Customer Reviews for

The Last Lion: Winston Spencer Churchill, Volume 3: Defender of the Realm, 1940-1965

Average Rating 4
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Sure to be an excellent book

I have pre-ordered this book; I have only read one chapter (previously published) but I did read the first two volumes of Manchester's work. I await reading this volume which deals with 1940 on with relish. Sure to be a classic.

posted by AuldMunro on May 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

I think this book is very good, but certainly not up to the stan

I think this book is very good, but certainly not up to the standards of the first two volumes. The difference between the writing and perspective of a skilled author of popular history such as William Manchester and a newspaper writer like Paul Reid is obvious. Unlike ...
I think this book is very good, but certainly not up to the standards of the first two volumes. The difference between the writing and perspective of a skilled author of popular history such as William Manchester and a newspaper writer like Paul Reid is obvious. Unlike the other two volumes in the trilogy, where Churchill's perspective is always central to the story, too often in this volume Churchill is simply an accessory to the story - a bystander to the events of WWII. This makes much less compelling reading, especially if what you are interested in is Winston Churchill! Not a terrible end to the series, but oh, what this could have been with a more skilled author at the helm.

posted by 3198039 on November 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted May 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Sure to be an excellent book

    I have pre-ordered this book; I have only read one chapter (previously published) but I did read the first two volumes of Manchester's work. I await reading this volume which deals with 1940 on with relish. Sure to be a classic.

    15 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2012

    Superb-- I'm about 200 pages from the end right now, and this ha

    Superb-- I'm about 200 pages from the end right now, and this has simply been one of the finest biographies I've ever read and certainly the best volume of the trilogy. I'm an avid reader of history and this surely ranks among the best-written and most substantive books I've read on any subject.

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2012

    I think this book is very good, but certainly not up to the stan

    I think this book is very good, but certainly not up to the standards of the first two volumes. The difference between the writing and perspective of a skilled author of popular history such as William Manchester and a newspaper writer like Paul Reid is obvious. Unlike the other two volumes in the trilogy, where Churchill's perspective is always central to the story, too often in this volume Churchill is simply an accessory to the story - a bystander to the events of WWII. This makes much less compelling reading, especially if what you are interested in is Winston Churchill! Not a terrible end to the series, but oh, what this could have been with a more skilled author at the helm.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Most people who read and enjoyed the first two volumes of the tr

    Most people who read and enjoyed the first two volumes of the trilogy will be compelled to finish the story by reading this book. It is well written and enjoyable but should have been shortened down by good editing. The story of the war years goes on and on but the post war years and Churchill's role in the Cold War are shortchanged.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2013

    I've never been a fan of Churchill, but having seen Paul Reid on

    I've never been a fan of Churchill, but having seen Paul Reid on Cspan and having just comleted Alan Bullock's Hitler and Stalin, Parallel Lives, I decided to give this bio a shot. So far, I'm loving it. It's less about Churchill's private life (although we get enough of that) and more about the war which is exactly what I wanted, the interactions between Churchill and the other major players. True, it could use a bit of editing (it rehashes the same points too often), but it's a worthwhile addition to WWII history. I'm only 250 pages into it (800 to go), but I fully expect to get through it soon. Am especially looking forwrd to parts about Churchill's relationship to DeGaulle. Since I'm also curently reading a bio of Mussolini, I'm looking to compare notes there as well.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    One of the finest biographies I've ever read. Reid is deservin

    One of the finest biographies I've ever read. Reid is deserving of our deepest gratitude for having the courage to complete Manchester's trilogy and doing it with scholarship and style.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Best of the three

    It took 24-years for the third and final volume of William Manchester's masterful biography of Winston Churchill to appear in print. THE LAST LION: DEFENDER OF THE REALM was worth the wait. Churchill, the greatest statesman in the history of the English-speaking world and possibly all of human history, is here in all of his brilliant, quirky glory. Funny how small our current leaders seem when compared with the truly great leaders of our collective past. What a wonderful retelling of the story of the leader who saved the modern world.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Highly recommended

    I am really enjoying this book. Excellent account of the man and time.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Don't buy .

    Bought as a gift. He has the other Manchester/Churchill books.This has been returned.Too many factual errors.So many things he knew were wrong are in the book continuing to read it was impossible.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    Incredible research went into this massive work.We are all living with the results of events now, that were influenced then.
    One of the best bio's ever writen.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2012

    Very well done, tells of Churchill the leader as seen by others,

    Very well done, tells of Churchill the leader as seen by others, and not as he was perceived by the author. Well written and documented.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2012

    Nearing 800 pages¿as one might imagine a 1,100 plus pages can¿t

    Nearing 800 pages…as one might imagine a 1,100 plus pages can’t possibly be without boredom though remarkable little so far…it’s been a great read on the English perspective of FDR, most of the rest I’ve read in other Church books. (If the sold this book by weight it be unaffordable)
    The biggest difference is the details behind the scenes…that, of course, is the objective.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2012

    THe book was good, but it would have benefited from some editing

    THe book was good, but it would have benefited from some editing. Too much time is spent discussing aspects of World War II that Churchill was not involved with. I also noticed some factual erroes-e.g. Russell Long was a senator from Louisiana, not Georgia. However, many parts of the book are worthwile.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2012

    Someone help me out here. I've been eagerly anticipating this bo

    Someone help me out here. I've been eagerly anticipating this book since way before November 6th, when it was supposed to be out. I have an icon in my library that indicates that it is on preorder. I'm still waiting for it. Is there something that I am missing here? If it's not coming out on the day indicated, should we not be properly notified as to a change in its availability?

