Customer Reviews for

The Last Kind Words

Average Rating 4
( 41 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great read. Hard to put down...

Leaves you wanting more... interesting, quirky, fully developed characters...very witty dialogue. Looking forward to the second book about this unusual family.

posted by 6867782 on August 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

This book easily made my top 10 WORST book list. A less than co

This book easily made my top 10 WORST book list. A less than compelling story, the writing is full of cliches, Piccirilli clumsy attempts to explore the phyches' of his characters is at times so painful that I had to stop to laugh. Peripheral characters add nothing t...
This book easily made my top 10 WORST book list. A less than compelling story, the writing is full of cliches, Piccirilli clumsy attempts to explore the phyches' of his characters is at times so painful that I had to stop to laugh. Peripheral characters add nothing to the story. Elmore Leonard, he ain't.

posted by 6285604 on June 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2012

    Great read. Hard to put down...

    Leaves you wanting more... interesting, quirky, fully developed characters...very witty dialogue. Looking forward to the second book about this unusual family.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2013

    ************* THIS BOOK WAS JUST INCREDIBLE ************* This


    ************* THIS BOOK WAS JUST INCREDIBLE *************

    This book was not what i expected at all !!!!!!!!!!!!!! It was a capitvating story that held my complete attention until the very end with characters that are all too real, who draw you into their lives through lines that are so well written. It truely astounds the reader with all the complex make-up of each and every character and conveys an understanding of what's it's like in the world of criminals. I didn't want the book to end, and have pre-ordered the sequel, "The Last Whisper In The Dark". DO YOURSELF A HUGE FAVOR, GET THIS BOOK, PLEASE. This would make an incredible movie. oh my gosh, if i had the money, i would make it myself.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This book would make a fantastic movie! Don't let the title f

    This book would make a fantastic movie! Don't let the title fool you
    as it did me into thinking it would be somewhat of a light romp....
    This "canine second story" thieving family is really, really
    messed up A story of a family of grifters entwined in petty crime
    until their eldest son commits murder and the devastating effects on all
    who love him. The oldest son Collie is in prison waiting on the
    needle for going mad dog and savagely murdering seven people... or was
    it six and if so who is out there murdering all the other people? The
    youngest son Terrier who comes home after running away from the sins of
    the older brother he both loves and hates to say goodbye and to try to
    put his life back together & maybe win back the girl he loved but
    left behind... The teenage daughter Airedale on the edge of not
    knowing if she will follow the men into the grift or start a new and
    different kind of life Their father Pinscher, who grieves the breakdown
    of his family and turns to his youngest son for understanding. A
    mother caught up in the fierce love for the men in her family and the
    devastating legacy they have left in their wake. This is a really good
    psychological thriller that leaves you guessing right up to the end.
    A terrific read! I am anxiously awaiting the next of Tom's books.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2013

    Good read

    Some bad language. It left me sad and wanting to continue reading more.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    A superb read. Tom Piccirilli has managed to fuse the thriller-

    A superb read. Tom Piccirilli has managed to fuse the thriller-crime fiction conventions with a literary style full of depth and emotional context. A gripping read with thoughtful, rich, complex characterizations and motifs.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2014

    I love books by Tom Piccirilli. I couldn't put this book down. T

    I love books by Tom Piccirilli. I couldn't put this book down. This series is so good!! I hope he writes a third installment!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2013

    Very highly recommended

    See, here’s the thing. You ever read a book that you thoroughly enjoyed ‘cause maybe it was real easy reading, just kinda flowed, and it held your attention right from page one? Yeah, you know what I’m talkin’ about. Then you go on and read somebody else’s book, and then somebody else’s book after that. And then you come to the next book on your to-be-read list, start reading, smile to yourself and think, ‘Gee, I never realized how much I really missed reading this guy’s stories.’ Well, that’s exactly how it is with Pic. You never realize how much you’ve missed reading his stories until you start the next one. Great stories. Easy reading. It don’t get much better than that.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    easy read

    starts off strong - ends weak

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2013

    This book easily made my top 10 WORST book list. A less than co

    This book easily made my top 10 WORST book list. A less than compelling story, the writing is full of cliches, Piccirilli clumsy attempts to explore the phyches' of his characters is at times so painful that I had to stop to laugh. Peripheral characters add nothing to the story. Elmore Leonard, he ain't.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2014

    good book

    looking forward to reading more from this author

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This is one of those books that really captivated me when I firs

    This is one of those books that really captivated me when I first saw it.  The premise was intriguing and spurred me into reading it.  It is the story of two brothers, a dysfunctional family, an unexplained murder of seven people, one brother seeking a means of getting out of the family business of burglary, petty theft and grifting and one just days from his execution.    There is plenty in this story to build on and a great deal of possibility.  Unfortunately, it just didn’t live up to the expectation.   There were some things that Picarilli got right — and then there was the rest of the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2014

    Slow and boring

    Could not finish

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2014

    Truely amazing

    I like how the main character things about things but thn later on he goes with is gut feeling and i think that is what pulled me in this book and makes me want to read it again

    , Will Davis Mexico Missouri

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2013

    Really enjiyed this story

    I really enjoyed this book and agree very much with Lee Child's review of it ... which is quite honestly why I got it and read it. I can also easily see this being made into a movie and even know who I think should be cast as Terry. I will be reading the second book. I thought he did an excelent job in the characterizations of the family members and am interested in discovering what happens to them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2013

    Tom has created a great cast of characters with Terry Rand toppi

    Tom has created a great cast of characters with Terry Rand topping the list as a most likable anti-hero. The reader gets into the characters head as he moves along his defined life. Tom Piccirilli has become my go-to author for suspense. Bring on the sequel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    paris13nb

    Loved it! found a new favorite author.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    This is the first book by this author that I have read and would

    This is the first book by this author that I have read and wouldn't read another one. The credibility of the character was so far out it was more like science fiction. He was getting beat up, stabbed, killing people and still it was ok. Really

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2013

    Runyonesque without the corn

    Funny, fast, worthwhile.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    Very engaging and original

    Though parts of the story were predictable it has been a while since I cared as much about a group of characters. I am looking forward to reading the sequel.

    I can't eait to read more about his family especially his mother who must have quite a story of her own

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2013

    Great storyline, compelling and interesting characters. Can't wa

    Great storyline, compelling and interesting characters. Can't wait to read more by this author!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3