Customer Reviews for

The Last Bride (Home to Hickory Hollow Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2014

    Best book yet!

    This is, by far, the best book that Beverly Lewis has written to date. A beautiful story of love, faith, and family. I could not put the book down!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2014

    Tessie Miller is the last of her family of 5 sisters to marry. S

    Tessie Miller is the last of her family of 5 sisters to marry. She is determined to marry a young Amishman, Marcus King, even though her father has set himself firmly (unreasonably, in Tessie's mind) against this match. When her father won't explain his reasons for opposing her marriage to Marcus, the couple decides to take matters into their own hands and snuck away to be married at the local courthouse. After their wedding, the decide to keep this marriage a secret until Tessie's father relents about them being a couple. This secret arrangement continues for awhile...until an unthinkable accident changes Tessie's life forever. Finally, after it's too late to change things, Tessie discovers her father's reason for not wanting her to marry Marcus....much to her fear and heartache. When Tessie discovers that she and Marcus are going to have a baby, this secret makes her fear for her baby's life. Will she ever be able to find hope and peace again?
    I always enjoy Beverly Lewis' books and am happy to review them when Bethany House sends one my way. :) I appreciated the way this book shows that just because parents can sometimes seem unreasonable in their children's eyes when it comes to major life decisions, they often are doing their best to shield that child from pain and heartbreak later on in life. When you're in the middle of making one of these choices it's not always easy to remember that or see it in that light, but it's wise to take the counsel of our parents into consideration even if we don't always understand their reasons. 
    I enjoyed the story and as always, loved the way Beverly Lewis paints a beautiful portrait of the Amish lifestyle. Reading her books makes me want to go visit an Amish community. :) 
    I was given a free copy of this book by Bethany House Publishers in exchange for my unbiased review. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2014

    A simple and heartwarming story that weaves faith, and forgivene

    A simple and heartwarming story that weaves faith, and forgiveness despite a series heartbreaking events.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Home to Hickory Hollow Tessie Miller is the last of the Miller

    Home to Hickory Hollow

    Tessie Miller is the last of the Miller daughters to marry. The young man she favors is not of her father's choice.  She has loved Marcus King for as long as she can remember, there is none other for her. Every time Marcus goes to her father to ask for her hand in marriage he is turned down without any reason as to why his request is denied. So the young couple decide to sneak away to the court house and have an English ceremony even though they both wanted desperately to marry in Amish tradition. They have chosen not to tell anyone of their marriage hoping Tessie's father will give them his blessing.  But before Marcus could approach her father with his request a tragic accident changes everything the young couple had planned for a happy future together.

    Since no one knows of their marriage circumstances this put Tessie in critical scrutiny of not only of her Amish community but that of the Bishop and his wife.

    This story was so tragic.  I was so angry with Tessie's father. Then when the her father's reasoning was revealed I was totally shocked.  The author touched on a topic that is a hidden secret among the Amish. She writes of how God's plan will be revealed if only we have faith and trust in God.

    I must say as I have said so many times that Beverly Lewis never fails to amaze me with her talent for entertaining me with her writing.  This book is very much right up there with all her other books I have read. I had a hard time putting the book down.  

    I highly recommend this book.

    Disclosure: I received a free copy of this book from Bethany House/Baker Publishing Group in exchange for an honest review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2014

    Great book!!!

    This book was so hard to put down!!! And made me cry so many times! Beautiful ending :) Love this book! Too bad it was just one book, it would have been an awesome triloge ;D
    Thanks so much!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    OK¿ I am definitely going to have to go back and finish ¿The Br

    OK…

    I am definitely going to have to go back and finish
    “The Bridesmaid” and then read the rest of the series because… WOW!

    Just WOW!

    “The Last Bride” is amazing!

    Beverly Lewis is an exceptionally talented author!

    This is not a typical Amish fiction. It’s not even a typical romantic drama.

    Beverly Lewis has managed to take several situations you don’t usually find in the Amish world and weave them beautifully into this story of loss and love in a strict old-order Amish community.

    The loss… and the love are not what you might be expecting either. There were several things about the book that took me completely by surprise.

    Definitely not a predictable story!

    It is one I will never forget.

    The journey of Tessie and the people around her is crafted into a wonderfully flowing experience – albeit fraught with drama and tragedy. And… it is incredibly easy to find yourself in Tessie’s shoes… however difficult a place that is.

    I think this is one of the most endearing and powerful stories about a young Amish girl I’ve ever read. Generally speaking, these types of stories are entertaining and heart-wrenching but rarely does a story about a strict Amish community touch so close to home.

    This one does!

    And, even though I now feel inexplicably compelled to go back and read the rest of the series, this is not a book that cannot be read out of order. For those of us who have read other books in this series, (or seen the movies made from The Shunning and The Confession – which are not part of the same series but they are written about the same community) it is comforting to “see” old friends from other books by Beverly Lewis. They are woven into the story so well, you don’t feel as if you are out of step because you don’t know their back-story.

    It’s just an all-around GREAT story! READ IT!

    Disclaimer: I received this book free in exchange for an honest review from the Bethany House reviewer program.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This series is the first of Beverly Lewis' that I have read and

    This series is the first of Beverly Lewis' that I have read and enjoyed enough for 5 stars. She continues to draw us into Hickory Hollow. With each new story, we fall in love with the characters. 
    This story is no different.  I loved Tessie, she was a bit fiesty and a whole lot stubborn, but she had the gift to love and to also touch others.  Children love her.  
    This book will make you laugh, cry and even aggravate you, as you read, all emotions that authors love for you to feel.  
    I easily give this a 5 star rating. This book is a book that you will not want to miss if you love Amish stories. This book was provided for review purposes only, no payment was received for this review. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2014

    Highly recommended

    In my opinion, best book Beverly Lewis has ever written. I have read them all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2014

    highly recommended

    it is so refreshing to read a book not filled with sex and anger problems. I love all of Beverly Lewis's books. can't wait for the next one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    A must read for lovers of Amish fiction.

