Customer Reviews for

The Last Man (Mitch Rapp Series #13)

Average Rating 4.5
( 443 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(271)

4 Star

(81)

3 Star

(47)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

29 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

How is this nook book not ready for the nook??

This is my first time preordering on my nook, and looks like it will be my last... was going to be reading this while waiting for my wife to go into labor, but i'll just tell her she's going to have to hold our daughter in a little while longer. At least Mitch is back....
This is my first time preordering on my nook, and looks like it will be my last... was going to be reading this while waiting for my wife to go into labor, but i'll just tell her she's going to have to hold our daughter in a little while longer. At least Mitch is back. 5 stars for the book, minus 2 stars for B&N

posted by Warner22 on November 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

46 out of 81 people found this review helpful.

What the???????

What the heck? This was to be out November 13 - and it is not ready for the NOOK? How long did it sit on someone's desk before they said - oh, oh. We sold a bunch of these for the NOOK - guess we had better get going.

Doesn't someone else sell electric books?

W...
What the heck? This was to be out November 13 - and it is not ready for the NOOK? How long did it sit on someone's desk before they said - oh, oh. We sold a bunch of these for the NOOK - guess we had better get going.

Doesn't someone else sell electric books?

Well sure there is an error - don't want a bad review do we?

posted by 3958441 on November 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 443 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 23
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2012

    What the???????

    What the heck? This was to be out November 13 - and it is not ready for the NOOK? How long did it sit on someone's desk before they said - oh, oh. We sold a bunch of these for the NOOK - guess we had better get going.

    Doesn't someone else sell electric books?

    Well sure there is an error - don't want a bad review do we?

    46 out of 81 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2012

    They accepted my money in advance, but didn't supply the book.

    They accepted my money in advance, but didn't supply the book. Last time I will fall for that.

    32 out of 60 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2012

    How is this nook book not ready for the nook??

    This is my first time preordering on my nook, and looks like it will be my last... was going to be reading this while waiting for my wife to go into labor, but i'll just tell her she's going to have to hold our daughter in a little while longer. At least Mitch is back. 5 stars for the book, minus 2 stars for B&N

    29 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2012

    Vince Flynn has done it again! The Last Man is an adrenaline pac

    Vince Flynn has done it again! The Last Man is an adrenaline packed thrill ride that has more twists and turns than the world's great roller coasters. The book finds American assassin Mitch Rapp knee deep in a in conspiracy and mystery in post-Bin Laden Afghanistan.

    When Joe Rickman, the CIA's top head of clandestine operations in Afghanistan is kidnapped, a tsunami of epic proportions is set off in the various branches of governments and intelligence agencies around the region and in the United States.

    Who was behind this coordinated attack and how to recover Rickman becomes the CIA's top priority, for in the head of Rickman lies secrets that could cripple the clandestine operations of America and her allies.

    What begins as a simple mission gets more and more complicated as Rapp and his team get further into the operation.

    What makes this and every other Vince Flynn novel so good is the detail and realism that Flynn brings to the project. There have been many in the government, military and clandestine organizations over the years who have questioned where Flynn gets his information, because it is startlingly accurate.

    Flynn's novel shows some of the serious pitfalls in the U.S. government's current policy of reintegration in post-Bin Laden Afghanistan. While reading my pre-release copy of The Last Man, from Atria Books, a division of Simon & Schuster, the U.S. Embassy in Benghazi, Libya was brutally attacked. Flynn's novel helps readers understand some of the current tensions in the Middle East, with a look at the Taliban, Iranians, Pakistanis, Afghans, Russians, Swiss banks, and the United States.

    The Last Man is a welcome reunion of Mitch Rapp and our current day. Flynn's last two novels, American Assassin, and Kill Shot, were essentially prequels to the story of Rapp, and a very welcome addition to the narrative. Fans of Mitch Rapp will enjoy seeing what the assassin has been up to and enjoy catching up with a number of favorite characters along the way.

    The Last Man isn't Flynn's best novel, but it certainly a great read and a wonderful addition to the Mitch Rapp library.

    As in all of Flynn's novels the language is a bit rough with plenty of military bravado and assassin angst thrown in. The detailed descriptions of torture and assassinations may make some readers squeamish. All in all, The Last Man, is a great read that opens the eyes of readers into the complexities of the continuing war on terror.

    I received a complimentary e-book of The Last Man, from Atria Books, a division of Simon & Shuster for purposes of this review.

