Customer Reviews for

The Last Witness (Badge of Honor Series #11)

Average Rating 3
( 69 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

I am a big fan of Griffin. I enjoyed this book. It wasn't top on

I am a big fan of Griffin. I enjoyed this book. It wasn't top on my list, but it is enjoyable. The writing is tight and controlled and the plot unfolds at a good pace. High marks and high recommendations.

posted by VladamirR on August 11, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

I'm a big fan of Griffin and his books. Unfortunately, since his

I'm a big fan of Griffin and his books. Unfortunately, since his son has become the writer, the quality of the work has dropped precipitously. The jumps between story lines in this book does not seem to have any plan. There are numerous unfinished lines that are the res...
I'm a big fan of Griffin and his books. Unfortunately, since his son has become the writer, the quality of the work has dropped precipitously. The jumps between story lines in this book does not seem to have any plan. There are numerous unfinished lines that are the result of poor story telling or shameless attempts to whet the appetite for the next volume. Well they failed. I will not partake in the Badge of Honor series again. That is sad but the quality of the writing has definitely gone down the outhouse floor.

posted by OldMarine on August 9, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted August 9, 2013

    I'm a big fan of Griffin and his books. Unfortunately, since his

    I'm a big fan of Griffin and his books. Unfortunately, since his son has become the writer, the quality of the work has dropped precipitously. The jumps between story lines in this book does not seem to have any plan. There are numerous unfinished lines that are the result of poor story telling or shameless attempts to whet the appetite for the next volume. Well they failed. I will not partake in the Badge of Honor series again. That is sad but the quality of the writing has definitely gone down the outhouse floor.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    7 our of 10 Five Star ratings as of 8/18/13 are from nook/texter

    7 our of 10 Five Star ratings as of 8/18/13 are from nook/texters pretending to be cats - pretend world is OK but please don't mess with the book review rating system. You are doing a disservice to the authors, Barnes and Noble and all people who get information from these review pages. Please gain some maturity and insight to what you are doing and leave the book review rating system to those who read the books or want critical information.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2013

    This book, hotly anticipated, was a colossal disappointment.  It

    This book, hotly anticipated, was a colossal disappointment.  It was difficult to follow, and jumped around more than necessary in order to tell the story.  Each segment was choppy and not clearly related to the other threads.  While it all came together at the  end,  it wasn't a satisfactory ending. Why did these things happen? The threads did not weave together in a comprehensive way.
    It actually took me three days to force myself through it, and I am a Griffin fan. I am apparently no a WEB IV fan.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2013

    I am continually disappointed by the latest books by W.E.B. Grif

    I am continually disappointed by the latest books by W.E.B. Griffin. This book was 254 pages and probably 75 of them dealt with back story from the previous two books. Matt Payne's character continues to spiral down the drain; he is becoming a whiny shadow of his former self. Some of the standby characters are briefly trotted out, but most are not mentioned. Jason Washington is becoming a pampas ass, Tony Harris is hardly given any time. I did not mind when the setting was changed from 1974 to 2013 with all the characters being transported and no corresponding difference in their ages. Do they even read there previous books before writing? The last installment had a different Mayor but now Carlucci is back, I think that I should be insulted that they think so poorly of their fans. This is a new low for the now father and son writing team. Too much drugs and cartel and very little character development what there is, is just disappointing. I had to stop reading two of the other series that Griffin/Butterworth put out as they have become so tepid it is just a chore to read them. I am upset to see this series fall off the same cliff. If you must read this serious get it from your local library do not spend your money and buy it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Disappointing

    This book is very shallow. Little really happens and most of the book is filler. Written merely to add another book to the series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2013

    Griffin didnt write this!

