Customer Reviews for

The Language of God: A Scientist Presents Evidence for Belief

Average Rating 4
( 77 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Pure Harmony

Over the last hundred years a battle between Christian fundamentalists and evolutionists has been greatly intensified. As more and more scientific evidence for evolution has been revealed, many Christians (including myself) started to feel that science was attacking the...
Over the last hundred years a battle between Christian fundamentalists and evolutionists has been greatly intensified. As more and more scientific evidence for evolution has been revealed, many Christians (including myself) started to feel that science was attacking their beliefs. In response to this attack, they have closed their eyes, ears, and minds to the overwhelming facts that point to evolution as the process that created mankind. In his book The Language of God Francis S. Collins, who directed the Human Genome Project, writes to both sides of the argument arguing that Christianity can, and does, work in perfect harmony with evolution. For most of my life I have included myself as a follower of young earth creationism, a group of people Collins calls a ┬┐well-meaning, God-fearing people, driven by deep concerns that naturalism is threatening to drive God out of human experience.. I, along with the rest of this group, often fill gaps in our knowledge of the formation of the world with God. When science then fills those gaps, the foundation that we have set our beliefs on crumbles, and often our faith crumbles with it. Collins urges Christians to change their foundation to science, whose rules were made by God, and will only support the argument for his presence and his creation of the earth. In a time where science seems to be attacking religion from all angles, the brilliant Collins raises a clear, intelligent voice that speaks up for believers of both religion and science. For Christians and seekers alike, The Language of God can give harmony within by showing the harmony that exists between science and God.

posted by Anonymous on June 24, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Somehow, I missed the 'evidence'

This book is well written and does have value but its argument for belief is extremely weak. Dr. Collins' conversion from atheism to belief is clearly based on C.S. Lewis' argument that morality is proof of God. This Moral Law argument is based on very simple analogie...
This book is well written and does have value but its argument for belief is extremely weak. Dr. Collins' conversion from atheism to belief is clearly based on C.S. Lewis' argument that morality is proof of God. This Moral Law argument is based on very simple analogies, the assumption that all humans have the same moral values, and seriously flawed logic. In my eyes, Dr. Collins loses credibility by embracing the Moral Law with such enthusiasm and his failure to critically analyze C.S. Lewis' argument. The book does pose a serious threat to those that believe in Intelligent Design. Dr. Collins' comparison of the DNA of humans and animals clearly supports Darwinian evolution. He argues that the second human chromosome is a fusion of the second and third chromosome in primates, convincing him that humans and apes evolved from a common ancestor - not exactly the kind of information that will be embraced by the literal readers of the Bible. This observation is clearly not the 'evidence' promised in the subtitle as it does more to advance the cause of atheists and agnostics. Dr. Collins ultimately settles on a belief system that he calls BioLogos, a renaming of Theistic Evolution. This is nothing more than Deism with more scientific understanding. It promotes the view that God 'who is outside of space and time' got the universe started, jump-started life and then evolution took over. This view has no need for theology, the Bible, a belief in Jesus, or any of the dogma of the world's religion. It is a view that has so little claims that there is no need for proof or no logic to analyze. It is, in my opinion, a very lazy approach to religion with no room for critical analysis. In summary, Dr. Collins gives much 'evidence' of evolution but does not offer any for God - nor does his belief system require any. His aim does not seem to be to prove that God exists but to say that science and faith can exist together in harmony. I agree that science has not proved that God does not exist but Dr. Collins does not give any 'evidence' that He does either. Because of this, I find the subtitle misleading. Dr. Collins may have 'belief' but what that belief relates to is not necessary the God believe in by the Abrahamic religions. For those interested in evolution, I strongly recommend Part Two. Part One and Three, however, hold little value to the believer or the skeptic.

posted by Anonymous on January 15, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2007

    Pure Harmony

    Over the last hundred years a battle between Christian fundamentalists and evolutionists has been greatly intensified. As more and more scientific evidence for evolution has been revealed, many Christians (including myself) started to feel that science was attacking their beliefs. In response to this attack, they have closed their eyes, ears, and minds to the overwhelming facts that point to evolution as the process that created mankind. In his book The Language of God Francis S. Collins, who directed the Human Genome Project, writes to both sides of the argument arguing that Christianity can, and does, work in perfect harmony with evolution. For most of my life I have included myself as a follower of young earth creationism, a group of people Collins calls a ¿well-meaning, God-fearing people, driven by deep concerns that naturalism is threatening to drive God out of human experience.. I, along with the rest of this group, often fill gaps in our knowledge of the formation of the world with God. When science then fills those gaps, the foundation that we have set our beliefs on crumbles, and often our faith crumbles with it. Collins urges Christians to change their foundation to science, whose rules were made by God, and will only support the argument for his presence and his creation of the earth. In a time where science seems to be attacking religion from all angles, the brilliant Collins raises a clear, intelligent voice that speaks up for believers of both religion and science. For Christians and seekers alike, The Language of God can give harmony within by showing the harmony that exists between science and God.

    11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2008

    Intelligent, well-written and thought provoking

    As a non believer, I am sort of attracted to this opposing point of view. However, this book had a greater affect on me and I am starting to reexamine the possibility that I may have been arrogant to be so certain of my position. This is a difficult realization to have as a very well established scientist myself. Congratulations, Dr. Collins.

