Customer Reviews for

The Last Clinic: A Darla Cavannah Mystery

Average Rating 4
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Firm Foundation to a New Series!

When the Reverend Jimmy Aldridge, pillar of his community is murdered while protesting outside an abortion clinic, detective Darla Cavanaugh is called on head the investigation. No small feat, considering she is not only an “outsider,” but a female Yankee! (Gasp!) Who s...
When the Reverend Jimmy Aldridge, pillar of his community is murdered while protesting outside an abortion clinic, detective Darla Cavanaugh is called on head the investigation. No small feat, considering she is not only an “outsider,” but a female Yankee! (Gasp!) Who should she get as a partner, but the worst Elvis impersonator around, which means her work is cut out for her, for sure! High on the suspect list is the doctor who runs the clinic, the charismatic Stephen Nicoletti, who just happens not to have any alibis at the ready. With her work cut out for her, Darla must avoid tripping over her bumbling partner while trying not to get tangled up in the sheets of Dr. Nicoletti’s bed. Add the less than savory dirt that is being dug up on the precious reverend, the strip club connection and Darla has a tangled web to unravel to find the killer. Add that good Ole Boy clichéd mentality of the Deep South and sit back and enjoy the ride!

The Last Clinic by Gary Gusick takes murder and ties it in knots and sends us on a twisted journey to solving the crime. Well-written with a cast of characters you will find amazingly perfect in their roles, by the time you finish, you may be feeling the need for a Mint Julep or two!

I received an ARC edition from Alibi in exchange for my honest review.

posted by DiiMI on October 25, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

¿People who want to share their religious views with you almost

“People who want to share their religious views with you almost never want you to share yours with them.” - Dave Barry

While reading this debut novel, I couldn’t seem to get that particular thought out of my head, as it cycled on rinse and repeat. And I couldn’t help t...
“People who want to share their religious views with you almost never want you to share yours with them.” - Dave Barry

While reading this debut novel, I couldn’t seem to get that particular thought out of my head, as it cycled on rinse and repeat. And I couldn’t help this one either: Men seem to have no problem telling women what to do with their bodies. Now I’m not saying what is right or wrong about the above quote, or whether abortion is a sin or not, and whether or not women should have the right to choose. But I do think when you only see one side of the issue, and you can’t even stare at the opposing party on the other side of the fence without getting into a spitting or shouting match, then you might want to take a good, hard look at yourself and ask yourself what you really stand for, and why you’re even standing there in the first place. Empathy isn’t just some word that you look up in the dictionary, and you completely discard it in your daily life. We’ve had plenty of leaders who’ve lacked empathy in our modern world: Hitler and Stalin certainly come to mind.

So yeah I was pretty liquored up and pissed off while reading THE LAST CLINIC, and I was even more liquored up and pissed off when I finished it, and I’m still liquored up and pissed off as I write this review. Because really the bottom line is it takes two people to start an argument, and it takes two people to continue one. Religion ends up getting a bad reputation when folks use it as an excuse to further their own extremism causes. Religion can actually do some good when used properly, creating a set of values and structure, and giving a man or woman hope, and a belief in something greater and more powerful than themselves. But when it isn’t used properly, you might as well be holding a gun in your hand instead of a Bible, because it’ll lead you to some bad decisions, and you’ll be screaming the name of Allah, or God, or Jesus Christ, or Buddha, or whomever from the other side of a metal cell or padded walls.

Aside from the religious aspects, and there were plenty for me to stand up and take notice, Detective Darla Cavannah is a woman I have no problem getting behind. She’s smart and beautiful with a body built for trouble, and the story added elements of mystery, instead of moving in a linear fashion straight to the finish line. But it’s hard for me to get past the fact that there were multiple individuals I’d like to whack upside the head with a Bible or a wooden cross.

I received this book for free through NetGalley.

Robert Downs
Author of Falling Immortality: Casey Holden, Private Investigator

posted by RobertDowns on December 10, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 10, 2013

    ¿People who want to share their religious views with you almost

    “People who want to share their religious views with you almost never want you to share yours with them.” - Dave Barry

    While reading this debut novel, I couldn’t seem to get that particular thought out of my head, as it cycled on rinse and repeat. And I couldn’t help this one either: Men seem to have no problem telling women what to do with their bodies. Now I’m not saying what is right or wrong about the above quote, or whether abortion is a sin or not, and whether or not women should have the right to choose. But I do think when you only see one side of the issue, and you can’t even stare at the opposing party on the other side of the fence without getting into a spitting or shouting match, then you might want to take a good, hard look at yourself and ask yourself what you really stand for, and why you’re even standing there in the first place. Empathy isn’t just some word that you look up in the dictionary, and you completely discard it in your daily life. We’ve had plenty of leaders who’ve lacked empathy in our modern world: Hitler and Stalin certainly come to mind.

