Customer Reviews for

The Last Academy

Average Rating 3.5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

The Last Academy might very well be one of the hardest book for

The Last Academy might very well be one of the hardest book for me to review. Here's why.




1. The reader will not understand ANYTHING about what's going on until about 3/4 of the book is already done. 
Me: "Wait, what?" - "Umm... that made no sense&quo...
The Last Academy might very well be one of the hardest book for me to review. Here's why.




1. The reader will not understand ANYTHING about what's going on until about 3/4 of the book is already done. 
Me: "Wait, what?" - "Umm... that made no sense" - "How is the world is that even possible?!?"




2. I don't and will not spoil the ending! Nope, not going to do it!




3. Finally, THIS BOOK IS EPIC!!!!!!! (and sadly I can't say why)




So here what I can tell you....




After Camden Fisher (or Cam) has a huge falling out with her long time best friend, Lia at a pool party. She decides to try to forget Lia and focus on packing her things for Boarding School. Cam is determined to start a new life, with new friends, and somehow forgot Lia. Before she even arrives to Lethe Academy strange things begin to happen. Now there, she is taken back but how perfect everything is seems to be. Cam wants to fit in, make friends (even a boyfriend), and focus on her schooling.  




As Cam meets the students (and the hot boys), teachers, and takes in her new surrounding that is when the weird things all start to happen. Late night visitors (who nobody sees), students go missing; never to return. Cam swears she sees things that just ain't there. She has so many unanswered questions.... What really is Lethe Academy? Why are all these weird, unexplained things happening to her? And where do her missing friends really go after they leave?




The answer will not only shock Cam but the readers of the book as well. 








*True story: I was sitting in a Barnes & Noble reading the last 60 pages of this book, while my best friend was sitting across from me eating. When I finally found out the why all of these odd things keep happening to Cam my mouth dropped. (literally) I mean like, OMG!!!! My friend is looking at me like "WHAT THE??!". I swear people around me are giving me a look like, is she is crazy? *




I have never ever, ever, EVER had a book give me head to toe goose bumps while reading. I not only was stocked by the ending, I just loved how everything just seemed to fit into place which literally left me breathless. I was so engrossed in reading the end I forgot I had to breathe to survive. haha (true story) Now to be completely honest when I was half way through, a good 180 in I was planning on giving The Last Academy a 3 STAR rating. But the ending.....*shivers* makes this book!!! The story was such a enthralling thriller that had me on the edge of my seat long after the last page.




Anne Applegate is a beyond brilliant author. This book made me mad, excited, happy, crying and above all else FREAKED ME OUT! But in the best possible way. Now while I am focusing lot of this review on the ending of the book, when you read it you will see why. I can't tell you more about the other area but let me say EVERYTHING about the story is just WOW! 








I most definitely recommend The last Academy to my readers and to anything who loves a good thriller.

posted by ChiKittie on May 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

I really like the boarding school type YA, so when I heard of Th

I really like the boarding school type YA, so when I heard of The Last Academy...I knew I wanted to read it immediately. I thought the synopsis was pretty vague but not in a bad way. It didn't give readers clues/or hints to what they can expect from the book beside a st...
I really like the boarding school type YA, so when I heard of The Last Academy...I knew I wanted to read it immediately. I thought the synopsis was pretty vague but not in a bad way. It didn't give readers clues/or hints to what they can expect from the book beside a student disappearing. I like the mystery factor, and couldn't wait to find out what was going on at Lethe .

The majority of The Last Academy plays out like a typical boarding school. Our heroine Camden is fourteen-years-old and is in her first year at Lethe Academy. Everything in the book felt like it was happening on fast-forward; Camden made friends, enemies and even found a new crush/love all within the span of an hour being at school. I found that extremely weird and unrealistic, Camden and the other students acted like they known each other for years and not 5 minutes. The majority of the book read like a contemporary novel because nothing was really happening except Camden having school/boy drama. I couldn't really connect with Camden or any of the other characters either. Everyone may be in high school but they all acted like little immature children. The story didn't pick up until the last 80 pages...and it wasn't till I got to page 270 (again, this book only has 320 pages) that I realize this book was a paranormal with Greek mythology elements! Everything started to come together in the end, and I was surprised that I didn't see it coming at all. The ending totally made up for the first 2/3rd of the book.

