Customer Reviews for

The Last Great Game: Duke vs. Kentucky and the 2.1 Seconds That Changed Basketball

Average Rating 4.5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

One of the best sports books that I have read in years. Even tho

One of the best sports books that I have read in years. Even though I knew most of the story, it was a great re-visit and well woven together......an outstanding read!

posted by RMAHOOPS on March 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Duke

DUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUIUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUU...
DUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUIUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuauuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuKE

posted by Donnerlakelady on January 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    Loved it. But then again, I'm a Dukie

    Growing up up in Kansas, I wanted desperately to go to Duke. I got in, but when the scholarship and financial aid package came through, it just wasn't going to be enough. I would have been a freshman with Grant and Thomas Hill, and since I played trombone and tuba in the band ( as I did 4 years later when I went there for law school), likely would have been at that game and the Final Four. Instead I watched it on tv from my dorm at SMU. But had I been there in person, I would have an incredible sports memory, but would not have my wonderful husband, family, friends, and my own college memories from here in Dallas. So I am happy to experience The Game watching replays every March and reading this engaging book.

    So of course I loved the behind the scenes detail. But I also enjoyed the Kentucky story. I don't really remember them being so down and out, and how likeable that team really was. If their heart can take it, I would recommend this to a Kentucky fan too, and anyone else who loves college basketball.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    Basketball

    I am a HUGE kentucky fan! Even though we didn't win that game we did win the 2012 National Championship! OH YEAH! Big blue nation! l:D

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2012

    One of the best sports books that I have read in years. Even tho

    One of the best sports books that I have read in years. Even though I knew most of the story, it was
    a great re-visit and well woven together......an outstanding read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    College hoops fans will enjoy this one.

    An entertaining story of the two coaches and teams that played in the memorable NCAA Eastern finals game in 1992 in the Philly Palestra. Particularly intriguing is the story of the rebirth of University of Kentucky basketball under Rick Pitino after scandals had kept them out of post-season play for a couple of years. I went to college in Kentucky and I know Kentucky state pride revolves around UK hoops.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    Cccccccccooooooooollllllllllllllllll

    Best bbbbbboooookkkk eeevvveeerrr

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    Awsome book!

    I love this book I am a Duke fan all the way. Even if you don't like Duke or Kentucky, this is a great book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2012

    Highly Recommend for basketball fans.....

    Ok, I'm a die-hard Duke fan, my husband was one of the original blue faced Cameron Crazies from 1982...but I have to say whether you hate or love Duke basketball this is an outstanding sports book about a once in a lifetime game. Duke was the perfect storm in 1992. They shut up the ever mouthy Kentucky obsessive fans and then simply outclassed the Michigan five (no way I'll call them fabulous). Wojciechowski writes with as much respect and passion for both KY and Duke programs. Players come alive and you can feel the excitement of each moment of the season and this game. It was a time that no longer exists in college basketball....now they play one then gone... The beauty of college basketball has certainly changed and not for the better. But Duke fans will always have those two back to back championship seasons and now have this book. Thanks for the memories of this wonderful game Mr. Wojciechowski!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    Very good stories about two great teams

    This book descrbes much more than just the 1992 regional finals game between two schools with storied basketball history. The reader will be introduced and learn abouth the personalities of key players on each team. Not only do you learn about Jamaal Mashburn's journey to escape the projects but also about Grant Hill's persoanl demons despite his more comfortable childhood. The Untouchables for Kentucky is also a great story as those players helped to bring Kentucky basketball back from purgatory.

    My only criticism of the book is that it glosses over much of the regulation portion of the game itself. Yes we all remember Wood's bank shot and then the legendary pass by Grant Hill and Laetner's shot...but there was much more that made it one of the greatest sports events of our time. The in-depth stories of the playersand coaches more than make up for that proble, however and I would recommend this book for any college basketball fan.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    Great Book

    Terrific book. Love the backstories about all the players. Duke is one of my favorite basketball teams and is tied with Johns Hopkins for my 2nd favorite lacrosse team. Inspiring story about Grant Hill. Only bad thing is there is an abnormal amount of swearing in this book. 13 years of age and up. Overall though I give it 5 stars.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2012

    Great read if you love hoops and grew up in the 80's and 90's!

    Loved the back stories to all the people involved with the 1992 game. I can still remember where I was when I watched that game, and the book was a great way to relive some of the past. Was a fast read and it did a great job of going back and forth between Kentucky and Duke and how they both got their teams to Philadelphia in March of 1992. Highly recommend this book to basketball lovers everywhere.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    You will love this one!

    Perfect for any college bb fan. I was a kid when the game went down and have always wanted to learn more about the inside of the programs and that game. This book quenched that thirst Big Time! An all time favorite for sure.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    Great book

    I enjoyed this book very much. The author did a great job of looking back at this unforelgetable game, the people involved, and the events that preceded and followed the game. It brought back a lot of memories while adding new information. I couldn't put it done.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    Christian lattnear andd grant hill

    Great book doe hard duke fan austin rivers now christi lattnear before duke all the way

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    My dad love basketball and he loves this bbooookkkk yeey

    Cool

    1 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2015

    Duke is stupid

    Duke need help they hav problems go kentuck all u retards who like duke need mental help

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2014

    Go Duke

    *In game play announcing* "Kentucky should force hill to the left side to get less better shooting range. There's the pass to laettner puts it up. YEAH OH MY GOD!"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2013

    Solidly researched. Well-written with personal but not overtly

    Solidly researched. Well-written with personal but not overtly biased style; the best part of this book is how compelling of a read it is despite the fact that the outcome is so well known. Worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2