Customer Reviews for

The Last Detail

Average Rating 4
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Suspense and action with some kicking erotic

    A novella packed with punch from page one. A total sensual delight filled with suspense and hard hitting emotion to take you away to another world.
    So we meet our little kickass herione Louella, but we'll just call her Lou, as she arrives on a cesspool planet Arcadia that resembles earth from a 100 years or more in the past. Lou just needs one more collar to earn enought credits to hitch a ride home back to earth and nothing is going to stand in her way; not even the huge hunk she has to take down to do it.
    Sam Dawson is as drawn to the sweet little blond eyeing him from the bar as she is to him so he's about to ingore his instincts that says she's trouble with a capital T because Trouble is just what he desires right now.
    Back in Sam's room Lou gets him all tied up and not just with handcuffs while almost getting herself tied up in knots over how attracted she is to him. On the way to Lou's transport they run into trouble and not the good kind, freeing Sam's bonds so he can protect himself they try to head to a safe house to await her boss Jared when Lou gets shot and now Sam must save her.
    Taking Lou to the safe house where they end up in bed is only surpased by the arrival of Jared who turns out to be an old lover and now the fisticuffs fly and the fun begins.
    Z

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Sexy and action-packed sci-fi.....

    As a fan of sci-fi television I found this novella to be just as entertaining as any episode of my favorite shows. There were great action scenes with an intriguing view of a future world with all the corresponding technology. I found myself quickly drawn in to the society Ms. Schroeder created and hated the story to end. The characters in this story came from varied backgrounds but all experienced hardships along the way. It's created a bond between them, one you can sense the moment they all come together. The characters are strong, both mentally and physically, and I found myself invested in their outcomes. They're likable people trying to make do the best they can while retaining their code of ethics. Lou Campbell is the epitome of a sci-fi heroine, capable of kicking butt with a bit of baggage that gives her a tough exterior. Because of past experiences she doesn't trust men. She's frightened by her intense attraction to fugitive Sam Dawson, the man whose bounty will get her back home, but can't stop herself from wanting him. Their interactions are fun and sexy with both of them radiating confidence. Sam and Jared Flores have a history, one you don't know about until the latter half of the story. The connection between them is immediately present upon their reunion though. As much as they're still attracted to each other they're equally attracted to Lou and seeing them vie for her attention is both humorous and sexy. They're both manly and offer Lou protection as well as strength and I found them to be the perfect match for her. Once they all came together their sexual interludes were intense and nicely spaced throughout the story. Very little time was spent on the actual mystery. This aspect of the story was the weakest part and could be seen merely as a device to bring the lovers together. It's a shame since I was intrigued by the small snippets of political intrigue presented. This was a short story long on entertainment. The romantic aspects were perfectly balanced amongst the high octane action and I found myself ripping through the pages on my way to a very satisfying conclusion. This is my first time reading a sci-fi based story by Ms. Schroeder but it definitely won't be the last.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly entertaining!

    My Review:

    This is really a fabulous little story. There is romance, adventure, suspense, mystery, and some seriously hot passion. Lou is tough. She has been on her own for the last 10 years (since she was 15 yo), working for Jared as a bounty hunter and she is darn good at it. This is her final capture and it has a huge reward, even if the details are a bit sketchy. It soon becomes clear that everything is not as it seems with this final capture and it's a race to figure out exactly what is going on.
    Jared has been Lou's boss for 10 years and he has been in love with her pretty much that whole time, but he's never felt that she was ready for a relationship with any man after the trauma of what happened to her at 15. Nevertheless, she is his best bounty hunter so he knew that she was the one for this job, but when he started digging deeper into the job, he realized that something was off when he discovers his former lover, Sam, was the mark.

    Sam is undercover on an assignment which doesn't seem to be going right. His contact doesn't show up, but when Lou does show up looking incredibly sexy and interested, he decides to take her up on her offer and ends up handcuffed as her prisoner. That doesn't change the fact that he still wants her and for the first time ever (besides her long-term crush on Jared), Lou finds herself wanting a man.

    The story in this book is REALLY good. There is lots of history between all three of the characters and it was an interesting twist that Sam & Lou (the two without a history) are the first in the trio to hook up. I liked that little detail and felt like it gave a lot of credence to the three as a menage long-term relationship.

