×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Last Five Years [Original Off-Broadway Cast]
     

The Last Five Years [Original Off-Broadway Cast]

4.8 7
 
Jason Robert Brown's one-act song cycle The Last 5 Years -- which earned an off-Broadway production that opened at the Minetta Lane Theatre in New York's Greenwich Village on March 3, 2002 -- is a two-character pocket musical about the relationship between a successful young writer and an aspiring actress. Brown adopts a particularly complex structure to tell

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Last Five Years [Original Off-Broadway Cast] 4.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 7 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I was lucky enough to see the show at the Minetta Lane Theatre in New York, from the first scene i fell in love. After the show i met Jason Robert Brown as well as Sherie Rene Scott and Norbert Leo Butz. They are amazeing people with talent that is undefined. As a performer myself i hold each of them in high regards after seeing this show. The music is inspiring and so real to life. It is a must have soundtrack.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I absolutely love this album, and I've never even seen the show. The story is obvious and is wholly contained within the lyrics. The structure of the song cycle adds to the elegance of its presentation, and further enhances the glaring differences between the 2 characters. In my opinion, the fact she sings from the end of the relationship to the beginning and he sings from the beginning to the end of the relationship really emphasizes that chasm that is ultimately present in the relationship. The songs are well orchestrated and executed, and I have never wanted to learn to play the cello more! The music itself is well-paired with the message that each song conveys via its lyrics, and the music itself is a masterpiece of modern singable music. This is a staple in the musical theater genre on my iPod, and I really like JRB's work. Looking forward to more work from him!
Guest More than 1 year ago
An absolutely beautiful and rivoting score. If you're a fan of musicals, you should definitely own this cd. Even if you're not a fan of the traditional musical, you should take a gander. It's about real life which makes it even more appealing! Everyone can relate to the story in some way, form or fashion...
Guest More than 1 year ago
I first heard "The Last 5 Years" at a friend's house a few months ago and I immediately fell in love with it. I hopped in my car and drove to B&N and picked it up right away. I must say, it's positively fantastic. With amazing vocals and catchy lyrics, "The Last 5 Years" is a must have for any musical theatre lovers' collection.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago