke

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2008

    Did NOT Meet My Expectations

    Having read 'Murder Most Royal' I KNEW I was setting myself up for disappointment when I purchased another novel, written by the same author, on the same subject. Ms. Plaidy repeated herself numerous times, to the point I found it humorous. Her stories from one novel to the next are conflicting. Understanding the time frame in which these books were written, and the numerous amounts of information discovered in the last 15 years with regards to Anne Boleyn, I still found the book lacking in so much as the grace, the splendor, and the tone in which she wrote 'Murder Most Royal.' It was almost as if she just threw words down on pages and struggled to get through the story. Wasn't great for me, however, others may enjoy it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2007

    Exceeded Expectations

    I had read 'Murder Most Royal' by Jean Plaidy and it's also about Anne Boleyn and I hated it. So, I was a bit worried about this one, but it was absolutely amazing! The scene is set marvelously the description of Henry was really good, unlike any other book I've read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2007

    A reviewer

    This was an amazing retelling of Anne Boleyn. That she did not start her life as the coniving evil 'witch' as history puts her. For most part she was a pawn by her family, forced to use her charm and wit on the King. This was an amazing book focused on the cruelties and backstabbings of Henry's court, and Anne's struggle to take control of her life by 'bewitching' King Henry the eighth.I would suggest that one should read The Other Boleyn Girl by Philippa Gregory, and see the authors different views on Anne Boleyn.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2006

    My first taste of Jean Plaidy

    I enjoyed this novel, it was alot different then the histoical novels I was used to. After I completed it I felt I had a new understanding of Anne Boleyn. I think Ms. Plaidy really did her justice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2005

    GREAT!!!

    I have always been interested in these types of books. Anne had to grow up fast and she eventually paid for her mistakes, but you can't help but feel sorry for her. I love this book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2005

    One of Plaidy's best!!

    I am a Jean Plaidy fan. I have read many of her books, but this by far is one of her best works. By the end of the book, you feel as if you really know Anne. This book goes through her life from the time she grew up in France, up until her untimely death.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2004

    A Great Read!

    The Lady in the Tower portrays Anne not as the vindictive power-grubbing woman she's usaully pictures as, but instaed Plaidy shows that Anne was the pawn of her father. Compared to other books I've read about Anne, this one shows her in the most pleasnat light whether that is an honest portrayl or not.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2003

    History through a scandalous affair!

    Throughout this novel one becomes so engrossed with the scintillating gossip of the 15th century that it is almost unnoticeable that one is undergoing a history lesson. Ann Boleyn is a fascinating woman of virtue that one cannot help admiring her through this wonderful author¿s point of view! A great anytime read!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2