    The book has an amazing build-up and world-building behind it, but I wanted it to go so much deeper. All the facts/details were there for this to truly be a phenomenal story, but I feel like it only scratched the surface of what was happening. It could have been so much more as a longer novel. It didn't need any more story than was there. I just wanted it to delve deeper into the details that already existed because it was truly a phenomenal story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly recommend! If you like some Adventure with your Romance this is it.

    This is a romance/adventure story. Lou Campbell is bounty hunter going to make her last collar so she she can go back home to earth. This way she will have enough credits to get back, it's been a long 10 yrs.Now doesn't that make want to read thier story. Did I mention that there is heat between them from the moment they set eyes on each other. But Lou is not having that she has a job to do, even if Sam had "her hormones bouncing to attention".
    This is a great story with lots of heat and adventure. The bedroom scenes get ready with a ice cold drink.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2011

    Hot and steamy menage tale!

    The author provided an advance copy for review and I was thrilled as I have read almost all of her works.

    Lou Campbell is on her last assginment before she has enough credits to return to Earth and resume her life there. All she has to do is capture Sam Dawson dead or alive and turn him in. Unfortunately Lou doesn't count on her overwhelming response to Sam. Jared comes home to the safe house that Sam and Lou are hiding in and find them together. His ex-lover and the woman he's been lusting after there in the same place.

    The sparks start shooting off Lou and Sam immediately, only heightened when Jared enters the picture. The sex is hot and steamy, the action is nicely written and the mystery is not totally obvious at the beginning of this hot little novella.

    Melissa Schroeder has provided us with another spellbinding love story with just the right amounts of action and mystery. The menage story line works beautifully and the characters just leap off the page. All together a great read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The Last Detail by Melissa Schroeder

    I was invited to review The Last Detail by Melissa Schroeder and jumped at the chance as I've enjoyed Ms. Schroeder's A Little Harmless. series.
    Action, adventure, mystery and a lot of HOT sex. I really enjoyed this story. Ms. Schroeder creates characters you can like and relate to. The sex isn't forced or out of place and boy is it steamy.
    Bounty hunter Lou Campbell captures Sam Dawson. Situations quickly arise to give her misgivings about his guilt. When he saves her life they act on the intense attraction they feel to each other. Enter Jarad Flores, Lou's boss who has an unrequited love for Lou and Sam's former love and sparks fly. Recommended read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    If you like it hot, fast and steamy as you read your short story

    If you like it hot, fast and steamy as you read your short story then The Last Detail is for you. Melissa Schroeder introduces us to a strong heroine in Louella (Lou). I have always liked my female characters strong and in charge and Lou is just such a woman.
    Lou is a bounty hunter looking for her latest and most dangerous bounty, Sam Dawson. Lou is forever driven to succeed in a highly male dominated arena. Lou is on the the planet Arcadia. Sent to the no holds barred planet by her boss Jared, Lou is determined to get her latest bounty and head for the safety of earth.
    As Lou finds her bounty, Sam Dawson she is somewhat shocked that she is instantly attracted to him. Knowing that sex and fugitives don’t mix Lou puts her lust on lock down while she attempts to lure Sam into a trap. Sam having felt the same tug of lust and libido when he spots Lou, knows that she is trouble but he wants to see just how far he can get with her.
    Sam follows Lou and is shocked to find out she is a bounty hunter after him. Things however, quickly turn against both Lou and Sam and they are forced to run and hide for their lives. Finding the haven of a safe house, Lou and Sam decided to explore their mutual attraction for each other in bed. 
    Hearing that his best agent is in trouble Jared heads to Arcadia to help out. Jared has loved Lou for sometime but has never shared his feelings. Jared, soon discovers that Lou is at his safe house. Jared is soon startled when he opens the door to his house and sees his former lover, Sam in his kitchen. 
    Once Jared discovers that Sam and Lou have been intimate he must confess his own feelings for Lou and his past relationship with Sam. 
    Lou, Sam and Jared explore their attraction for each other. Can this newly formed menege e’trois last? 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2011

    Extremely Hot read!!!

    I think Melissa Schroeder did a fabulous job with this one. She has created a action packed adventure with great characters and an intriguing plot. Both heros are very alpha yet gentle, one is very stubborn but that is taken care of. Lou is one kick ass chick with a very emotional past. The chemistry is hot and the sex is hotter. I would recommend reading this one with a glass of ice water!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1