BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Last Boyfriend (Inn BoonsBoro Trilogy #2)

Average Rating 4
( 606 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(312)

4 Star

(139)

3 Star

(84)

2 Star

(32)

1 Star

(39)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

72 out of 124 people found this review helpful.

Loving Expectations

Although I have yet to read this book (it hasn't even been published yet), I thought I would leave an expectation instead of a review. Nora Roberts is an author very dear to me and, as with every single one of her other novels, this one promises to capture my heart, tan...
Although I have yet to read this book (it hasn't even been published yet), I thought I would leave an expectation instead of a review. Nora Roberts is an author very dear to me and, as with every single one of her other novels, this one promises to capture my heart, tangle my soul, engage my mind and be an IMMEDIATE best-seller. The idea is interesting and reading a two-paragraph overview of the first book the the series, The First Always, already has me itching to have the book in my hands. I'm excited and cannot wait for it to be published. I have no doubts that Nora will meet my expectations; it is likely that she will go beyond them. If you've never read Nora Roberts then you are missing out on something incredible that could alter the way you think. I know she changed my life for the better with her stories. -Miranda Gwen

posted by Elegant-Chaos on October 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

can't open

Very frustrating. My first preordered book and it won't open on my nook. I can open on my nook for PC. My favorite author...looked so forward. Very disappointed, B and N. I have never been disappointed by a Nora, so I will give the book 5 stars, and B and N 0 sta...
Very frustrating. My first preordered book and it won't open on my nook. I can open on my nook for PC. My favorite author...looked so forward. Very disappointed, B and N. I have never been disappointed by a Nora, so I will give the book 5 stars, and B and N 0 stars.

posted by 4928264 on May 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 606 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 31
  • Posted October 24, 2011

    Loving Expectations

    Although I have yet to read this book (it hasn't even been published yet), I thought I would leave an expectation instead of a review. Nora Roberts is an author very dear to me and, as with every single one of her other novels, this one promises to capture my heart, tangle my soul, engage my mind and be an IMMEDIATE best-seller. The idea is interesting and reading a two-paragraph overview of the first book the the series, The First Always, already has me itching to have the book in my hands. I'm excited and cannot wait for it to be published. I have no doubts that Nora will meet my expectations; it is likely that she will go beyond them. If you've never read Nora Roberts then you are missing out on something incredible that could alter the way you think. I know she changed my life for the better with her stories. -Miranda Gwen

    72 out of 124 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome story. Finished it very quickly. can't wait to read more

    Awesome story. Finished it very quickly. can't wait to read more

    45 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    I read this one this afternoon and I must say I really enjoyed t

    I read this one this afternoon and I must say I really enjoyed the story. The banter between characters was funny.

    27 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2012

    I may be visually impaired after reading this book. The witty b

    I may be visually impaired after reading this book. The witty banter had me laughing so much by the end of chapter 6 my mascara was running and my eyes were burning. It is wonderfully human. I can actually picture these characters. Is the theme predictable? Maybe. So what? It is a fiction book beautifully written in the style of a 1940s black and white comedy. I read it for fun but had no idea how much fun I would be having. If I want drama, I will switch back to Black Hills or Chasing Fire or Witness. For laughs and smiles and good feelings, I will take this series any day.

    20 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    I have a hard time putting aside stories that are well-written.

    I have a hard time putting aside stories that are well-written. The Last Boyfriend continued to prove that I am being lucky with good stories this spring. This emotive, moving and engaging story that flows is told with details that are plentiful.Nora Roberts is plain brilliant with characterization, weaving the characters of the three brothers in ways that are so true to life. The book adds more color to the trilogy in a package that comes with a great plot and masterful story telling. Nora Robert's The last Boyfriend and Janvier Chando's The Sweetest made my weekend an enjoyable one.I definitely will read the complete trilogy. In fact, I am really getting into ghost stories.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    Really good book

    I bought the first one when I saw this was coming out. Read both in 3 days. Absolutely fun reads! I loved this and so cannot wait for the third.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    can't open

    Very frustrating. My first preordered book and it won't open on my nook. I can open on my nook for PC. My favorite author...looked so forward. Very disappointed, B and N. I have never been disappointed by a Nora, so I will give the book 5 stars, and B and N 0 stars.

