Customer Reviews for

The Last Princess

Average Rating 4.5
( 69 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Chapter by Chapter's review of The Last Princess

I fell in love with The Last Princess the moment I glimpsed the cover and the title of the novel. The title has this aura of mystery in it that had me begging to get started. Lucky for me, when I did begin reading The Last Princess, I immediately did not want to stop re...
I fell in love with The Last Princess the moment I glimpsed the cover and the title of the novel. The title has this aura of mystery in it that had me begging to get started. Lucky for me, when I did begin reading The Last Princess, I immediately did not want to stop reading. It started with a fast pace prologue that introduces us to the darkness that has consumed our world in the future as well as the fact that in this future murders will occur. This is an evident fact when Princess Eliza’s mother is murdered in the prologue. Sure it was dark and grim, but I ate it right up and continued on with the novel. From that point on, I was sure that the opening chapter wouldn’t manage to top the awesome-sauce prologue…

Boy was I wrong. Immediately after the first couple pages, we watch as Princess Eliza goes on a hunt to find her sickly younger brother, Jamie, and to prevent him from committing suicide. That opening chapter not only tugged on my heartstrings, but it had me falling in love with the story even more so. Death was a concept that was constantly used in the novel. People are dying of starvation and illness, and eventually people who supported the royal family are murdered as well. As the novel progressed, I have to admit that the story did not manage to lose my attention. At. All. Every single detail cannot be missed! Galaxy Craze wrote the story with so much beautiful detailing and thoughtfulness that you feel compelled to read more and I can assure you that you won’t want to miss a thing.

Personally, one of my favorite scenes was during the Buckingham Palace overthrow, when the Tudor army murders the king and kidnaps Eliza’s family. From that moment on in the novel, the reader really gets to see that Eliza is a much stronger, smarter and braver character than we all assumed she was from the beginning. Especially when, to save her siblings, Eliza joins the Tudor army where we see just what Cornelius Holister plans on doing to the world to help “save” it. As a good quarter of the novel was spent from Eliza’s POV within the Tudor army, we were introduced to two new characters. One an antagonist: Portia. The other a love interest: Wesley. I found that the romance between Wesley and Eliza was adorable; it was cute and also dangerous. The only thing that I was cautious towards was my cut instinct on the fact that Wesley might not be exactly who he says he is….

I would recommend this book to (obviously) fans of dystopia and as well as people who enjoy the story of Anastasia because really, that’s what this story reminds me a lot of. I cannot wait for the sequel to the novel, especially since the novel ended on such a dramatic high note that tells us that Eliza’s story is far from over…

posted by chapterxchapter on April 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

A pretty good book but to short

I read the preview and was very excited to buy the whole book when it came out, which I did. I had high expectations for this story as I enjoyed the preview. I was disappointed however by the general lack of character and story development. It is hard to have a full and...
I read the preview and was very excited to buy the whole book when it came out, which I did. I had high expectations for this story as I enjoyed the preview. I was disappointed however by the general lack of character and story development. It is hard to have a full and engaging story with only 182 pages. I enjoyed the authors writing and wish I could of had more. This book should have been 4-5$ not $10. If you want a quick read I recommend this book, but if you are looking for a story to get lost in this is not the book for you.

posted by 123423 on May 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Chapter by Chapter's review of The Last Princess

    I fell in love with The Last Princess the moment I glimpsed the cover and the title of the novel. The title has this aura of mystery in it that had me begging to get started. Lucky for me, when I did begin reading The Last Princess, I immediately did not want to stop reading. It started with a fast pace prologue that introduces us to the darkness that has consumed our world in the future as well as the fact that in this future murders will occur. This is an evident fact when Princess Eliza’s mother is murdered in the prologue. Sure it was dark and grim, but I ate it right up and continued on with the novel. From that point on, I was sure that the opening chapter wouldn’t manage to top the awesome-sauce prologue…

    Boy was I wrong. Immediately after the first couple pages, we watch as Princess Eliza goes on a hunt to find her sickly younger brother, Jamie, and to prevent him from committing suicide. That opening chapter not only tugged on my heartstrings, but it had me falling in love with the story even more so. Death was a concept that was constantly used in the novel. People are dying of starvation and illness, and eventually people who supported the royal family are murdered as well. As the novel progressed, I have to admit that the story did not manage to lose my attention. At. All. Every single detail cannot be missed! Galaxy Craze wrote the story with so much beautiful detailing and thoughtfulness that you feel compelled to read more and I can assure you that you won’t want to miss a thing.

    Personally, one of my favorite scenes was during the Buckingham Palace overthrow, when the Tudor army murders the king and kidnaps Eliza’s family. From that moment on in the novel, the reader really gets to see that Eliza is a much stronger, smarter and braver character than we all assumed she was from the beginning. Especially when, to save her siblings, Eliza joins the Tudor army where we see just what Cornelius Holister plans on doing to the world to help “save” it. As a good quarter of the novel was spent from Eliza’s POV within the Tudor army, we were introduced to two new characters. One an antagonist: Portia. The other a love interest: Wesley. I found that the romance between Wesley and Eliza was adorable; it was cute and also dangerous. The only thing that I was cautious towards was my cut instinct on the fact that Wesley might not be exactly who he says he is….

    I would recommend this book to (obviously) fans of dystopia and as well as people who enjoy the story of Anastasia because really, that’s what this story reminds me a lot of. I cannot wait for the sequel to the novel, especially since the novel ended on such a dramatic high note that tells us that Eliza’s story is far from over…

    15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2012

    I LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS BOOK!!! I got caught at least 4

    I LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS BOOK!!! I got caught at least 4 times in school reading it. I couldn't  stop reading it. I can't wait to purchase the second one when it comes out in spring of 2013!!! :D Galaxy Craze does a fantastic job on setting the scene of what is happening. This book is full of suspense, a little bit of romance, and action. In my opinion it was one of the best books I have ever read.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2012

    Overall Thoughts: This was such an inspiring story about a coura

    Overall Thoughts:
    This was such an inspiring story about a courageous girl looking for revenge in a hopeless and bleak world!