    1 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2014

    Great History Great biography

    Skip prologue and go straight to first chapter "cyclone": After that its hard to put down. Particularly good as a history of the early disasters of WWll. Winning a war is never inevitable it only seems so afterwards. Churchill was the indespensible man. He brought out the best in the British character. He did make mistakes sometimes costly ones and the author does a good job in not romanticising the great man too much! Maybe not as well written as Manchester's but I think better history!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2014

    Falconclaw's Bio

    Name: Falconclaw. <p>

    Gender: &male <p>

    Look: Huge white tom. <p>

    Rank: Med Cat <p>

    History: Was re-born. Former BloodClanner. Barely escaped BloodClan with his life. He came to the ACEP seeking refuge amdd safety.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2014

    Blazeheart not reporting for duty

    I say this with my last words... they are comming. Prepare. Train. Fight. Bloodclan, they have a new leader. They fight like badgers.. run like rabbits...and they are as wise as firestar. They got me good... and i already see starclan. Good bye, and fight the good fight

    ~Blazeheart

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    URGENT BLOODCLAN SPY REPORTING FOR YOU

    Talk of attacks. Cats are lookg for clans to attack and Metalclaw is locked out too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    Match

    Name: Match Stormcloak.<br>Aliases: WhisperingWind, Breeze That Awakes At Dusk, and Heron's Flight.<br>Age: Unknown.<br>Gender: Male.<br>Looks: Match is a sleek, gaunt cat. His pelt is white with ginger tabby splashes. Eyes are green, with bits of crimson and silver.<br>Personality: He may seem like a quiet, calm soul, but really he is cunning, sly, manipulative. He can pinpoint weaknesses, and he despises authority unless he respects the leader. (Season, Ender, Brightstar, etc.) He is an indenpentant tom, and usually looks for work anywhere. Though, he is not an assassin; he has and never will kill.<br>Mate/Crush: None.<br>Kit(s): Ruemoon(&female) and Aserdip(&male).<br>Mother: Fleetflight.<br>Father: December Stormcloak.<br>Sisters: Fernfoot, Quietstep, Wrensage, Gustingwind, and Dismay Stormcloak(Adoptive).<br>Brothers: Shatteredhopes, Marshjay, Breezefeather, Generationsong, and Dustingvalley. <br>Powers: Telekinesis; Telepathy; RavenSummon; FlameGust; and Shapeshifting.<br>Occupations: Erudite; Slytherin; Career Victor; and Mourning Cat.<br>Songs That Fit Him: 'Bad Blood' by Creature Feature, 'Numb' 'What l've Done' by Linkin Park, 'Demons' 'Hear Me' 'Ready Aim Fire' 'Monster' by Imagine Dragons, and 'Mad World' by Gary Jules(?). <br>History: He was born to WindClan and BloodClan cats. His father took him as a kit to Bloodclan, figuring if he took a kit before Fleetflight named them and welcomed them to the clan, he would have a chance to raise at least one as a full BloodClan cat. He named him Match, hoping that his son would one day burn as brightly as the object he was named for. Soon, another kit came along and December took her as his daughter. He taught the two how to be wonder fighters, spies and even parents. Eventually, Dismay ran off without warning Match or December. Match, some moons later, fell in love with a she named Hissgaze. Sadly, she dd birthing his three kits, only two of which lived. He named them Rue and Aserdip, symbolizing his regret and despair. He pretty much ignored them. Rue went to Silverclan and became Ruemoon. No cat is sure what happened to Aserdip. Match left Bloodclan before they raided his mother's home and became a reporter for Season. He used his aliases to fish information out of clans, tribes, and Sharp Claws. After he quit there, he joined a clan that discussed how to rid the current clans of Evil Within, True Evil, G.O.A., Z.O.R., No Mercy, etc. That clan died out, and he's been scourning the forests for a new clan amd, possibly, some of his siblings and children. <br>Other: Simply ask; He's an open book......

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    Justicepaw

    A black and silver shecat with large, violet eyes. Her parents are Rainpool and Fireblaze. She does not have a mate or kits. She ran away from her clan when she was 5 moons old (( she was still a kit)) and will not talk about her old life. She is funny, excited, and ready for action.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3