    7 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    Found this lacking compared to the first book in this series. A

    Found this lacking compared to the first book in this series. Avery and Owen are great characters and their relationship as friends and a couple lovely. HOWEVER, the main "struggle" for Avery is built up poorly with little background that what build up was actually there felt unnatural in terms of with the flow. Also somewhat out of place with Avery's character especially her choice of vocabulary for one convo that felt extremely out of place and out of character. When the "struggle" moment arrives it is covered and resolved so quickly it was disappointing. The other issues are also quickly resolved with seemingly little effort. Their story of dating and enjoying being together is lovely, but lacks the angst and heartwarming moments that Nora Roberts books are loved for. I did really love the Lizzy parts in this book. At first Lizzy kind of freaked me out, but now I feel for her like the rest of the characters.

    6 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Continues from THE NEXT ALWAYS, I’m enjoying the character

    Continues from THE NEXT ALWAYS, I’m enjoying the characters. A little slow-going but the setting and the ghost idea are great fun. Unlike a lot of reviewers, I appreciate detail on surroundings so I can “see” the setting and the people. It’s an endearing story, Lizzie, Owen, Avery, Billy….It’s a bit of a soap opera as we theorize what might come next and who is related to whom, just knowing that there will be surprises in store. Can’t wait for the next one!


    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    Great book I love that she keeps you updated about all her chara

    Great book I love that she keeps you updated about all her characters from the first book and gives hints for the third book that is coming not soon enough, lol I love her books

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Just another to add to the list of great Nora Reads!

    I read this book within a 2 day period...absolutly love love loved it. Even got a lil' teared up during certain parts of this book. I may be partial to this series because I am from MD and have been to BoonsBoro, it really is a small, small town. Can't wait for the 3rd to come out!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    Read this in one day!,Like all of Noras books,once I pick it up

    Read this in one day!,Like all of Noras books,once I pick it up I can' t put it down!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    This second book in the trilogy was devoured in two afternoons.

    This second book in the trilogy was devoured in two afternoons. The Montgomery brothers and the women they love are engaging and vibrant. The Inn descriptions delight and I love the element of the ghostly Elizabeth. Can't wait for the third book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    Amazing!

    Tried not to start this book right away because I knew I wouldn't want to put it down! I loved every page!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    She does it again

    The Last Boyfriend is Nora Robert’s second book in the Inn BoonsBoro Trilogy. Since reading the first of this series, I have been anticipating the release of this book and wasn’t disappointed in the least.

    The Last Boyfriend was filled with such sweet romance that left me feeling fulfilled and wanting more long after the last page was turned. Owen and Avery have sparks that light up the sky and chemistry that leaves your blood sizzling.

    I’d completely recommend this book to anyone searching for a new romance and give it 4 out of five stars.

    Blurb: Owen is the organizer of the Montgomery clan, running the family's construction business with an iron fist - and an even less flexible spreadsheet. And though his brothers bust on his compulsive list-making, the Inn BoonsBoro is about to open right on schedule. The only thing Owen didn't plan for was Avery McTavish

    Avery's popular pizza place is right across the street from the inn, giving her a first-hand look at its amazing renovation - and a newfound appreciation for Owen. Since he was her first boyfriend when they were kids, Owen has never been far from Avery's thoughts. But the attraction she's feeling for him now is far from innocent.

    As Avery and Owen cautiously take their relationship to another level, the opening of the inn gives the whole town of Boonsboro a reason to celebrate. But Owen's hard work has only begun. Getting Avery to let down her guard is going to take longer than he expected - and so will getting her to realize that her first boyfriend is going to be her last.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    Waiting for more...

    Loved book one! Was wistful, pining, anxious for this book to come out...waiting for more! Still waiting for more...good plot twists that I wasn't expecting. Loved Lizzy. Sad that Avery and Owen characters weren't more developed. It was more about the soap opera around the Inn, not about their love. I admire Nora's work because of the timeless values of love, trust, family, an honest appreciation of the way real relationships can work with life wrenches thrown in. When I am done reading one of her books I genuinely feel happy and appreciate the little pick me up she provides! I'll gladly be An ARC reviewer of her next book, still waiting for more...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful story. Just as good as the first book....can't wait t

    Wonderful story. Just as good as the first book....can't wait to see what happens with Ryder and Hope.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2012

    Loved this book

    Great read

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    Couldn't put it down - had me crying & laughing..... love No

    Couldn't put it down - had me crying & laughing..... love Nora Roberts - can't wait until November for the next book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    Hi

    Hi

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 606 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 31