Customer Reviews for

The Last Bastion of the Living: A Futuristic Zombie Novel

Average Rating 4
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Last stand fo the Human Race

    Whenever someone asks me "Do you want the good news first or the bad news?" I invariably ask for the Bad News first; But in this case I will start with the:

    THE GOOD: An incredibly well written and fast paced novel that starts with a bang! The ending is completely satisfying as well as leaving room for a sequel. It was a thoroughly fun and exciting read from beginning to end. I enjoyed every page , every moment of spent reading it. As the story moves along more and more elements are added: Military fiction, romance, mystery and conspiracies are all introduced well before the ending. oh and ddi I forget the family relationships and political intrigue? It seems that this book has at least a little bit of everything to offer. Rhiannon Frater has written a brilliant zombiepocalypse.

    THE BAD: The editing and the coding (?) in this novel are truly terrible. Don't get me wrong, the grammar and spelling, the storytelling are all excellent. Where it went so wrong, I suspect was when the novel was prepared as an e-book. There are frequent examples of this throughout the book: Pages that are blank for no apparent reason, a sentence that ends in a single letter (say a 'w') with the rest of the word on the next line (for example: 'alk' for 'walk), there are examples of strange gaps between letters of the same word (example: B egin), paragraphs end with a comma and then start again after a gap on the page as a new paragraph. Finally on page 571 there is an actual note from the editor still in the text! Irritating mistakes all of then that could've been avoided with a little attention paid to the details.

    FINALE: I really wanted to give this book the five stars that it deserves. But in the end I cannot. The conversion of this novel into an e-book shows just how badly the process can be managed. Mrs Frater your book deserved a better job than it got and I hope that the people in charge will pay more attention in the future to what they are working on. In the end this a near perfect zombiepocalypse novel in my own opinion marred only by the editing and coding mistakes made by people other than the author.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2012

    I'm Picky... And I Think This Is GREAT!

    JULY 23rd, 2012:

    OK, I will admit... I was a bit hesitant when I grabbed this. But I have to say, thus far? - I'm loving this book!!

    WHY I LIKE IT SO FAR: (Definite spoilers in my review so far...)



    1. The female character is bad ass without being 'Super Woman, I don't need anybody or anything'.

    2. The male character (a higher ranking officer who gets involved with the female lead) is believable, sincere and most of all, intuitive.

    3. The premise of the 'zombies' is plausible.



    Now, of course, there are always some cons to a book and this one has some as well.


    THE PROBLEMS I HAVE SO FAR:(Definite spoilers in my review so far...)



    1. The 'Suit Bad Guy' is just a bit overdone, I feel. He's being entirely (I feel) unnecessarily vindictive for what appears to be no real reason.

    2. The idea of a 'Mecca Last Place On Earth For Humans' seems a little fantastical in my opinion. I feel that the human populace wouldn't sequester themselves in a place such as they have in this book. I think it would be more plausible that instead of inserting themselves with their backs against a mountain and a valley that could be easily overrun, that they would have fortified a large (at the time pretty much unsettled) island.

    3. Just a touch too much secrecy but with too many blatant hints/clues.



    However, all in all, this is a bad ass book so far!


    JULY 30th, 2012:

    I just finished this book and I have to say, I truly did love it! There were a couple things that had me going '0.o', but all in all, it was great! I didn't care for the explanation of the origin of the virus... honestly? - it almost had me groan and eye roll. But I get WHY it was explained like that... it just felt that it was thrown in there because she didn't know how else to explain it's sudden appearance.

    I never did get a satisfying explanation as to why 'Suit Bad Guy' was such an ass. It would have been nice to know WTH his agenda was, because it had SEEMED like there was more to it than was given. Maybe there's a sequel?

    I loved the ending and yes, it had me just a touch misty-eyed! LOL

    I would definitely rec this to anyone who likes zombie books!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2013

    Enthralling!

    I couldn't bear to put it down and finished in one sitting. This was a nice fresh take on a tired genre. With well-rounded characters and a submersive story.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Great Zombie Novel

    Different but good. Hope there is another one.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    A sci fi twist to zombie fiction

    Intriguing futuristic zombie fiction. I liked the main character and the plot development. A great read!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    Very good. First book i read by this author and i enjoyed.

    The ending was very interesting and tied up alot of questions

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    Best "Zombie" book ever!

    This book just continuted to amaze me...it was one twist after another and I could not get enough...I cant even begin to explain the many things I loved about this book without spoiling it for those of you who havent read it yet...just trust me and know this will be unlike anything you've read before and will really up the bar on zombie books...atleast it did for me in certain aspects...one being that its the first book that goes into detail about the "zombie virus"...cant say much more than that without spoiling it...just read it...you wont be disappointed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2012

    Unique premise and engaging writing

    I really enjoyed Frater's more traditional zombie survival trilogy, but this story was far superior. It had a unique and well developed premise, the writing was excellent and the plot moved quickly with just enough twists to make it interesting (without being confusing or annoying). Maybe there'll be a follow up? I sure hope so.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2012

    Definitely Recommended!

    Loved this book - from beginning to end! If you like Zombie novels, then this is a must read .... It took me a lot longer to read than most books but this was because I didn't want it to end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1