    Another gem from Beverly Lewis, the queen of Amish fiction. She returns to Hickory Hollow, Pennsylvania for this tale of Tessie, the daughter of Old Order parents who wants to marry Marcus, a man who her stern father disapproves of. What happens when they elope will intrigue the reader. Beverly Lewis is at the top of her craft in this heartwarming story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2014

    This book was one of the greatest! It was an awesome story of f

    This book was one of the greatest! It was an awesome story of faith and love of family! Love Beverly Lewis's Books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2014

    Nice relaxing feel good read!

    Nice to read a book with good values but still interesting but pleasant story! Takes you to a relaxed happy place!

    Always some twists to make what could be redundant stories a good read!

    Enjoyed and will be back for more Beverly Lewis stories! Even took a trip to Lancaster because of her books! Beautiful place with very nice people!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2014

    The Last Bride Beverly Lewis Book Summary: Of her Old Order

    The Last Bride
    Beverly Lewis




    Book Summary: Of her Old Order parents' five daughters, Tessie Miller is the last to marry. She has her heart set on Amishman Marcus King, but Tessie's father opposes the match. Impetuously, Tessie and Marcus elope to the English world, then return to Hickory Hollow to live as singles, trusting they'll convince the Millers to give their love a chance over time. But when the unthinkable happens, Tessie faces the almost-certain censure of the People. Will she find a reason for hope in spite of her desperate plight?




    Review: I loved this book. I was reserved in thinking this was just another Beverly Lewis story, but I could not have been more ignorant of what she had up her sleeve!!! I loved this book! It was Beverly Lewis’ best to date. I was so sad when events turned so horrible wrong and there stood Tessie having to cope with the outcome of her marriage. I cried and than things grew and changed. I mourned right along with Tessie and was as surprised as she was how life changed and turned around again. Than there was the secondary story of Mandy and her husband. This book had more inside its 336 pages than I could have ever thought possible. I want another book in this series! Going back to Hickory Hollow, PA was so very worth it. New or old time reader of Beverly Lewis will not be disappointed in this poignant story.
    I would like to thank Net Galley and Bethany House Publishers for allowing me to read and review this book in return for a free copy and I was never 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2014

    It is time for another post about Amish fiction. This time, I r

    It is time for another post about Amish fiction. This time, I received a copy of THE LAST BRIDE by Beverly Lewis from Bethany House. It is the fifth installation of the Home to Hickory Hollow series. It is also my favorite so far, although I feel as if I always say that about each new Amish novel I read.

    In this book, Tessie Ann is in love with Marcus King. They have a beautiful relationship, in my opinion, but Tessie’s father disapproves. Tessie and Marcus decide to go to the English world to elope. I had never heard of Amish couples doing this before. I wonder if it is a literary device or if this is something that is actually done. Regardless, it made for an excellent story. Once Marcus and Tessie return to their Amish community, they pretend they are single. Tessie keeps pushing her father to approve of their match.

    I won’t give away any spoilers, but I will say this was a heart-wrenching novel full of sweet sadness, and the end will leave a smile on your face. I am passing this book on to my mother, who enjoys Amish fiction as much as I do, and from there it will travel into the hands of a fellow Amish fiction lover at work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I enjoyed The Last Bride by Beverly Lewis. It is book # 5 in the

    I enjoyed The Last Bride by Beverly Lewis. It is book # 5 in the Hickory Hollow Series, but also a stand alone book. It had me hooked from page one until the end, as all of her books on the Amish do. 

    Tessie Miller & Marcus King elope when her father is against them getting married. Her Father has someone else in mind for her to marry.  They come back and live as singles thinking they can change his mind. Then when a tragedy happens, she is left to face her parents and the Amish Church who all think she needs to confess her sins before the entire Church. 

    Tessie's sister - Mandy (and husband Sylvan) longs for a baby, as so many of her family and friends have.

    Beverly Lewis does an awesome job in writing about the Amish/Mennonites. I have learned a lot about their traditions and believes through her books. The Amish put the will of God in everything they do. Because of the independence I have always had some of their traditions are hard for me to relate too, but I can understand why they believe that way. 

    I received an advanced copy of this in exchange for my review rather it be good or bad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2014

    The author has been an avid reader for as long as she can rememb

    The author has been an avid reader for as long as she can remember and it shows in her writing. I have been interested in the Amish way of life since I visited the Pennsylvania Dutch country. Their lifestyles are truly inspiring. If you’ve ever had a desire for certain things to happen, (and I am sure most of us have) I hope you read “The Last Bride”.
    Sometimes things happen beyond our wildest dreams.I love how God is a constant in this novel. I know throughout my life I have talked to the Good Lord a-plenty.  
    As it says in “The Last Bride” - ‘It wouldn’t be schmaert not to.’”I can almost see the one-room schoolhouse and feeding the chickens.I’ve fed quite a few chickens in my youth.The warmth of this novel and the courtship will pull you right into your deepest feelings of love and compassion.
    Jeannie Walker (Award-Winning Author) 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2014

    Usually I love Beverly Lewis, but I absolutely did not like this

    Usually I love Beverly Lewis, but I absolutely did not like this series. The only book I really enjoyed was The Secret Keeper. That was the only on that had layers and depth to it. This one Tessie kept whining about being pregnant and her husband had died. She told her father she had been married and he didn't believe her. The book just dragged after that. I didn't like The Fiddler, The Guardian or the Bridesmaid either. This entire series except for one fell flat for me. The books just took to long to get to their point.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2