Customer Reviews for

The Last Resort: A Memoir of Mischief and Mayhem on a Family Farm in Africa

Average Rating 4.5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 16 of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 14, 2009

    The author, now NY based, tells the true story of his parents experiences in Zimbabwe in a time of civil unrest & continued uncertainty about the future, while waiting for their backpackers lodge to be inevitably taken over/away by 'resettlers'.

    I just finished this book last night and loved EVERY minute of reading it, I couldn't put it down, read it flat in a few days, and laughed out loud often, as I could identify with it ALL, I learnt quite a few new (and sometimes eyebrow lifting) things about Mutare (my own home town in Zimbabwe) -its history, the people (black and white) and more amazing insights about the author's parents and their very real and sometimes harrowing experiences living outside of our little town. From the minute I started reading it, it felt like I was watching the author's parents playing themselves in a movie and the author has painted the pictures of their experiences so vividly. This is an amazing contribution to telling a real Zimbabwean family's side of the story, from our little part of the world and eastern corner of Zim. When I finished the last page I genuinely shed a tear, out of immense pride for the amazing country we have come from and grown up in, and our experiences living there. This book isn't just of interest or relevance to only those with a background in Zimbabwe or Africa, but for anyone with an interest in how things have REALLY been for those living through the struggles in Zimbabwe these many years, providing deeper insight and respect for the people of Zimbabwe, beyond the "media circus" portrayed by mainstream media about Zim to date. This book is about conflict, integration and ultimately survival through a period of immense (and ongoing) unrest in a magnificent and once prosperous country. A thoroughly enjoyable read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2013

    I just finished reading this book and LOVED it. It was a compell

    I just finished reading this book and LOVED it. It was a compelling read that I couldn't put down, wanting to know how it would all end for his parents. I appreciated how the writer showed things from all sides, even when it was opposite from where he stood. In the end, it's like all things, complicated. My heart goes out to the people, black or white, who are struggling to survive in impossible situations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I Loved this book!

    This book is absolutely wonderful! People can read the horrible news about Zimbabwe on the internet or in the newspaper, but until you read this book, you have no idea how bad it is. Douglas Rogers paints a vivid picture of the horrors of Robert Mugabe's dictatorship in Zimbabwe, through the eyes of the whites. Also, he doesn't give a simple "he's horrible, poor me" point of view. These people are living it every day. This book REALLY shows how Zimbabwe is. This book busts the western myth in Africa that Whites are bad, and blacks are good. But at the same time, it also busts the racist attitudes of some Africans. It shows that not all of the blacks are bad, but not all of the whites are good. It shows the depravity of the country as these horribly oppressed white farmers are beaten, tortured, and driven off their land. I would recommend this book to anyone, even Mugabe himself! This book should definitely be read in schools across the U.S.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2010

    Seize the Day (and the book!!)

    The Last Resort by Douglas Rogers is fantastic! For those who have had the good fortune to travel to Zimbabwe, you will be transported back to the country. For those who have not (yet) had that opportunity, you will be drawn into an adventure that will make you laugh, cry, and hold your breath in anticipation. Beyond the adventure, this book is a 'must read' to raise awareness of the life that goes on here -- you will be grateful for what you have and, hopefully, touched and motivated to act for good when you see life from a different angle. A rare 'insiders' view of life in Zim. Outstanding on all counts!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2010

    Outstanding Writing, Remarkable Story

    I was a teacher in Zimbabwe in the late 1980's, so was very interested to see how this author presented his family's position. I thought the book was masterfully crafted to show a true series of snapshots of Zimbabwe. It is far too easy to portray Zimbabweans in Hollywood's simplistic vision of arrogant white colonizers and noble oppressed black Africans. Rogers demonstrates continually how complex are the relationships between the two races, to the point where black and white do not matter any more. The true conflict is between the oppressive, brutal, greedy Zimbabwe ruling elite and the rest of the population. As I finished this book, I hoped everyone in the U.S. and Europe would read this book, to finally understand that the black-white issue is null and void at this point. We have to hold those in power to the same standards of integrity that we hold our own leaders, and we have to look at every person for who they are and what choices they make, regardless of race or economic background. I recommend this book HIGHLY.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2010

    Enlightening

    Wonderful memoir of a courageous family, who patently are just trying to do the right thing. The whole Continent of Africa wouldn't be in the mess it's in if more folks like this stayed and were listened to. One hopes that the end of Mugabe is near.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2009

    You must visit The Last Resort

    THE LAST RESORT drew me in from the very first sentence. Each word and thought the author shared in his writing captivated me the moment I started the book. Mr. Rogers has made the plight of his parents and country real for this reader. Not only did the author capture the struggles of a country but he captured the emotions a son has with his parents. It seems this author could not wait to spread his wings and fly away but he comes back as an adult and well traveled, if only for visits. It is evident in dealing with his father and mother he returned to them in a way a son can only do when he has grown up. The book is a page turner and one that haunted me into not putting it down. THE LAST RESORT is a book that I will read and read again. After finishing the book I reread the dedication page.It was a son's gift to his parents and the country he grew up in. Thank you, Mr. Rogers, for having me reflect about the cocoon I live here in America. It gives me a false sense of security that everyone is safe and we all know too well that is untrue. Your journey will continue and I hope there is a sequel and it brings good news. I challenge anyone that hungers for history, a man's love for his country and parents to buy this book and take the journey to the LAST RESORT.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 16 of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1