    28 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2012

    Mitch is back

    I've read all the books in this serise. This one is my favorite by far. It answers some questions that I had from earlier books, but gives us some new charcters to look forward to seeing in the future. I highly recomend reading it, even if have never read any of the others.

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2012

    Pre-Ordered on my Nook...woke up yesterday morning, fired up the

    Pre-Ordered on my Nook...woke up yesterday morning, fired up the Nook and spent the next 1.5 hours reading. Finished the book last night! LOVED IT!!! Totally didn't see some of the twists and turns and LOVED Irene Kennedy in this one! Thanks!

    13 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2012

    The Last Man by Vince Flynn is a compelling story that gripped m

    The Last Man by Vince Flynn is a compelling story that gripped me right from the start. He brilliantly executed it in a manner that provided a constant flow of suspense, all prerequisites for good thrillers. His characters are well-developed and portray their human sides in a manner that make them so true to life Mitch Rapp reminds me of Gavin in Triple Agent Double Cross. This is a book of smooth writing, fabulous descriptions, amazing dialogue and gripping pacing, which are the elements that made this story an accomplished piece of writing.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2012

    No book to read

    This book was to be avalible on the 13th why send email saying it is but its not. Whats up with that

    9 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    $15 for an eBook is a rip-of. How can B&N justify this amou

    $15 for an eBook is a rip-of. How can B&N justify this amount? 0 printing costs, it takes 1 person maybe 10 minutes to generate a ePub file from the Author's file they used for printing and done. No paper, no printing costs.

    8 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2012

    WooHoo! What a great book!

    Thanks Vince for another great book! Didn't put it down. PLEASE, please keep Mitch working!!!!
    madicnm

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2012

    Unable to read from pre-order download?

    Learned today....you need to archive it. Step two, unarchive. Able to read Last Man by accessing book via home in leiu of library.

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2012

    I think this sucks. I'm a huge Vince Flynn fan, and worse...ther

    I think this sucks. I'm a huge Vince Flynn fan, and worse...there was no email from B&N telling us we were screwed on the Nook. I want my money back so I can order the book from Amazon, and they tell me no way. Then I try to get online with one of their chat reps and they give me a 10 minute blue circle spinning around and around. Keep it up Nook...and you'll be like that Literati ereader...in the trash can...a worthless bunch of microchips.

    4 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2012

    Another great book!

    I love almost all of Vince Flynn's books, and this one won't disappoint! This is a great series! A must read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2012

    Needlessly inflammatory. Rush Limbaughesque

    Having read the entire Mitch Rapp series entitles me to dislike at least one. So much irate rhetoric, so little time. Foreshadowing Mitch's next love interest is not enough incentive to go through all that vengeful, "justified" murder. Too many people are ratcheted up to "Kaboom! Stop! Or I'll shoot!" I'm not buying into murder in the name of The Stars and Stripes or God and Country just to feel macho. It is sad and small-minded to believe that their are no consequences for that momentary machismo.

    Not only was the dialogue needlessly inflammatory, the editing was lousy. Too many grammatical errors left me wondering who got paid for this pitiful portrait of the American heart. Did the men who neeed a bigger gun and one more dead body on the heap not notice the mess made of our common language? Probably not. Wrong crowd. But, by God, you better speak English. Kaboom! Stop or I'll correct your grammar;)

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2012

    Vince Flynn is BACK!!! After a sub-par Kill Shot, Flynn is back

    Vince Flynn is BACK!!! After a sub-par Kill Shot, Flynn is back at the top of his game. I'll chalk up the previous effort to the fact that he was battling cancer. This latest edition brings Mitch Rapp back to the present after two prequels, and the story is quite relevant given the current climate in our country as well as the Middle East. A great read!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Got The Last Man on my nook on the 13 with no problem. As with

    Got The Last Man on my nook on the 13 with no problem. As with all Flynn's books it was great. Can't wait until the next one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2012

    Wonderful!! Absolutly wonderful

    Keeps you riveted from the very beginning

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    Loved this book and the series. Vince Flynn was writing the 14th

    Loved this book and the series. Vince Flynn was writing the 14th in this series and as you know he has since passed away from cancer. Vince Flynn, his wonderful writing and the character of Mitch Rapp will be missed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2014

    RIP Vince - I'll miss you & Mitch

    RIP Vince - I'll miss you & Mitch

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Classic Vince Flynn

    Fantastic, fast-paced read! Better than Clancy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 443 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 23