    So yeah I was pretty liquored up and pissed off while reading THE LAST CLINIC, and I was even more liquored up and pissed off when I finished it, and I’m still liquored up and pissed off as I write this review. Because really the bottom line is it takes two people to start an argument, and it takes two people to continue one. Religion ends up getting a bad reputation when folks use it as an excuse to further their own extremism causes. Religion can actually do some good when used properly, creating a set of values and structure, and giving a man or woman hope, and a belief in something greater and more powerful than themselves. But when it isn’t used properly, you might as well be holding a gun in your hand instead of a Bible, because it’ll lead you to some bad decisions, and you’ll be screaming the name of Allah, or God, or Jesus Christ, or Buddha, or whomever from the other side of a metal cell or padded walls.

    Aside from the religious aspects, and there were plenty for me to stand up and take notice, Detective Darla Cavannah is a woman I have no problem getting behind. She’s smart and beautiful with a body built for trouble, and the story added elements of mystery, instead of moving in a linear fashion straight to the finish line. But it’s hard for me to get past the fact that there were multiple individuals I’d like to whack upside the head with a Bible or a wooden cross.

    I received this book for free through NetGalley.

    Robert Downs
    Author of Falling Immortality: Casey Holden, Private Investigator

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2013

    A fascinating whodunit story of the deep South and its religious

    A fascinating whodunit story of the deep South and its religious fanaticism. The characters are very real, and the story takes the reader down many paths. The suspense builds throughout the narrative, with the many side trips resulting in satisfying but teasing detours. I found the book hard to put down as the continuing interactions between the "Yankee" female inspector and the hard-boiled Southerners of Jackson MS produce tense and comical moments in the search for the killer. When the killer is revealed, it is almost anti-climactic after all the action that has taken place. I highly recommend this book for those who like a good, well-written mystery.



    Jayfwms cannot leave a pen name or use paragraphing in this recommendation

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2013

    I absolutely love it when a book kicks off the action right the

    I absolutely love it when a book kicks off the action right the moment you begin to read, this one is just the same!  Pulls the reader in right from the off and the pace keeps moving from start-to-finish.  Darla, a woman recluse after becoming a widow at a young age, fighting the unknown past of her deceased husband’s indiscretions, finds herself thrust into a murder investigation.  Her target: an unknown assassin who murdered a town hero, a beloved Pastor of one of Jackson’s largest and wealthiest Churches.  Not only does she find herself chasing after her unwilling media-whore partner’s unwillingness to look beyond his own nose and possibly find the real culprit – moving out of his own small-town hero wanna-be status as the Governor’s nephew – she finds herself discovering more about Jimmy Aldridge and his “secret” hobbies and crusades. All the while the reader is thrust into the world of a hired-assassin going after Women’s health clinic doctors – a hired-hand who is being paid by a mysterious benefactor.
    Is the murderer the town OB/Gyn who works at the Women’s Health Clinic Jimmy Aldridge picketed every-day?
    Is there someone outside of Jackson looking for blood?
    Is there someone inside of Jackson who wanted Pastor Aldridge dead? 
    Who is paying the hired-hand to murder all of those Dr’s across the country?
    All of these questions and more get answered inside of this gripping novel!  The entire novel is told from the third person, giving insight into each character, allowing the reader to flesh out each individual as a person and use their character to help determine who the murderer actually is vs. who Tommy (the Elvis Impersonator) and the general public of Jackson, MI wants it to be.  Thoroughly gripping and mysterious, this novel brings forward many questions about the Right to Life Campaign running in the South (as someone who lives in SE NC I see it almost daily) and the very definite culture clashes between “Yankees” and Southerners (also someone who moved from the DC Suburbs to SE NC, I found this to be true until very recently), and the questions of Church and State separation.  
    This book is one I highly recommend to anyone who enjoys reading a good murder mystery, definitely looking forward to seeing more of Darla Cavannah and the Hinds County Sheriff’s Office! Here’s hoping there’s more novels to come!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Firm Foundation to a New Series!

    When the Reverend Jimmy Aldridge, pillar of his community is murdered while protesting outside an abortion clinic, detective Darla Cavanaugh is called on head the investigation. No small feat, considering she is not only an “outsider,” but a female Yankee! (Gasp!) Who should she get as a partner, but the worst Elvis impersonator around, which means her work is cut out for her, for sure! High on the suspect list is the doctor who runs the clinic, the charismatic Stephen Nicoletti, who just happens not to have any alibis at the ready. With her work cut out for her, Darla must avoid tripping over her bumbling partner while trying not to get tangled up in the sheets of Dr. Nicoletti’s bed. Add the less than savory dirt that is being dug up on the precious reverend, the strip club connection and Darla has a tangled web to unravel to find the killer. Add that good Ole Boy clichéd mentality of the Deep South and sit back and enjoy the ride!

    The Last Clinic by Gary Gusick takes murder and ties it in knots and sends us on a twisted journey to solving the crime. Well-written with a cast of characters you will find amazingly perfect in their roles, by the time you finish, you may be feeling the need for a Mint Julep or two!

