Customer Reviews for

The Last Christian

Average Rating 4.5
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Overwhelming and interesting!Thought provoking!

THE LAST CHRISTIAN by David Gregory is an Inspirational Sci-fi thriller set in the future, the year 2088. It is well written with depth and detail. It is very deep and overwhelming at times but it has a great message throughout the book. It is also full of bible referen...
THE LAST CHRISTIAN by David Gregory is an Inspirational Sci-fi thriller set in the future, the year 2088. It is well written with depth and detail. It is very deep and overwhelming at times but it has a great message throughout the book. It is also full of bible references. It is a throught provoking, and very interesting in "what if's". It has betrayal, suspense, sadness, action, faith, a little romance, intrigue and religious themes. The characters will pull you in and keep you there. They are exciting, strong and innocent. There are also evil characters in this story. If you enjoy sci-fi thrillers, and throught provoking that leave you wondering about the future of Christianity in the modern world this is definate the book for you. This book was received for review from Waterbrook and details can be found at My Book Addiction and More and Random House Publishing.

posted by AAR on May 25, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Not for me....

My review of the book The Last Christian. In the future tolerance has come to pass and Christianity no longer exists. Abigail Caldwell grew up in a remote jungle in Papua New Guinea. A disease killed her village, forcing her into a real world that she has no connection ...
My review of the book The Last Christian. In the future tolerance has come to pass and Christianity no longer exists. Abigail Caldwell grew up in a remote jungle in Papua New Guinea. A disease killed her village, forcing her into a real world that she has no connection to.

It is almost scary how easily the reader can imagine the circumstances in the story coming to pass. It is a little eerie to think this may not be so far in the future anymore for us. The faith aspect of this story is very thought provoking, the reader will definitely look at the gospel in a brand new light. There is a heavy focus on life, a little love, and tolerance that is not so tolerant.

This book was provided to me for review by the WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group.

posted by JodyJ on June 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 25, 2010

    Overwhelming and interesting!Thought provoking!

    THE LAST CHRISTIAN by David Gregory is an Inspirational Sci-fi thriller set in the future, the year 2088. It is well written with depth and detail. It is very deep and overwhelming at times but it has a great message throughout the book. It is also full of bible references. It is a throught provoking, and very interesting in "what if's". It has betrayal, suspense, sadness, action, faith, a little romance, intrigue and religious themes. The characters will pull you in and keep you there. They are exciting, strong and innocent. There are also evil characters in this story. If you enjoy sci-fi thrillers, and throught provoking that leave you wondering about the future of Christianity in the modern world this is definate the book for you. This book was received for review from Waterbrook and details can be found at My Book Addiction and More and Random House Publishing.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not for me....

    My review of the book The Last Christian. In the future tolerance has come to pass and Christianity no longer exists. Abigail Caldwell grew up in a remote jungle in Papua New Guinea. A disease killed her village, forcing her into a real world that she has no connection to.

    It is almost scary how easily the reader can imagine the circumstances in the story coming to pass. It is a little eerie to think this may not be so far in the future anymore for us. The faith aspect of this story is very thought provoking, the reader will definitely look at the gospel in a brand new light. There is a heavy focus on life, a little love, and tolerance that is not so tolerant.

    This book was provided to me for review by the WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Last Christian is a terrific futuristic thriller

    In 2088, the unknown disease has devastated the small Inisi village. Desperate, Christian missionary Abigail Caldwell leaves the jungle for the first time in eight years seeking help for those surviving. She is found dehydrated and taken to Meriden Hospital in Lae where she is treated by American Dr. Kate Sampson. The two women fly by helicopter to the village only to find everyone dead.

    Grieving as she loved the villagers, Abby goes to America after receiving an odd missive from her neuroscientist grandfather, an inventor of brain transplants. She is stunned to find Christianity is dead in America, but she vows to lead the crusade to bring it back from the grave. However, her grandfather is also dead. His death leads her to History Professor Creighton Daniels, whose father like Abby's grandfather and villagers suddenly died. The duo join forces to investigate what is going on. They soon discover a plot to evolve mankind into eternal non-believers transhumans with silicon based brains and no one will stop them; not even two people grounded in faith that God created Adam and Eve.