While not the best book I've ever read, The Last Academy did a good job in keeping me guessing till the very end. I didn't really enjoy the first half of the book, but overall it was still a good book. I liked reading about all the characters in the end and how they came to be at Lethe, and how the author infused the Greek mythology into the story/characters. Overall, The Last Academy was a fast and easy read, but I suggest anyone interested in reading it to check out a sample chapter/excerpt before reading/or buying.

disclaimer: book provided by publisher for an honest review

posted by Van_shortandsweetreviews on April 30, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 6 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I really like the boarding school type YA, so when I heard of Th

    I really like the boarding school type YA, so when I heard of The Last Academy...I knew I wanted to read it immediately. I thought the synopsis was pretty vague but not in a bad way. It didn't give readers clues/or hints to what they can expect from the book beside a student disappearing. I like the mystery factor, and couldn't wait to find out what was going on at Lethe .

    The majority of The Last Academy plays out like a typical boarding school. Our heroine Camden is fourteen-years-old and is in her first year at Lethe Academy. Everything in the book felt like it was happening on fast-forward; Camden made friends, enemies and even found a new crush/love all within the span of an hour being at school. I found that extremely weird and unrealistic, Camden and the other students acted like they known each other for years and not 5 minutes. The majority of the book read like a contemporary novel because nothing was really happening except Camden having school/boy drama. I couldn't really connect with Camden or any of the other characters either. Everyone may be in high school but they all acted like little immature children. The story didn't pick up until the last 80 pages...and it wasn't till I got to page 270 (again, this book only has 320 pages) that I realize this book was a paranormal with Greek mythology elements! Everything started to come together in the end, and I was surprised that I didn't see it coming at all. The ending totally made up for the first 2/3rd of the book.

    While not the best book I've ever read, The Last Academy did a good job in keeping me guessing till the very end. I didn't really enjoy the first half of the book, but overall it was still a good book. I liked reading about all the characters in the end and how they came to be at Lethe, and how the author infused the Greek mythology into the story/characters. Overall, The Last Academy was a fast and easy read, but I suggest anyone interested in reading it to check out a sample chapter/excerpt before reading/or buying.

    disclaimer: book provided by publisher for an honest review

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    3.5 Stars 'The Last Academy' is an exciting young adult paranor

    3.5 Stars

    'The Last Academy' is an exciting young adult paranormal mystery novel that follows main character Camden "Cam" Fisher as she begins her high school years at a new boarding school in California - far away from her home, her old friends, and her family. Cam loves her new school - she's making new friends, crushing on a gorgeous upperclassman, and a beautiful campus. When one of Cam's new friends at school goes missing, she begins to notice that everything at the school isn't quite right and things are getting stranger by the minute. There are weird people in her room in the middle of the night who then mysteriously disappear, strange memories that she doesn't remember happening, and a creepy man who is on the board for the school. Cam knows that something isn't right at Lethe Academy and that something dark and terrible is going to happen. She doesn't know what it is or how to stop it - will she be able to figure it out in time?

    This was a thrilling mystery novel that had me guessing for almost the entire book. The plot was an interesting one - I liked the premise and the twists and turns throughout the story definitely had me reading as fast as I could to see what would happen next. The characters were written well, although some felt a bit stereotypical - there was the gorgeous upperclassman who our leading character had a crush on, the beautiful "sort of" friend who had secrets, the dorky yet kind friend, etc. Cam was a good main character for the book. She was smart, friendly, and easy to identify with for the reader. The writing itself was well done, although some of the phrasing and conversations felt awkward or forced, which threw the rhythm of the story off a bit for me. Otherwise, it was a great mystery with a fast pace and easy flow to the plot. Like I mentioned, the mystery part of the plot was really intriguing and I loved trying to guess what was really going on and I enjoyed all the twists and turns the plot took on. Overall, this was a fun and interesting paranormal mystery that fans of the YA genre will definitely want to get their hands on.

    Disclosure: I received a copy of the book in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2013

    Camden should be celebrating her last summer with her best frien

    Camden should be celebrating her last summer with her best friend before she goes off to boarding school, instead they have a huge falling out and she goes to boarding school knowing that she has lost her best friend.  At first everything seems normal, you have your typical cliques, jocks and preppy kids, but something always seems a little off. Then one of Camden's friends disappears without an explanation. The school say's she went home, but Camden knows something is off with their story, she knows something is off, period and that someone, had a hand in her friends disappearance. 




