Customer Reviews for

The Last Policeman (Last Policeman Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

interesting read, the mystery is a bit thin

The apoloptic concept is intriguing. Winters really captures the sense of impending doom as the meteor heads towards earth and portrays a picture of the different ways in whcih people deal with what is to come. At the same time, this is a murder mystery, or so you thi...
The apoloptic concept is intriguing. Winters really captures the sense of impending doom as the meteor heads towards earth and portrays a picture of the different ways in whcih people deal with what is to come. At the same time, this is a murder mystery, or so you think - because it could be a suicide - which adds to the intrigue. The only problem is when I actually got to the part where I find out what happened, it just wasn't that credible. I thought Winters could have developed the mystery and the "crime" more cleanly and in a way that was believable. This is apparenlty the first of a trilogy, and i think it is a strong start and will read the next one when it comes out.

posted by annijojo on July 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

This novel's average mystery plot and functional writing are ove

This novel's average mystery plot and functional writing are overwhelmingly redeemed by an exceptional, unforgettable premise. The first in a trilogy, The Last Policeman doesn't need to redefine the police procedural to be successful; if anything, the book could have ta...
This novel's average mystery plot and functional writing are overwhelmingly redeemed by an exceptional, unforgettable premise. The first in a trilogy, The Last Policeman doesn't need to redefine the police procedural to be successful; if anything, the book could have taken an even darker turn to set the tone for what's expected to come. Enjoyable as a distraction, but disturbing to dwell on -- the next two books had better deliver.

posted by prenoun on November 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 11, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This is a joint review of the first two books in the trilogy (no

    This is a joint review of the first two books in the trilogy (no spoilers).

    A deadly asteroid is bound for earth. There's no hope left: People are abandoning their jobs, their responsibilities, fulfilling bucket lists, committing suicide. Hank Palace is the only policeman left who considers the possibility of murder when 99% of crime scenes are suicides; the only policemen left who cares enough to bother solving the case.

    I can't believe I almost passed on the opportunity to read and review these two books. I'm kind of picky about mysteries, and crime fiction is usually not my thing, but the pre-apocalyptic angle intrigued me. I'm glad I took a chance, because I raced through these two books, reading them back-to-back.

    There are 6 months until impact in The Last Policeman, and only 2½ months left in Countdown City. As you can imagine, society deteriorates more and more as time runs out. Both books are riveting. Ben Winters strikes the perfect balance between mystery, thriller, science, and bringing the reader into a society on the brink of devastation. The tone is never too heavy, and certainly not too light. The dialogue is fantastic. And our protagonist? Hank Palace is as kind and caring as he is fierce (when necessary).

    Considering it is the first book in a trilogy, The Last Policeman had a surprisingly satisfying ending. It wrapped up in such a way that I could have easily put the series aside if I'd wanted, but that wasn't going to happen! Immediately upon finishing, I dived into Countdown City, which was equally as exciting.

    What's the difference between what's lawful and what's right? When everything seems pointless, and there's no profit or gain, what choices will people make? How will people choose to spend their last few months? There's a short but especially powerful scene of readers holing themselves up in a library, devouring as many books as possible.

    I couldn't read quickly enough, either: the first two books in Ben Winters's The Last Policeman trilogy are that good. I'm looking forward to reading the final installment.

    I received a copy of each book from the publisher in exchange for my honest review.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2012

    Excellent Ok

    This book gives you the satisfaction of a good mystery while it challenges you to think about what you will do today and on your last day.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2012

    interesting read, the mystery is a bit thin

    The apoloptic concept is intriguing. Winters really captures the sense of impending doom as the meteor heads towards earth and portrays a picture of the different ways in whcih people deal with what is to come. At the same time, this is a murder mystery, or so you think - because it could be a suicide - which adds to the intrigue. The only problem is when I actually got to the part where I find out what happened, it just wasn't that credible. I thought Winters could have developed the mystery and the "crime" more cleanly and in a way that was believable. This is apparenlty the first of a trilogy, and i think it is a strong start and will read the next one when it comes out.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    Wow, Excellent, Excellent, Original, OH !!, Uhm,

    OH !!, Uhm, Wait, Did I mention Excellent ?!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A Lilac Wolf and Stuff Review Some people like Jersey Shore, an

    A Lilac Wolf and Stuff Review

    Some people like Jersey Shore, and some like Survivor...me, I secretly love Post-Apocalyptic stories (movies or books). This is unique, it's Pre-Apocalyptic. There is a meteor heading for the Earth, and scientists know it's pretty much going to wipe everything out.

    So the question becomes, what would you do? People that have gone off to do the things they always wanted to before they die are said to have "gone bucket list." And there are tons of suicides and people quitting their jobs left and right. Personally I enjoyed all the corporations folding.

    The thing is, you still gotta eat and everything of course gets really expensive. So there are also a lot of people still working. The central character in The Last Policeman is a young man who really isn't long out of the academy. He is promoted to detective because...well...who else is there? He comes upon a suicide that just doesn't sit right with him. But we are kept guessing, is it a murder or is this cop just looking to investigate before the end comes?