    The Last Christian is a terrific futuristic thriller in which the religious elements come across (no pun intended) as powerful and refreshing while the political spin felt mechanical, a rehashing of early twenty-first century DC paralysis. Fast-paced with two strong believers as champions, sub-genre fans will want to join these David's as they battle Goliaths with plans to make mankind in their image.

    Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2012

    A good read.

    A good read with enough action and mystery to keep you reading. The Christian message is clear as you progress through the story. I would recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2011

    Portent of things to come...

    It is not a great leap to see a day when Christ's message is viewed as hate speech. The criticism and ridicule of a non-conformist are accurate and Orwellian. A good read for anyone but reassurance for the Christian.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2010

    Thought Provoking

    Good books entertain you. Great books make you think in ways you never have before. The Last Christian is a great book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Bridget's Review

    It's the year 2088 and Abby is the only person to survive when a strange disease spreads. Abby goes out in search of others survivors. Her grandpa sends a word telling her to spread the word of Jesus. Little did she know, the entire human race could obtain eternal life and her grandfather was partially to blame. The brain replacement project is already in use. Will Abby be successful in her attempts to remind everyone of a higher power or will the humans play God and end up destroying everything?

    The plot is amazing and the author really delivers on each page that you turn. A total thrill ride.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2010

    Summer Thrill Ride!

    If you read one book this summer.choose one book to throw in your beach bag.choose one book to bring on your plane ride.choose The Last Christian. From the moment I read the summary I was intrigued. I had high hopes that his book would be excellent. I was not let down! From the first page you will be taken on a ride to rival any roller coaster. Be sure to start this book when you have the time to devote as you will NOT want to put it down. Not only is the book exciting, it is well written, characters are realistic and well developed and concept though wild draws you in and never lets go. I would mark this as my favorite summer read and summer had barely begun!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Science Fiction Read!

    When I agreed to review this book, I was not thrilled about it to be honest. I do not like science fiction, never have. But I have to say this book was amazing. They way the author tied together the past and the present was seamless. Abby Caldwell was the perfect leading lady and the flow of the story was excellent. From a Christian perspective, there are many lessons to be learned: Abby's bravery and steadfastness about confessing her faith, people making the ultimate sacrifice for others, the thought of what could happen if we remain cavalier about our Christian faith. I would highly recommend this book and I just may read it again myself!

    This book was provided to me by Waterbrook Multnomah for the purpose of review. The opinons expressed are my own!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not an easy read

    Abigail, a lady who has lived in a jungle has had her whole tribe mysteriously die from
    a death and she is forced back into a world so different. Times have changed but has Christianity?

    This book was very hard for me to read. In fact, I started over twice and read aloud to my husband just to make sure it wasn't just me. He said "Are you getting tired Dear?" - meaning you are putting me to sleep - please quit reading.

    This book did not inspire me and it was difficult to follow. I could not recommend it especially as an easy read.

    I also could not recommend it for younger readers just for the material that is suggested.

    Blessings to you! You are loved!

    Note: I was sent complimentary copy for review purposes only. This review has not been monetarily compensated. The review was my honest opinion and views and not influenced by the sponsor in any way.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Faithful Folios Review

    Vertical Reach = 4

    Abby doesn't give thorough details about what she prays or what passages she reads in her bible but I love that she acknowledges doing them at all. Lotsa CBA christian fiction doesn't even elude to this I liked this character so much she was real to me.

    Ministry Message = 3
    The message I believe is to have faith in God and spread his word no matter what. I hope I didn't miss it the storyline held me so captive I didn't really grab a lot of message.

    Craft = 5
    I love good plot and great characters. This novel has both not to mention it has captivating details and dialogue. This is the only end time novel I believe I've ever enjoyed.

