Customer Reviews for

The Language of Sparrows: A Novel

Average Rating 5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 17, 2013

    Reminiscent of Susan Meissner and Linda Nichols, a new author of

    Reminiscent of Susan Meissner and Linda Nichols, a new author of Christian Women’s Fiction has just released her debut novel. Rachel Phifer with The Language of Sparrows, winner of the 2012 ACFW Genesis Award, is sure to earn many more accolades.

    I loved this heart-wrenching story of April and her teenage daughter Sierra trying to get on with life after the mysterious death of April’s husband. This author writes realistic sadness, but bathes each page in hope. Sierra is a gifted student who is now skipping school and taking no interest in her grades. She wants the secret of her father’s death uncovered, but April cannot bear to share that terrible truth with her daughter.

    Then their lives mingle with another broken family—an elderly Romanian man and his estranged son Nick, who is one of Sierra's teachers at the local highschool. April and Sierra’s lives change by sharing their brokenness with these men, and with teenage Carlos. Each page gleams with hope for healing and new beginnings.

    This is a new writer to take notice of—a gifted storyteller who writes with poetry in her soul and a deep understanding of human psychology.

    I wish I could give this book ten stars. Brilliant! Bravo Rachel Phifer! Author, author!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2013

    A wonderful book that I was sad to see end.  The characters are

    A wonderful book that I was sad to see end.  The characters are vivid and memorable.  The plot is so real and one many of us can relate to.  There is a depth to this book that is lacking most books today.  I love Rachel Phifer's beautiful writing style.  I highly recommend this book!  I will be keeping this one permanently

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2013

    Wonderful book!

    Loved the characters, the pace...beautiful story

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2013

    Once I began this book, I simply could not put it down, and lite

    Once I began this book, I simply could not put it down, and literally read it in a day and a half. The story begins by introducing us to Sierra, its teenage point of view character, but we are quickly introduced to several other characters whose stories intertwine with one another. Each of the main characters is wounded in various ways--spiritually, emotionally, physically, psychologically--and the author weaves a beautiful story about how these individuals struggle, survive and, eventually, even begin to thrive despite their painful pasts. From an inner city classroom in Houston to faraway Romania, the settings change as rapidly as the plot develops, and the mysteries in this story inexorably beckon us in. The pain of loss, the power of forgiveness, the risks of love, the rewards of friendship, the freedom of truth, and the promises of God's Word . . . these are the themes interwoven in this complex, intriguing, sensitive study of relationships. Thanks, Rachel, for a wonderful book, and I look forward to many more!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2014

    Heart-melting young charactee pulls one into her life of silence

    Even though she never says a word, this ingenue lives a full life, thanks to those who understand glances, gestures, subtle signals.

    The writing was a little clunky at times, conversations among other charactors labored, but still a fabulous read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2014

    A great read!

    A great read beginning to end! I highly recommend this ebook! It is such a touching, inspiring and well written story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Ever so often you will stumble across a book that reaches out an

    Ever so often you will stumble across a book that reaches out and snatches your heart and soul, then  drags them through the emotional morass and pyschological upheaval  of the characters in the book at such a personal level that you  hear every heart beat and feel the warmth of every tear  course down your cheek with each person living on the pages before you.  Having had the priveledge of raising very gifted children and knowing and understanding some of their world, I applaud the sensitivity and indepth understanding that Rachel demonstrated on the subject matter
    .  The complex and intricate storyline that covered such a wide variance of subject matter was masterfully woven together to create an intimate, believable, tale of love, survival and address several social issues seamlessly, much like real life does.  
    I alternately laughed, sighed, sobbed, and cried tears of joy throughout The Language Of Sparrows.  A fabulous job and an author to watch.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Really Great!

    I didn't know what to expect, and I still can't class it in any genre - it's just a terrific adventure into humanity. It's one of those rare books I love to talk about with others, even as I'm reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    An Amazing

    A wonderful book everyone should read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2013

    Deep and touching story.

    The well developed characters draw you into the story and make you feel their pain, sorrows, and the hope that comes through faith.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2013

    Wonderful book!  The characters had such depth and it was a very

    Wonderful book!  The characters had such depth and it was a very readable book.  The writing kind of reminded me of To Kill A Mockingbird.  The reader really forms and attachment to the characters and is sad to see it end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2013

    WONDERFUL

    One of the best books I have read in a long time! Thank you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2013

    Good story

    Well developed characters

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2013

    Beautiful original story with well drawn out characters.  One of

    Beautiful original story with well drawn out characters.  One of the best books I've read in quite some time. Worth your time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    I loved this book. The characters were so real and the momentum

    I loved this book. The characters were so real and the momentum of the story never lagged. It was deep and meaningful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2013

    Enjoyable read!

    A refreshing story of hope and healing in the midst of life's hurts and challenges.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2013

    I highly recommend this book! It is one to read again and again

    I highly recommend this book! It is one to read again and again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2