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2010

    Science vs. Religion: an unecessary debate

    We continue to fight the battle of Creation: Evolution vs. the Bible. Collins in this short but thorough treatment has shown us that science and religion can reach the same conclusions, there is no reason for the constant bickering. He presents powerful scientific evidence to support the concept of evolution while at the same time giving strong support to faith and a belief in a Divine Creator. His arguments are cogent and his data lend strong evidence to his argument. He says, in effect, "Let us reason together." He gives equal weight to the values of both science and religion. Perhaps some of the most convincing evidence comes late in the book in the words of Darwin himself.
    Collins is trying to bridge the gap between the two warring factions and points out the strengths of both sides. To him, there is no reason for the dispute.
    "Blessed are the peacemakers..."

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    FANTASTIC BOOK!

    The language of God had a profound effect on me. As a corporate director for a fortune 500 company I continually strive to incorporate spirituality in the workplace. Not as an in-your-face endeavor, but rather as an example. With the way the world is becoming and indeed, our own nation, I find this to be an ardous task. <BR/><BR/>This book, helped me over some rough spots. Having recently read the God Delusion and God Is Not Great, I was in dire need of a refreshing view from my side of the fence. <BR/><BR/>This book will fortify what you already know and will be a great comfort to you as you live out your life in this changing time. <BR/><BR/>Now I only need for the author to continue the tread and write several more books. I can assure you that I will buy and cherish all of them. <BR/><BR/>Michael L. Gooch, SPHR

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2006

    Christian Neuroscientist

    I usually hate the Christian non-fiction selection of books, but this one was intelligent, thoughtful, and portrayed an acurate view of what science is and is not. More importantly is shows how Christians should not be afraid of science, even more, that they should encourage their children in the sciences as much as any other school subject. Dr. Collins shows that you can be an evolutionist and still a faithful, God-honoring, Biblically based Christian. Yeah!

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2007

    Not an Intelligent Design indoctrination

    This is not a book looking to indoctrinate Intelligent Design upon the reader. Rather Dr. Collins rejects the ID concept entirely. Rather he proposes the concept of theological evolution (BioLogos), which was a revelation to me and one that I was entirely unaware of. Dr. Collins offers amazing insight into the compatibility of science and faith. Dont be intimidated by the subject matter. In a world that frequently marginalizes faith as a fairy tale or mythology Dr. Collins offers hard science as a means to counter those that reject God and forces them to realize it takes a leap of faith of their own to back their own belief system. Challenge yourself no matter your belief and read this book.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2006

    A 'Must Read'

    This book is rare. A first rate scientist relates his scientific understanding and his faith in terms which can be understood by those not formally trained in the laws of chemistry and physics.Science helps my faith walk with Christ. It does not hinder.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2011

    Best book ever on religion & science.

    One of the worlds top bio scientists explains his change from an agnostic thru a wondered to a careful consideration about the wonders of all living things. He is not preaching any single religion, but shares his amazement at the complexities of DNA & what it means & implies. Very carefully thot out, should be a "must read" for all who think about life & it's meaning.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2011

    Excellent

    It seemed like it took forever to explain a christians belief in evolution through biologos but it was deeply satisfying and an excellent thought provoking read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2006

    What we know down deep!

    The tears burst from my eyes, as I read this wonderful evidence for belief. Everyone should read this, and form their own opinions, or change their opinions. Life wihtout belief, is lackluster!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2006

    Finally! What a wonderful book!

    I thouroughly enjoyed this book. Dr. Collins presented both a thorough investigation and thought-provoking description that kept me completely enthralled in the implications of his message. Being a Christian who is inclined in the natural sciences, I have always wanted to find the missing pieces to create a marriage between science and faith. Dr. Collins did so beautifully... very inspirational:)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2014

    This book shows -with an easy to understand language- how ration

    This book shows -with an easy to understand language- how rational the belief in God can be.
    Francis Collins is one of the greatest modern scientists in the world, and a Christian. So no surprise if he is absolutely convinced about theistic evolution.
    As a scientist, I was so happy to read about a faith so similar to mine.
    Corrado Ghinamo
    (author of &quot;The Beautiful Scientist&quot;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Simply an exceptional book.

    Simply an exceptional book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    If you have ever struggled reconciling your Christian Faith with

    If you have ever struggled reconciling your Christian Faith with Evolution Science then this is the book for you. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2012

    Worth you time.

    Dr. Collins lays out in layman's terms the culmination of years of research by thousands of people in the arena of the human genome. Awe-inspiring.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2006

    Best effort yet on compatibility of science and religion.

    My greatest fear about this book is that it might not be widely read. And it should be. Collins spares us the struggle with the detailed science and mathematics that could have been a big part of the first 50 or 60% of the book. But you still have to understand the ideas, which are not easy. However, I ended up with the feeling, after finishing the book, that anyone who feels science or math challenged can probably 'get the message' by reading only the last three chapters or so. Collins is not only multitalented and brilliant - he is also very caring and sincere. For example, he expresses towards the end of the book his personal preference for Christianity over other religions on the basis of what he considers to be the statistical significance of the eyewitness accounts contained in the early gospels - but not until after the following caveat: '...I offer this with some trepidation, since strong passions tend to be incited as soon as one begins to differentiate from a general sense of God's existence to a specific set of beliefs.' To sum up, I do not think that one will get a more profound, caring, and up-to-date view of the relationship between creation and the religions we have attached to it than the one contained in this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2