Customer Reviews for

The Last Boyfriend

Average Rating 3.5
( 105 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(42)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(31)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

26 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

Wow

Who is this guy on the cover? Let's hire him to play Christian Grey in the movie. Talk about hot!

posted by 9394860 on May 9, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

39 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

Anonymous

Thanks to the reviewer that revealed that this book is not complete. I and many of my friends are boycotting these books. Shame on the gready authors.

posted by Anonymous on May 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Anonymous

    Thanks to the reviewer that revealed that this book is not complete. I and many of my friends are boycotting these books. Shame on the gready authors.

    39 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2013

    Don't waste your money!

    This is a story,not a book. The characters have no depth, the dialogue is cheesy and there isn't even an ending. I want my money and the hour it took to read it returned.

    12 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2013

    Not sure who is rating this book...

    There is poor grammar throughout the entire book, There was no real development of the characters. This book should be free.

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2013

    Do not waste your money on this book. It's a cute premise, despi

    Do not waste your money on this book. It's a cute premise, despite being cliche, but it comes far from delivering. I have to wonder if all of the 5 star reviews aren't the authors friends. I'd hate to think that the standards for a decent book have fallen so low.

    There were quite a number of things with this book that took it from lazy afternoon read to "Oh my God I spent money on this?!"

    The characters were extremely one-dimensional. The heroine, Lucky, was supposed to be this intriguing girl unlike all the others, but she was extremely boring, contradictory and naive. Not only did she set rules for herself in dating, she broke them without almost a second thought. She takes a job with Zane, the hero, without even looking into his background or learning anything about the job. And in order to take this job she has to withdraw from her classes her senior year of college. What college student in their right mind does this? None! Even if the project he hired her for helped her area of study, it would have been more believable if she had worked something out with her professors to get credit for the project and her leave of absence.

    Not only does she decide spur of the moment to withdraw from her classes and leave her job for this guy she barely knows, she's constantly going back and forth between Zane and Braydon, the secondary love interest. One moment Braydon is crazy and something's off about him and the next he "could be the guy for her" and she feels totally at home with him. How can you get such mixed signals from a character that's so underdeveloped? Braydon came off as ridiculous and I couldn't even believe Lucky would still have contact with him after their first date. She did earn some respect from me when she thought he was wackadoodle on their date and became annoyed with him. The problem was she didn't stick to her own instincts and instead it was like she brushed everything aside two seconds later.

    Zane's not much better with his ridiculous mood swings that randomly come out of nowhere. While the tortured soul bit would have worked for me, he goes from one mood to the next without much of a catalyst. He's also adamant about not getting involved with Lucky and yet pursues her as if that's exactly what he wants. He was just way too contradictory in his words and actions; very confusing character! And the fact that Lucky put up with that made me view her as extremely weak. She just let him cause her more and more confusion as the book went on. I wanted to smack her and tell her to find out where her brains went, if she even had any in the first place.

    To top if off there really wasn't any steam or connection between Zane and Lucky. This is probably due to the fact that they were so poorly developed. Any romance between such flat characters would have been really hard to believe in any story. Zane's miraculous confessions at the end of the book were also very disingenuous. Again, they came out of nowhere and you didn't get a sense that anything happened to cause such a dramatic change in him.

    Save yourself the money and the time. This book reads like it was written on a whim and in a day, with no thought to character development, consistency or believability. While I understand that it's not always necessary to have everything be believable in a book, at least make it so it's not so blatant.

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    MAD READER

    This was only 112pgs. The story started strong and ended (if you can say ended when there be a part2, which someone will have to tell me about because Im not buying it)....the story ended sappy I mean throw your Nook across the room bad. I will not look for this author again.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2013

    Awful

    112 pages... Dialogue was unbelievable. Don't waste your money.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2013

    The storyline is mediocre and reads like it was developed by a 1

    The storyline is mediocre and reads like it was developed by a 12 year old girl. I couldn't get past the 2nd chapter.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2013

    The Last Boyfriend

    This was a very boring, choppy book. The story was pointless and not written well at all. Cheesy and annoying. I highly recommend not purchusing it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Cheesy

    This book was sooo cheesy. High school, wait.. no, middle school dialogue. Dont waste your money!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2014

    To fast!!

    The entire story was choppy and difficult to follow. The charectors emotions changed too quickly and they weren't developed. The story was unrealistic as well: a girl leaves the life she built (college, friends, belief about the perfect boyfriend) after pondering a choice to work on a documentary for several seconds. I felt rushed and didn't want to finish the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2014

    Fast read, didn't really like it

    I may be jaded, so take my review as it is. The story was right up there with fairy tales, and not in a good way. I understand its fiction, but I was not impressed at all. The characters were not believeable to me, didn't really care about them, and I don't know of anyone that says your name in every single sentence when speaking to you.
    I finished it because I purchased it. You can skip it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2014

    No

    This book is only 137pg book
    More of a short story
    Poorly written and just not worth the time or money that it cost to buy this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2014

    This book is just plain weird!

    Seriously.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2013

    Ummm....

    I was searching fir another book and began reading tge sample. I decided to purchase and find out more about Lucky and Zane with no such luck! $3.99 for 24 pages of a complete book. This was definitely a rip off!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2013

    Terrible

    Cheesy and random. Did not flow well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    No no no!!!

    This book made me mad. So very mad. I really enjoy Indie authors but this is one of those books that just give them a bad rep. The story starts out alright. The plot seems flat but has plenty of potential but instead of getting better it just nose dives. There is no conflict for a reader to really care about or get involved in. This is caused largely by the poor character development and absurdly unrealistic situations the author puts the main character in. I really wanted to root for the story bc there is nothing better to me then a great Indie book but this was just bad and right when the story could have possibly been redeemed or at least have been better than a boring read I found myself skimming it ended. This book is a great example of how not to plot a book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2013

    This book is truly unrealistic. The characters are supposed to b

    This book is truly unrealistic. The characters are supposed to be mid-twenties aged, yet act as if they are in a middle school romance. I have never read a book that has such little depth for its main characters.
    This is truly a terrible read between the awful characters, the unrealistic "falling in love," the misuse of a Thesaurus, and god-awful grammar.
    J.S. Cooper, you struck out with this nonsense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2013

    Not a page turner.....

    I hate to be mean but this was not agood book. I couldn't even finish it. It wasn't realistic and it was very cheesy. I know this isn't any easy job an I respect that but this book was not a page turner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    :0

    I haven't read the book, and judging by the reviews I probably won't BUT I agree about the hottie on the cover, I want to know who he is!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2013

    The dialogue is mediocre. There is nothing I find remarkable abo

    The dialogue is mediocre. There is nothing I find remarkable about Lucky. There is little to no character development. I wish I hadn't been swayed by the cover of the book and the other 5 star reviews. I wish I could get my money back. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2