    Aesthetics = 5
    If I saw this book in a book store the title and cover alone would make me stop and pick it up. Good job Waterbook Press design team. LOVE IT!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2014

    Ugh

    No good story line

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2011

    Pretty Good!

    The story was great, the writing was pretty good, and I loved the message.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2010

    The Last Christian

    I am torn on how I feel after reading this book.

    On one hand, I really enjoyed it. I thought it was fast paced and gripping, and the idea of a world without Christianity was interesting. There was certainly a lot going on in the book and I had to be sure to concentrate so I wouldn't miss any important hints or reveals.

    With the exception of the two main characters, Abby and Creighton, the characters weren't really well developed, and I was left wishing I knew more or heard more from certain ones. I enjoyed the gentle and modest romance that grew between Abby and Creighton.

    On the other hand, I was disappointed that the author didn't spend more time having Abby trying to spread the word of God. She had a few chances, but I was hoping there would be more of an emphasis on it since that was pretty much the premise of the novel.

    The technology aspect of it was almost overwhelming to me. Imagining a world where everyone is connected by a chip in their brain and can meet up with anyone, anywhere in Virtual Reality is just too much for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Such an engaging story.

    This book was amazing. It had a little of everything in it.

    The technical aspect of the book was very interesting to me. The idea that all people can be connected to each other constantly was very interesting. It added a new level of intrigue to the story. In this story technology has tried to rid the world of the social ills that had once existed. However it seems that technology has taken one thing away from the culture...

    The story was pretty faced paced, right from the beginning. And while the technology was really futuristic it was feasible. I think I was able to understand the technology because it is, I think, where technology is currently heading, so it wasn't difficult to imagine.

    I loved how the story combined the technological society, and that of a non-technological religious society. Seeing the differences between the religious society and the technological society was quite eye opening. The path that was explained in the book as to how society became non-religious is very sobering.

    The writing was very good. It was easy for me to connect to the characters in this story. They were well written and well developed. I loved Abby, based on the culture she was thrown into she was quite naive, however she was actually a very intelligent character.

    I really loved this story. I was so easily drawn in to it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Thought-provoking science fiction

    In 2088 AD, Abby Caldwell emerges from the Papua New Guinea jungle where she was raised as the daughter of missionaries after her entire tribe dies of a mysterious illness. She moves in with her cousin Lauren, a US congresswoman, and soon discovers that Christianity has all but disappeared in America. Abby quickly decides two things: 1) She needs to spread the Gospel in America, and 2) she needs to learn more about her grandfather Ray's death and the cryptic message he sent just days before he died. With the help of Sabin, Lauren's "life partner," and Creighton, a history professor, Abby delves into the mystery while trying to preach the Gospel--and finds herself hunted by a dangerous man.

    I really enjoyed The Last Christian ... probably because it was largely science fiction! The America Abby returns to is one where people spend large amounts of time in virtual reality, where cars drive themselves, where disease is nearly eradicated, and where even brain transplants are becoming available. One of the aspects I enjoyed most was the challenge Abby faced when presenting the gospel to people who have no concept of sin or of their need for a Savior. While Gregory's world is fictional, many things he describes could very well be in our future ... and with this book, he challenges us to take another look and the Gospel and reexamine our own beliefs.

    As for the plot, while I enjoyed it, I felt that parts were lacking. The "resolution" was fairly unaffecting, and I wasn't emotionally involved with the characters. Still, this was an engaging read that I would recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Outstanding Read!

    I loved this book! I wasn't certain I was going to when I first started reading because the prologue and first two chapters didn't seem to relate to each other - oh but they do, and when they all come together the realization of what is going on will absolutely blow you away. The Last Christian, by David Gregory is a spell-binding read. The futuristic setting is wholly believable and easy to comprehend. Although there is much science in the novel, I would classify this as a medical thriller rather than a science fiction novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2010

    A Fantastic Read!