    I doubt that he even read this if he did he wouldnt have alowed his name to go on it

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2013

    Worst Griffin book I have ever read

    I have read all of Griffin,s book, some several times over the years. Until this book I was always glad to get his latest. This book has no interesting points or story worth reading. Maybe Griffin has written himself out of the business and found a ghost writter who is just putting together enough junk to fill a book. Very poor product!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    POOR POOR POOR

    THIS BOOK WAS NOT WRITTEN BY GRIFFIN. IT WAS SLOW MOVING, SITLTED, BORING AND WORST OF ALL USED TOO MUCH RAW SEX.
    I.E. SODOMY
    BUFFALOBOB

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2013

    Although I have, and have read and greatly enjoyed, all of W.E.B

    Although I have, and have read and greatly enjoyed, all of W.E.B. Griffins works to date, this one seemed to be one that was written as for a deadline/contract project only. The premise is good, and timely like most of his works, yet the story sort of ran out 2/3rds of the way through. The ending was very contrived and seemed to only last as long as it did because he had a minimum number of pages to do. I have to admit, for the first time, other than the Presidental Agent series after #3 or so, I was disappointed with one of his books. I have always loved to sit down during a day off and immerse myself in one of his worlds, yet this time I was left feeling cheated and taken advantage of. I am not ready to give up on this series, or author, yet, but another one like this and I will have to think seriously about doing so. I rated it a 3 only for the first half of the book, the last half was more of a 1. This hurts my soul to be treated like this by one I admire and enoyed so much.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    Worst Griffin book ever

    Full of filler information, redundant facts. Slow moving, little action. Waste of my time to read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    I've been a fan of Griffin and his work for years. This latest

    I've been a fan of Griffin and his work for years. This latest book is awful and unworthy of the loyalty of his readers. Unbelievable plot, weak characters, disjointed, way too much back story for so short a work. An incredible disappointment. I'll think twice before I buy another in this series. If this is what we can expect in the future, it would be better to just lay down the pen and call it a career.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    Disappointing

    Read the whole book waiting for something (Plot, characters, anything)to develop, but nothing ever did. Can't believe Griffin wrote this empty book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2013

    I have been a serious fan of Griffin's books for a couple of dec

    I have been a serious fan of Griffin's books for a couple of decades. My father and I have looked forward to the new additions in the different series.
    In "Badge of Honor", specifically, the later books seem to take liberties with time and characters. Carlucci was Mayor, then he wasn't, then he was. OK, it's conceivable that he could have done a "Grover Cleveland", sat out a term, and have been re-elected but the jump forward in time was too much without the characters aging any or being promoted. This isn't "Back to the Future".

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2013

    Horrible!

    A bad book, no plot, and with virtually no character development in the WEB Griffin tradition. I doubt Griffin wrote even one word of this.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2013

    Surprisingly Mediocre

    I am a devout fan of W.E.B. Griffin. However, this was definitely not his best book, though we all know he can't write a bad book. I have read ALL of his books, and this is the only one that I felt was just so-so. I much prefer his books about WW II. He is absolutely a master of that era. I also much prefer his books that are not co-authored. But yes, I will continue to read everything Mr. Griffin writes. I am addicted to him.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2013

    Less than stellar

    IMO this is one of the weakest efforts put forth by to author. The plot felt under developed and hurried.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I am a big fan of Griffin. I enjoyed this book. It wasn't top on

    I am a big fan of Griffin. I enjoyed this book. It wasn't top on my list, but it is enjoyable. The writing is tight and controlled and the plot unfolds at a good pace. High marks and high recommendations.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    Boring in spots. Too much detail.

    Not my favorite of his books. Seems like a lot of "filler"material was used.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    Good reading. This book did not have as compelling a story as p

    Good reading. This book did not have as compelling a story as previous books in this series have had. Howevere, it was good reading. The story left you wanting more and it seemed that some newer characters would have larger roles in future editions. There is a big difference between previous books by Griffin and the recent works where WEB's son is playing a bigger role in the writing team.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2013

    Not as well written as previous books in this series

    Slower reading and more superfluous conversations and action. Not as compelling as others

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4