Customer Reviews for

The Last Battle: When U.S. and German Soldiers Joined Forces in the Waning Hours of World War II in Europe

Average Rating 3.5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Outstanding historical narritive! The author takes no artistic l

Outstanding historical narritive! The author takes no artistic liberties and tells it like it is. Setting the stage for a telling of real life events that Hollywood could never do better, and all of it really happened!!!

posted by dodger99 on May 15, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Clarifying the confusion at the end of conflict

This book was an enjoyable read for the WWII history buff. It was a bit too involved with details that did not lend to the story line and took us into French politics and infighting too much.
It was, however, most informative about the confusion that took place at t...
This book was an enjoyable read for the WWII history buff. It was a bit too involved with details that did not lend to the story line and took us into French politics and infighting too much.
It was, however, most informative about the confusion that took place at the end of the war. I think we forget that it was not an easily wrapped up package. The author helped to clarify this feeling of confusion and gave us some food for thought as we wrap up our own decade of conflict.

posted by MidoriMusic on June 7, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 7, 2013

    Clarifying the confusion at the end of conflict

    This book was an enjoyable read for the WWII history buff. It was a bit too involved with details that did not lend to the story line and took us into French politics and infighting too much.
    It was, however, most informative about the confusion that took place at the end of the war. I think we forget that it was not an easily wrapped up package. The author helped to clarify this feeling of confusion and gave us some food for thought as we wrap up our own decade of conflict.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2013

    Outstanding historical narritive! The author takes no artistic l

    Outstanding historical narritive! The author takes no artistic liberties and tells it like it is. Setting the stage for a telling of real life events that Hollywood could never do better, and all of it really happened!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    Great story - Don't wait for the movie I imagine will be coming, read it now.

    This is well researched and well written story of a very unusual battle. The basic outline of the story is clear from the publisher's write-up and I won't repeat it. While very good, I wish that better maps and drawings of the area in general and of the battles and movements described in the book had been included and this lack is the main reason I did not give it five stars. Given that most of the people who participated in this action on either side are now dead, Mr. Harding is to be commended for his work in capturing this story before it was lost to history. It is too much to hope for I know, but it would be very interesting if any of the SS troops could be found to explain more about what orders, if any, they had received and led to the attack. I hope that if the publicity surrounding the book brings forward more participants that a revised edition could be released (with better maps!).
    This story, improbable but true, seems tailor made to be filmed, so I wouldn't be surprised to see that in a few years. Buy and read this book now and you will agree.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2013

    Excellent research but heavily oriented toward other historians.

    I found the first 80 to 90 pages of interest only to a serious student of WW II History.
    The rest of the book gave an excellent account of "The Last Battle", except for the last 80 to 90 pages would be of interest only to a serious student of WW II History.
    Too detailed to make it a pleasant read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2014

    This really happened?

    Im a ww2 addict and ive never heard about it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    Sonicspeed

    Lowered his head in shame.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    Swiftheart

    Sh licked his ears comfortingly.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2013

    Loved it! The book was so well written and very informative. Tru

    Loved it! The book was so well written and very informative. Truly a great read. -Lauren S.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2013

    Disappointing.

    Too much of this book could have been yanked from Wiki as it fills in the background of the folks involved. The actual battle is rather slim. We're told that there was a lot of risk involved, but most folks traveled around the battle area without having any problem. There's nothing from the hostile German side and little evidence of more than one bit of artillery. There seems to be too much hype and not enough beef here.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2013

    Gets better but starts slow  

    Gets better but starts slow  

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1