    The Last Princess is about a sixteen year old girl named Princess Eliza who suddenly finds herself alone when everyone she loves is devastatingly ripped away from her by one man - Cornelius Hollister, who killed both her parents and captured her brother and sister.

    The world of London, England has seen better days especially because it's experiencing things like natural disasters, food scarcity, and revolutionary revolt groups. To Princess Eliza, these are the least of her problems because she plans on throwing away her crown and secretly joining the rebels in the hopes of gaining the upper advantage so she could avenge her family's downfall on the one man who is responsible for it all. But what happens when Princess Eliza falls irrevocably in love with his son... who has a little secret of his own.

    What I liked about this book:
    Princess Eliza! I loved that she starts out as a sweet and innocent girl who is used to everyone fighting her battles for her and by the end of the book she turns into this powerful, unyielding warrior.

    Also, I really adored the ending. It has the "happy every after" feeling to it that you'd expect from a story about a princess, with a world-stopping twist that would make any Dystopian novel proud!

    What I disliked about this book:
    Um... it ended?

    Verdict:
    This was such an empowering novel that will make you want to fist pump until you've finished it!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2013

    AMAZING!!!!

    At a family cook out, my moms friend and I started a conversaion about reading and books. She leaves and then comes back with a book and gave it to me. I forgot about it for a little while. Later I started reading it. I could not put it down!! It was AMAZING!! Even seven months after reading it it continues to be my favorite book!! I read all the time and I think this is the best book I have read and will ever read!!! If you took the time to read this, PLEASE buy it!!!!!!!!!!!! It is one of those amazing things that nobody can completely explain....

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2013

    Amazing

    This bookis worth the time and money. The wholestory leaves you on the edge of your seat! READ IT READ IT READ IT READ IT READ IT READ IT READ IT READ IT

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    Amazing Adventure

    I was a bit wary when I first saw this book but I absolutly couldn't stop reading it when I got into it. I did buy the book, not the sample, so results for everyone else might vary. Overall this book is an exilerating adventure that is Sci-fi, Historical Fiction, and slightly romantic. I am not much of a fan of romance, but I still loved the book. And as many other reviews said, it is a Romeo and Juliet type of romance, well,(SPOILER) without them both dying in the end. A very great read, will recomend this book to anyone.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2014

    Loved it

    So l read this book aboet a year ago and I have read it seven times. At first glance at the cover it looks like gooey lovey book but it really is about a girl who is known as princess eliza. After the sevebteen days her mother was murdered. Years later her family has the anual rose ball where her father is murdered by the sam man who killed her mom and has kidnapped her brother and sister eliza has a choice. Hide and hope to survive or set out on a quest to save her brother and sister and stop evil while discovering love. This story grabs you and doesn't let go. But in this case that is a good thing

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I LITERALLY READ THIS BOOK IN THREE DAYS!!! When I was walking d

    I LITERALLY READ THIS BOOK IN THREE DAYS!!! When I was walking down Barnes & Noble, I was looking in the Science Fiction area and saw The Last Princess. I decided to take it along with the other books I had. I started reading it and was suddenly hooked to it. I definitely recommend this book to ANY high-schooled or middle-schooled girl. 100% the best book I have ever read and touched.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    Fb

    Name:Honeykit
    Age: 3 moons
    Apperence: golden shekit with white paws, ears, and tail. Green eyes.
    Pers. Outgoing, adventerous, intelligent, sarcastic, social, can be a bit hyper
    Wants: a family who is active, kind, has other kits her age, and part of an active clan

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    21's author has to stop with the cuss word

    Stop it !

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2014

    So good!!!!!

    Loved the book, had so many suprises in it leaving me almost screaming in tue middle of class mostly because my friend made me think the oppisite, BUT i do reccomend this book, it is AWESOME

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    ;)

    8.99 at B&N. But is a really great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2013

    Amazing!

    Couldn't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2013

    S. M.

    I loved this book. Oh and for those who wrote that they finished the book in 3 days you should know i finished it in 1. Dont blame me i could barely put the book down. Its an increadible so be prepared for this book will take your breath away.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2013

    App den

    A clump of petrified trees raccon and deer plets to keep in the warmth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2013

    <3

    Love the way Princes Eliza tries to get all her family back....... Can't wait for te sequel !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    AWESOME!!!

    it was AWESOME its really reminds me of The Hunger Games but just not AS good but its still good i would recommend it. that is if you liked the Hunger Games ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2013

    Ravenkit and Fernkit

    NAME Ravenkit AGE 4 moons GENDER tom DESC large glossy long fured tom kit with amber eyes. PERS sweet polite caring protective care free adventurous shy generous loving. WISH wishes to be adopted by parents who are active. And if he and his sister Fernkit arent adopted together he is fine with that as long as he gets to see her once in a while. <p> $$$$<p> NAME Fernkit AGE 4 moons GENDER shecat DESC a dark tortieshell shekit with green eyes PERS sweet gentle hearted but protective and can have a temper fights for wha she believes in shy not as adventurous as her brother but can be bold when times demand it. WISH same as Ravenkit

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2013

    Cloudkit

    Name-Cloudkit Age-4 moons Personality-kind, caring, shy Apperance-a cloudy white kit with blue eyes Gender- female

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2013

    good book

    This was a really good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3