Customer Reviews for

The Lands of Ice and Fire (A Game of Thrones)

Average Rating 3.5
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

25 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

I think this is a very good book / set of maps. You get 12 maps

I think this is a very good book / set of maps. You get 12 maps that are 24 inches by 36 inches. They are highly detailed, more so than anything else I've found. For someone just starting the series like me it's perfect !!! I love being able to follow there movements as...
I think this is a very good book / set of maps. You get 12 maps that are 24 inches by 36 inches. They are highly detailed, more so than anything else I've found. For someone just starting the series like me it's perfect !!! I love being able to follow there movements as they go from place. The maps in the front of the books is nice but doesn't have enough of the places they go to. And none at all for the Free Cities or Essos & the Dothraki Sea. Of course is isn't going to be for everyone but that's ok, they just don't need to get it then. Everyone else should get lots of use and enjoyment out of this.

I already have 2 of the maps framed because I use them so much. They are made of a heavier paper stock & feel quite strong.
you get the following maps in a nice & well made book & binder.

The Known World
Slaver's Bay
The Dothraki Sea
Beyond The Wall
Westeros
The West
The Free Cities
Central Essos
The East
King's Landing
Braavos
Journeys

I Highly Recommend this to anyone who likes to follow the story along on a map. I'm very glad I brought this and have gotten a lot of use & enjoyment from it. I'm sure I'll get even more use out of it as I continue reading the series.

posted by 9356995 on November 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

26 out of 74 people found this review helpful.

I would sooner see him complete the series than to continuously

I would sooner see him complete the series than to continuously milk us along the way. At the current pace, I doubt that I will live long enough.

posted by 1195434 on November 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    I would sooner see him complete the series than to continuously

    I would sooner see him complete the series than to continuously milk us along the way. At the current pace, I doubt that I will live long enough.

    26 out of 74 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2012

    I think this is a very good book / set of maps. You get 12 maps

    I think this is a very good book / set of maps. You get 12 maps that are 24 inches by 36 inches. They are highly detailed, more so than anything else I've found. For someone just starting the series like me it's perfect !!! I love being able to follow there movements as they go from place. The maps in the front of the books is nice but doesn't have enough of the places they go to. And none at all for the Free Cities or Essos & the Dothraki Sea. Of course is isn't going to be for everyone but that's ok, they just don't need to get it then. Everyone else should get lots of use and enjoyment out of this.

    I already have 2 of the maps framed because I use them so much. They are made of a heavier paper stock & feel quite strong.
    you get the following maps in a nice & well made book & binder.

    The Known World
    Slaver's Bay
    The Dothraki Sea
    Beyond The Wall
    Westeros
    The West
    The Free Cities
    Central Essos
    The East
    King's Landing
    Braavos
    Journeys

    I Highly Recommend this to anyone who likes to follow the story along on a map. I'm very glad I brought this and have gotten a lot of use & enjoyment from it. I'm sure I'll get even more use out of it as I continue reading the series.

    25 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2012

    $36 for maps? No thanks.

    $36 for maps? No thanks.

    17 out of 54 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    For those of you checking this out be aware those one stars are

    For those of you checking this out be aware those one stars are not reviews and should not impact the rating of the actual book itself. Trolls. 

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2012

    Beautifully done and a great resource!

    Beautifully done and a great resource!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    Too cool - five stars

    These maps are not only awesome art, they are valuable tools in following the movements of all of the characters in the complex plots of the "Ice and Fire" books. Martin's descriptions are so rich and multi-layered that the maps simpy add another layer of enjoyment to the reading experience.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Highly Recommended!

    Even though I was slightly let down (I thought it was an atlas, not a bunch of folded maps.. although, to be honest, I just bought the book without reading a description :-P), this book is GREAT for those GRRM fans who need to see every detail of the fantastical lands of Westeros and Essos. Beautifully done, tons of cool facts, and such. I still wish it was an atlas because once paper is folded, you never get the creases out. Oh! Also, be careful when opening the maps, they tend to rip easily if opened incorrectly. :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    I agree get to the end of the series.

    I agree get to the end of the series.

    2 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2014

    Great gift for a fan of the books

    I bought this book as a present for my dad. He is an avid fan of the series. Everyone in my family watches the show, but he reads the series also. As I haven't read the books, I can't be too descriptive with this review. However, from what my dad said while he was excitedely looking through the maps, it may not be a good gift to give to someone who only watches the show and doesn't want to know spoilers. On the maps, they give journeys of the characters and they are more up to date than the show is as of right now (3/2014). There may be more to the spoilers, but that's one I know of. All that being said, it is fantastic for someone who has read all the books. My dad loves his book. If you only watch the show though, you might just want to be wary of the possible spoilers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    Highly recommended

    Beautifully detailed maps of an incredibly complex place. I was always a little lost trying to follow the action on the page whenever I visited Martin's world. These maps finally let me know where it's all happening.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    A complete set of maps, Excelent.

    It is good to finally have a complete set of maps.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2013

    Well written series, intriguing, lots of twists, but I'll never

    Well written series, intriguing, lots of twists, but I'll never live long enough to see the end.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2013

    Highly Recommeded for All 'Game of Thrones fanatics'

    Beautifully arranged set of maps that will open your 'minds eye' to George R.R. Martin's world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    Good but a little convoluted, lots of twists from lots of viewpo

    Good but a little convoluted, lots of twists from lots of viewpoints, it gets tiring after a while.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    The maps are too big.

    You can't read the book and look at the maps. They are so big they have to be laid out on a table. There's not that much information on these maps anyway, they could be a third of the size they are and be ok.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1