    I have to admit, this book was a little slow and a tad bit confusing. The mysterious disappearances and strange happenings seemed to both leave me wanting more and muddle the story. With every strange occurrence I thought, finally, something is going to happen, but every time I was disappointed, but I knew something was going to happen. After all the entire book alluded to the fact that something funny was going on. 




    That is why I kept reading. It was like I was Hansel and Gretel following a trail of bread crumbs with every crumb Anne Applegate gave me I knew I was getting closer to the secret of The Last Academy, so I kept reading, collecting my crumbs. And I will say that my crumb collecting paid off. Once the big secret was revealed I understood why Anne Applegate told the story the way she did, why she unveiled things in the manner that she did. If she did it any other way it would have ruined the shock value of the entire story.




    And yes I was shocked. There were times when I thought that was what was happening in the story, but I never quite reached the entire truth on my own. 




    Despite it's slow pacing I found most of the characters enjoyable and completely relateable, but many I found to be just plain annoying, flat and just not fully developed. They were there, but it was like they were there more for scenery. Upon completion of the entire story I can honestly say that I liked the overall story, that it is worth reading to the end, worth following that trail of bread crumbs and seeing the house made of candy. I say, give it a try, so that you can decide whether or not it is a hit or miss. *Received free copy from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The Last Academy was pretty middle of the road for me. I felt th

    The Last Academy was pretty middle of the road for me. I felt that the characters were not very deeply developed. The main character Camden was likable enough, though there were some points where things she said or did got under my skin a bit. For example, when she gets to Lethe Academy, she refers to a group of girls as her "friends", after only having one or two interactions with them. To me, that seemed odd. Also, there were quite a few boarding school cliches in the book, and some of the situations between the students were a little too obvious and predictable for my taste. That being said, the plot itself was fast-paced and exciting enough to keep the me turning the pages. I read the book in one sitting. I will admit that I was surprised when I finally learned what was really going on at Lethe, and the mystery and suspense leading up to the reveal was quite spooky at times. I really enjoyed racing along with Camden as she tries to figure out what is happening at the school. I do feel that some of the flaws I found in the book might not bother a younger reader quite so much. I just didn't quite connect with the whole boarding school experience and social situations. I did connect with the deeper emotional aspects of the book, but to tell you what they were would be a spoiler. I will say that there are some really deep parts to this book if you can overlook some of the more superficial character flaws. While reading, I found quite a few things annoying; but after turning the last page, I felt as though I had learned something important and profound. (If that makes any sense.)
    All in all, The Last Academy was an enjoyable read. It was suspenseful, thrilling, and the end had my heart in my throat! I would suggest that if the blurb catches your interest, then go on and pick this one up. It is a fast paced thriller that will keep you on your toes and turning the pages late into the night!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2013

    When it comes to books, I¿m an instant sucker for pretty covers

    When it comes to books, I’m an instant sucker for pretty covers and/or mentions of  an “academy”. Therefore, the decision to read The Last Academy, was pretty much inevitable. The minute I saw the blog tour sign-up – I applied. Although, The Last Academy didn’t end up making my all-time favorites list, the ending was nothing short of spectacular.




    I’m going to keep this review short and sweet.




    Pros -




    Ballsy main character. There’s a lot of spooky incidents and sketchy people running about Lethe Academy. If I was at this academy and like Camden, begun witnessing the extra-creepy that goes down, I’d probably be permanently attached to the underside of my mattress.  Even though she practically faints at the sight of her crush, Camden always managed to keep it together when it counted the most. When she felt like her friends were in danger, she fearlessly ran towards and stood-up to whatever or whomever was the cause.




    Amazing supernatural twist. So I’m kind of spoiling the fact that there is a supernatural aspect… but I won’t divulge any exacts. I will say however, that the ending was totally mind-boggling!!! I’m pretty good at guessing the big reveal, but not when it came to The Last Academy. My theories were not even close! Major props to Applegate for adding some new spice to the YA mix. She proves that there is still new material out there to work with.








    Cons -




    A dragging storyline. Like I said, there was a lot of spooky bits to The Last Academy. Being personally freaked out a time or two, I was constantly begging for the big reveal – or heck even a tiny one – while reading. The ending was outstanding, but the beginning and middle included nothing near-as stellar. This book could have easily been cut in half and still have been a decent story.
     
    Instant love. Nuff’ said.  




    Overall, The Last Academy was an enjoyable couple hours. Sure, a lot of aspects frustrated me, but the ending left me with more positive than negative feelings which means I definitely look into future Applegate books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 6 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1