    I received an ARC edition from Alibi in exchange for my honest review.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2013

    This is a strong first effort by Gary Gusick. Being from the Dee

    This is a strong first effort by Gary Gusick. Being from the Deep South myself, I was impressed by the way in which Gusick captured how certain classes of Southerners talk and act. Too many authors think Southern is a synonym for “backwards redneck”; Gusick shows that we have just as much politicking and backstabbing down here as you find in New York City or Washington, D.C. “'You can call anyone in the state anything you like, as long as you bless their heart afterward.'” – perfect observation!

    As for the plot, I enjoyed the two converging storylines told from different points of view. However, I had figured out who killed Aldridge the moment that character was introduced, so the book was not as suspenseful as I would have liked (and, I suspect, Gusick intended). The red herrings lacked the subtlety needed to draw the reader into considering multiple possible villains.

    Darla Cavannah was an appealing character, and I would be interested in reading her further adventures. However, she did not feel fully fleshed out to me; I thought the constant references to her dead husband were irritating (although certainly realistic for a football-crazy locale), and I found her quickly-formed relationship with Stephen to be unrealistic for a veteran police officer who had been widowed less than a year. Stephen himself felt similarly two-dimensional, not much more than Darla’s obligatory love interest.

    Overall, The Last Clinic is a solid debut and first entry in the Darla Cavannah Mystery series.

    I received a free copy of The Last Clinic through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    THE LAST CLINIC is a murder mystery story which crosses fictiona

    THE LAST CLINIC is a murder mystery story which crosses fictional boundaries of the FBI and a small town sheriffs office. Darla Cavannah is a detective, born and bred in Philadelphia, who moved with her husband to Hinds County, Miss. After her husband dies, she continues to work on the force, but even though she's been living there with her husband, she continues to deal with being an outsider at times.

    In this story, the victim is a minister who gets murdered while doing his daily protest at an abortion clinic. Around this scene, the author introduces us to the life of Darla and a glimpse of what living in a small town could be like as well as the hidden deeds which go unmentioned in society until it is too late. The characters are likable and the book is well written. However, I found I was able to figure out the murderer from the first introduction in the story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2013

    I received this book via NetGalley to give an honest review.  Th

    I received this book via NetGalley to give an honest review. 
    This was a pretty cool murder mystery. You have detective Darla who has gone though something traumatic  which was the lost of her famous husband. With that in mind she has not been working big cases.  That is until she is called into a big case that deals the a Reverend and abortion clinics. 
    Now being as I do not believe abortion is right I do believe it is a person's choice.  With abortion playing a big part within this story I was glad that there wasn't details being given within the book as I probably would have been crying. 
    The relationship between Darla and Dr. Nicoletti seemed a bit rushed within the story. Instead of getting to know one another going on dates it was like bam let's question him, arrest him and then I will sleep with him. Unless he was a one night stand and then I could understand that. 
    I enjoyed how the Reverend was not all goody two shoes. He had a dark side within him. Now Darla's partner Tommy what is there to say about him. I kind of wish Darla would have kicked him in the balls a few times. With this Elvis wannabe self, he had more ego issues than anything and was determine to catch a collar even if it mean the wrong person.

    Now this book may not be for everyone, being as it does deal with abortion clinics, a doctor is wrote out more of a hero, a sketchy dealing with black virgins and old white men. But do not let that turn you away from the story as it is really good. 
    Now you may think you know who the killer is but you may be wrong on your assumption. Now I had no idea until the very end and I was very surprised, but I could see why this person did what he did. 

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2013

    This seems to be a first book of a very promising series. It is

    This seems to be a first book of a very promising series. It is quite suspenseful. I liked the detective and the main characters. The cop is from the north and has to learn to understand people of Mississippi. The mystery itself has twists and turns with the backdrop of the culture of Mississippi which is a closed society. The detective’s partner is an Elvis Pressley impersonator which adds some humor to the story. My one minor criticism of the book is that I felt I never totally understood the Reverend who gets killed.

    However, the book was one of the more enjoyable mysteries that I have recently read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2014

    Blake to all

    Who all works this i need you title your name with g after it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2014

    Hannah to nurse courtney

    Idc give me my child

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2014

    TO ALL HERE

    Very kind stop advertising at Twist. It is incredibly annoying. Thi is your only warning.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2014

    Will

    I thought this was a womens only hospital *waoks out*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2014

    Charis

    Bye

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2014

    Rose

    "I'll try. It just doesnt feel right to me."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2014

    Slow moving

    I simply could not keep an interest in this story. It started out slowly and some of the characters were quite boring. I am into more suspenseful writings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2014

    Great read

    Looking forward to more from this author.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    Fun read

    Kept moving fast enough to keep you attention. Happy endings are nice too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2013

    with surprises coming out of every corner this small town southe

    with surprises coming out of every corner this small town southern mystery is a short and sweet tale of finding crime that has gone un-
    noticed. The links and connections with in the town make this an intriguing mystery.. great descriptions of dynamic characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2