    I don't normally read books set in the future. There is a certain science fiction/ fantasy element to futuristic books that I don't really care for. However, I was really drawn to the plot of this book. I have read the Left Behind series, and this seemed somewhat similar, only more extreme.

    I had a really hard time getting into the book. The first few chapters threw several things at me- the introduction of the brain transplants, information about numerous characters, and lots of references to various technology of the future. I was having a hard time keeping everything straight!

    I met one character, Abigail Caldwell, who would become a main player throughout the book. Her story is what kept me reading. Upon meeting her, I immediately wanted to know more about her. Her strength and passion were intriguing to me. I knew that Abby was going to try and bring the Christian faith back to America and I was very interested as to the persecution she would face and how she would continue to strive to fulfill her goal.

    As the story unfolded, I found myself more and more interested. The things I had not understood in the beginning began to make more sense as I learned new facts and details. I began to see all the characters come together. I really disliked some, but my heart went out to others. The author did a fabulous job with character descriptions and I was vividly able to picture them in my head as I read.

    It was really emotional to read what Abby was going through. I cannot imagine the feeling of being the very last Christian on Earth and all of the opposition and hate that Abby faced. It was uplifting as well. If Abby can find the courage and will-power to share her faith in a world where she is the only one who believes, then surely we can as well. We live in a country where freedom of religion is practiced and we are free to worship and share our beliefs as we choose. Abby found out she could be imprisoned and worse for just sharing what she felt in her heart. I felt like I was reading about Daniel and the Lions Den all over again.

    I don't want to spoil what happened to Abby and how she strove to overcome ever obstacle she faced. David Gregory does a much better job of telling the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2010

    The Last Christian

    In the future, it's possible to live forever-but at what cost?
    The year is A.D. 2088, and Christianity has died in America. The Last Christian is an interesting look at a futuristic world where Christianity has almost died out. In the jungles of Papua New Guinea, Abigail Caldwell has lost her family and her entire village from a mysterious brain disease. She receives a unexpected 16 year-old recorded message from her grandfather asking her to go to America and spread the gospel. Is Abby ready for the danger and does she really understand the gospel message she has known her whole life?

    In this future time where there are self-driving cars, common virtual reality, and brain transplants, Christianity is considered hate speech. Abby has a choice to make - flee the country or face arrest. The story is rather profound when you think of the way things are already going in America, and it will make you reflect on the message. I get a little nervous when an author wants to add to the gospel message, but I think the author just wanted to convey the message of grace and not works.

    The story has action, adventure and a great message. I really was not expecting the twist at the end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic Futuristic Novel

    I'm reviewing THE LAST CHRISTIAN by David Gregory, a futuristic inspirational novel that was quite different from anything I've ever read before.

    In 2088 the world has changed completely from the world we know today. Abigail Caldwell, the daughter of missionaries, emerges from the jungle of Papua New Guinea to find that the United States her dead parents had told her about has vastly changed. Almost everything is done via the Grid, which is what the internet has morphed into. No longer tied to computers, it can be instantly called up by the mind. People meet each other and spend most of their time in Virtual Reality. There are no rules, for Christianity has died. Now science has developed an artificial brain that far surpasses any human brain or computer. The only trouble as Abby sees it is that once the new "perfect" brain has been surgically installed, one loses God. It's not seen as a problem to modern mankind, for they've decided a long time ago that there is no God, but Abby vows to bring Christianity back to America, and hopefully, the modern world.

    The moment she begins to attempt restoring the spiritual dimension to humanity, those that are trying to make brain transplants universal are out to get her. Allied with historian Creighton Daniels, they become unwitting targets of powerful men. It will take courage and sacrifice, but Abby and Creighton are willing to take on the challenge.

    This was a riveting novel from Waterbrook Press, and it has the potential to be a powerful movie. I hope it's made into one someday. The option of a brain transplant is a powerfully seductive one offering all knowledge-much as the devil in the guise of a serpent once offered it to Eve in the garden of Eden. The moral choice then was as important as that offered to the world of THE LAST CHRISTIAN. I highly recommend this fascinating book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2