Customer Reviews for

The Last Girls

Average Rating 3.5
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic!

This was the first book by Lee Smith I have read and I loved it! I went to a women's college in Virginia and it reminded me so much of all my friends and made me 'home sick' for those days. Treat yourself to this book- you will not be disappointed.

posted by Anonymous on April 20, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

What???????

I just finished this book for a book club.Had to force myself to get through this book. Did not keep my attention. Found myself skimming through many parts of it. No one in my book club liked it. Did not like the characters. They didn't seem to like eachother or themsel...
I just finished this book for a book club.Had to force myself to get through this book. Did not keep my attention. Found myself skimming through many parts of it. No one in my book club liked it. Did not like the characters. They didn't seem to like eachother or themselves. I'm trying to figure out where some readers cried while reading the book. This book lacked flow, character, substance, etc.

posted by Anonymous on July 27, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2005

    Fantastic!

    This was the first book by Lee Smith I have read and I loved it! I went to a women's college in Virginia and it reminded me so much of all my friends and made me 'home sick' for those days. Treat yourself to this book- you will not be disappointed.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2004

    What???????

    I just finished this book for a book club.Had to force myself to get through this book. Did not keep my attention. Found myself skimming through many parts of it. No one in my book club liked it. Did not like the characters. They didn't seem to like eachother or themselves. I'm trying to figure out where some readers cried while reading the book. This book lacked flow, character, substance, etc.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2003

    good book

    A pretty good book, though it was sometimes a little strange. I would recommend it to young women or mature readers. It's very funny at times and made me laugh out loud, but it also made me cry.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2008

    SNORING!!

    The author reads this and I should have stopped the disc as soon as I heard the narrator's very thick southern accent b/c this may have something to do with my not enjoying this book. There are too many characters for this author to handle. Just plain boring, confusing and depressing.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2009

    Memories!

    I also went to college in Virginia, close to the time this was written, so I found the characters extremely "familiar". It brought back memories, good and not-so-good, and I thought the story was extremely interesting.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2007

    Ending fizzled

    I initially got really into this book. Loved the characters immediately. About halfway through, the book started to limp. The ending was just a fizzle. I also thought the book 'wandered' as the author wrote pages upon pages about the river and it's history. If I had wanted to know that much about it, I would have read a history book. It's as if the author was trying to bulk up the book or prove how in-depth the research had been.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2005

    not good

    I did not hate it, but I was definitely less than in love with it. I bought it on the way to the beach last year because I had left my Harry Potter book at home; should have left well enough alone. The plot is disjointed and forced. When I got to the end, I wasn't really sure what had happened or where the story went wrong.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2004

    Beautiful

    I loved that the book was filled with such emotion and depth. I cried for Baby, and Jefferson; I cried for Harriet. It was one of the best books I've read this summer- I don't understand how any of the other reviewers could say otherwise.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2003

    Bestseller?

    I'm about 3/4 of the way through this book and am asking myself, 'what is this book about exactly?' I do not agree with another reviewer who said it was vulgar. If you want vulgar, read Our Lady of the Forest. However, both books are disappointing and I am at a loss as to why they are bestsellers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2003

    Just Terrific!

    I recieved this book for Christmas this year, and finished it in about 3 days. I thought that it was a pretty accurate description of southern life, college days, etc. The ending did leave me hanging a little, but I like that- it gives the reader an opportunity to formulate their own opinions. All in all, I would defintely recommend this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2003

    Helps a Northern Girl Understand Southern Women

    Or does it really? Southern women in your 50's is this how it really was/is? After thirty years of living in the south I still have a hard time believing women really grew up so silently, or should I say so alone? These characters feel so alone, so unconnected -- how sad? Why doesn't anyone say what they are really thinking? Interesting--but, I was expecting more depth.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2002

    Fantastic Read

    What a great novel from one of the country's best southern writers! This tale of friends coming to terms with the past and finding their way through middle age left me in tears and laughter. Lee Smith does not disappoint us with this long awaited new novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2013

    Loved it!

    Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2013

    I was intrigued by the premise and totally let down by the execu

    I was intrigued by the premise and totally let down by the execution. I neither cared about nor identified with any of the women. I would hope that my reunions with college friends are never this dull and unimportant.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    Ecbe grgsv

    D zrgdt vw

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    Good

    A different view of being friends and life

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2004

    Masterful

    I expected greatness from Lee Smith when I picked up this novel, and I was not disappointed. Her characters are real women with real lives - including a past replete with memories. Smith does a wonderful job of demonstrating a different coming-of-age than we usually hear about. Maturing from childhood to adulthood is not the only door we must step through in life. Smith lets us walk with these women as they move from one phase of their lives to a new one. I have read almost everything Smith has written, and I believe that this was one of her best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2003

    A BOOK I CAN RELATE TO..

    A few years ago, I had the pleasure of hearing Lee Smith, a well-known NC writer, speak at a literary symposium.She was fascinating! I have recently read The Last Girls which has five female characters whom I do not think I will ever forget. Even though my college girl friends and I did not take a trip like Huck and Jim did down the dark, murky Mississippi River, we did take some incredible trips. Therefore, as a former 'girl' ,I can truly relate to Babe, Harriet, Catherine, Anna,and Courtney. Didn't Smith do a great job when she described these females' looks, personalities, etc.? Her unique characteristics are so very realistic.As Four of these college classmates take another trek down the Mississippi 35 years later, we see how their lives have changed through maturation and cicumstances. This time ,they do go on a cruise ship rather than a raft.After all, they have left that 'girl Stage' behind them. Lee's poetry about Folk Lore, Bourbon Street, etc. is sharp and metaphoric. I would like to see her include more vivid poetic verses in her writing. Her creative spirit astounds this reader. The Last Girls is a perfect book to peruse as you reminisce about those carefree college days.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2003

    disappointed

    I was happy to see this book at my local library after having heard about it on Good Morning America. However, it didn't take me long to realize it was a big disappointment. It was vulgar.(Try to read ten pages without an 'F' word.)It was also depressing. Which makes sense, because most of the characters are constantly making bad decisions. I'm glad I didn't buy this book. It would have ended up in the trash.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2003

    Cliche`

    If you are sick to death of 'poor little rich girl' stories, pass this one up. It has been written a hundred times before. The most interesting part of the book was the poetry. If she hasn't already, I hope Ms. Smith writes a book of poetry. That could be worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2