    It's well written, fast paced and way better than the Jane Austen mash-ups. His book Bedbugs was really good too. This guy does a much better job on his own, that's all I'm saying. So go pick up a copy if you think you can handle this dark and lonely tale.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    What does a policeman do when he finds what has all the appearan

    What does a policeman do when he finds what has all the appearances of a suicide but in his gut he knows it's a murder? Add in that the end of the world due to an asteroid is impending and not many on the police force care much about solving this murder....and a reader has a spectacular book to read.
    This is the first book in a trilogy and I cannot WAIT to read the next two books. I really have to find out what happens to Detective Hank Palace, the last policeman.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This novel's average mystery plot and functional writing are ove

    This novel's average mystery plot and functional writing are overwhelmingly redeemed by an exceptional, unforgettable premise. The first in a trilogy, The Last Policeman doesn't need to redefine the police procedural to be successful; if anything, the book could have taken an even darker turn to set the tone for what's expected to come. Enjoyable as a distraction, but disturbing to dwell on -- the next two books had better deliver.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    great new Idea for a cop sci fi mystery story

    I really enjoyed the story. I'm glad I took a chance and ordered this
    book!

    You will enjoy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    Magic cover- will not allow you to put it down

    This is the first in a trilogy of an End of the World series. The Earth is in the path of an Asteroid and will be destroyed in six months. Everyone knows it, so ask yourself what would you do. Ben Winters' end of the world brings a halt to work for the most part. People retire and chase their dreams. Many, many go back to church.
    This is the story of a young policeman who is a new detective who, oddly enough, wants to keep working and solving crimes. You have to love him and his dedication while everything around him melts down.

    The next two books are set at 3 months and final. A friend of mine said to me that she does not read series until they are all out. I could not stop myself from this one- read the library copy and then bought a copy of my own. Brilliant in the many different observances of how people react to the knowledge of "THE END." Read it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Ben H. Winters. You might recognize this author's name - he pen

    Ben H. Winters. You might recognize this author's name - he penned the
    New York Times bestseller Sense and Sensibility and Sea Monsters.
    Winters' latest book The Last Policeman is just as imaginative and
    inventive. I've got a fondness for post apocalyptic fiction, but
    Winters has penned a pre-apocalyptic novel. The Last Policeman is set
    in the months before the world as we know it will end. It is inevitable
    - an asteroid is going to hit the earth and the impact will destroy our
    planet. What would you do, knowing the world was ending? Start ticking
    off items on your bucket list? End things on your terms? Henry Castle
    does none of that, instead he continues on as normal. He's a newly
    appointed detective on a police force that is dwindling, both in
    resources and manpower. When Henry is called to an apparent suicide, he
    can't shake the niggling feeling that this death may not be what it
    looks like. And in a world about to end, Henry pursues this case as a
    murder. Henry was such an engaging character - earnest, forthright,
    honest, polite, trusting and an anomaly in these times. Even though the
    world will end, he chooses to stay true to himself and his beliefs until
    the day that happens. Winters' plot is full of twists and red herrings.
    I truly enjoyed Hank's dogged and determined pursuit of the truth.
    "Right at this moment I have to decide, is the thing. Am I going to
    leave town and go north to Maine and find a house on Casco Bay and sit
    there and stare out the window with my sidearm and wait, or am I going
    to stay here and do my work and finish my case. My cases." I've
    read lots of post apocalyptic fiction, but it was interesting to read
    Winters' view of what the world might hold before that final blow.
    Winters gives us lots of food for thought in people's actions and words.
    There's a secondary plot involving Hank's sister, that I thought was
    filler until the last few chapters. It caught me off guard and piqued my
    interest for the next book, as The Last Policeman is the first in a
    trilogy. The Last Policeman was an unusual blend of sci-fi and mystery
    that just worked. I'm curious to see what else will happen before the
    asteroid hits.....or after.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2012

    Pre-apocalyptic police procedural with reading.

    What would you do if you knew the world was coming to an end? Would you care if a stranger died under suspicious circumstances knowing everyone will be dying soon enough? These are the questions that haunt Detective Frank Palace in Ben H. Winters’, pre-apocalyptic detective tale, The Last Policeman. A truly unique police procedural set in a future nearing extinction. Our meticulous detective Palace is difficult not to like as he struggles with business as usual when life is anything but usual. A smooth flowing and engaging story specked with elevations in vocabulary that gives the novel a certain panache. I for one will be eagerly awaiting the next novel in Winters’ The Last Policeman trilogy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2014

    I read this book not liking the setup, that with the end-of-the-

    I read this book not liking the setup, that with the end-of-the-world an imminent thing, some people would just go about their business, including the protagonist, Detective Hank Palace. The story made me believe it, and was so good, I finished it and wanted more. Good thing there are two more in the series.

    In a world where many are giving up, some killing themselves, some just checking out, Hank Palace still determines to investigate, even when a death looks very much like the run-of-the-mill suicide, all too common with the destruction of the world coming ever nearer.

    Superb storytelling, with complex characters and motives. Tries to make sense of a world where sense and meaning have all but disappeared. Gives nods to other world's end tales and songs. It's a great blending of science fiction and mystery, and one you'll enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2014

    Difficult read

    Current worry and tough view, although probably realistic. Not for habitual "worry-warts"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2014

    Page text count please as review suggested this was a novella

    or three long continued mag. type long stories disguised as one long book been done before by nook

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2014

    The protagonist of this book called to mind Arkady Renko (Gorky

    The protagonist of this book called to mind Arkady Renko (Gorky Park by Martin Cruz Smith), a cop compelled to do his job as society collapses around him.  It wasn't the most involved plot in the world, but it's a great premise. I wonder if it wouldn't have been stronger as a longer, stand alone novel. I kind of hate the trilogy of short books phenomena as it often makes for three watered down stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2014

    It a very slow book

    I felt like this book took me forever to read

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2013

    Milfly entertaining

    Not bad for what seems like a writers first novel. Was expecting more of a twist when the murderer was revealed. Will buy the sequel just to see if and how the world ends. Hope it has more of a cleaver ending than the the first book.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2