Customer Reviews for

The Last Friends of Willie Coyote: The Movie

Average Rating 4
( 9 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2012

    This screenplay reads about as easy as a book. It is a heartwarm

    This screenplay reads about as easy as a book. It is a heartwarming tale of Wile E. Coyote and the Roadrunner and their story as it might happen in the real world. It is funny, sad, inspirational and well worth the read. The charactors are fun to follow and the story was so captivating I was unable to put it down until I was finished. If you were ever a fan of these classic charactors this is a must-read and to imagine the screenplay being made into an actual live-action, non-cartoon movie version.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2012

    I had reserves about purchasing a screenplay but I have to say o

    I had reserves about purchasing a screenplay but I have to say once I I got the hang of reading the play (b.g. = back ground) it was an immensely enjoyable read!  

    As a child I always wondered just where the Coyote got his money to buy all the ACME products he used and now I know!
    I also wondered just how he could get hurt and bounce right back and now I know!  
    This screenplay about the Coyote and Roadrunner had it all, smiles, laughs, memories of fond Saturday mornings as a child and yes, even a leaky eye...or 2.  With the cliffhanger at the end I'm assuming there will be a sequel.  Please tell me I'm right as I have fallen in love with the characters and would love to read more about them.  The Last Friends of Willie Coyote is a well written screenplay that I recommend wholeheartedly.
     

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    Who is the coyote, where does he come from, and why is he foreve

    Who is the coyote, where does he come from, and why is he forever chasing the roadrunner? This is a real breath of fresh air, bringing a new twist to cartoon characters I've loved since I was a kid. It adds a whole new concept to both the coyote and the roadrunner, and overlays it with a story that's both exciting and funny. It incorporates all the best-known elements from the cartoons, and then takes them to a whole new level. Simultaneously, it does a great job of being self-consciously ironic, as this little exchange demonstrates perfectly:

    MIKE
    Did you see that?!  That was Willie Coyote and the Roadrunner!  That was the funniest thing I have ever seen!
    VAUGHN
    I will never believe this happened.  It's impossible.  Since when do cartoon figures become real?
    ELLA
    Since because we're in a movie!  These sort of things don't happen in real life.

    Reading screenplays, of course, takes a little more effort than reading prose. Descriptions are a lot more terse, and the focus is much more on the dialog, so you have to work a bit to get as much from it. This is one of the easier ones - the story comes across effortlessly, and the characters are distinctive and lively. The main problem I had with this is that I couldn't decide how to imagine it in my head. when you're reading a screenplay, it's important to have a good visual image of what the writer is trying to convey. Films that mix live action and cartoon characters are nothing new, but these days there are many different ways of doing it. I wasn't sure whether I should see them as old-style 2D characters, like you get in Roger Rabbit or Mary Poppins, or more modern 3D characters like in the Scooby Doo movies. Either could work, but I couldn't fix on one or the other throughout, which occasionally left me wondering what I was supposed to be seeing. 

    However, that aside, this is a great, original, and highly entertaining story. There are plans to make a movie of it for release in 2016 (though with a different title), and I'll definitely be looking out for it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    Eh

    I first bought this because i thought it was going to be like a book instead i find out this is like a play by play movie script which i found hard to read and put it down after the first few pages it was teriable

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2013

    Like many others, Willie Coyote and Roadrunner were staples of m

    Like many others, Willie Coyote and Roadrunner were staples of my childhood. There was just something about the elusive chase that Willie could never hope to win that I loved. I haven’t decided if it taught me never to give up or if I was just rooting for Roadrunner, but either way I spent many an hour captivated by the images on my TV screen. I loved seeing what shenanigans Willie would come up with and even more so his inevitable downfall.

    Really, what’s not to love about Willie and Roadrunner?

    I hadn’t given much thought to how Willie and Roadrunner came about, so it was great to see someone’s on their origins. I thought the explanation was interesting and plausible within the context of the storyline. The guardians were a nice touch, as well, although I would have liked to have seen more explanation as to why the young were sent to the moon – or rather, why the moon was chosen as their destination and not somewhere else on earth. I may have missed the reason, though, and will look for it on a second read-through.

    The journey storyline with the three main characters was well thought out, and I liked that they discovered what they had set out to find in the end. I could wholly relate to Ella in the sense that she’s adventurous, sarcastic, and is the one most likely to push the red button just to see what happens. The interaction between all three (Ella, Mike, and Vaughn) was a lot of fun to read!

    I loved, loved, loved that a villain who could collectively be fought by the original warring parties was brought into the mix. And that Stephen Thor stayed true to the Willie/Roadrunner storyline in that the villain could never win paralleled nicely. I would have liked to have seen more interaction between Willie and the Villain, but given the confines of a script I can understand why that was as minimal as it was.

    The storyline, overall, I thought was inventive and Thor did a great job revisiting Willie’s antics and Roadrunner’s last minute escapes. I could certainly see this as a viable alternative to some of the film remakes we’ve been subjected to over the past couple of years.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2013

    This is the first screenplay that I have read and I really enjoy

    This is the first screenplay that I have read and I really enjoyed it.  The story line was very creative and entertaining.  I think it is more difficult to explore the depth of characters in a screenplay, but the author did a great job of revealing the characters’ stories throughout the screenplay.  I grew up watching this cartoon which made this book even more interesting to me.  The author’s take on explaining why the coyote chased the road runner and how he went about funding and finding materials for his inventions was very entertaining.  The addition of humans who knew about and followed the antics of Willie added depth to the story.  The sacrifices by the humans toward the end to protect Willie and the road runner were a great way to humanize the story and explore the ties of family and friends.  This is a fun and entertaining read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2013

    This was a well written and clever read. The fun cover art reall

    This was a well written and clever read. The fun cover art really caught my eye. You'll be glad you gave it a read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2012

    I purchased this screenplay on recommendation from a friend. I w

    I purchased this screenplay on recommendation from a friend. I wasn't sure if I would like it at first, but I had so many questions growing up watching Wyle E. Coyote and the Roadrunner I decided I could give it a shot. It was surprisingly easy to read and highly inventive. The creativity and genius of this author is on a par with 'ol Wyle E. himself! You owe it to yourself to read
    this so you too will finally know how Wyle E. became a genius, why he doesn't give up his pursuit of the Roadrunner and how he can manage to survive each ill-fated attempt at capture. I would love to see this picked up as an actual movie!


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1