Customer Reviews for

The Last of the Mohicans

Average Rating 4
( 105 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(55)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

'THE PALE-FACES ARE MASTERS OF THE EARTH'

Lest its importance be lost, let me praise at once the Barnes and Noble Classics edition of THE LAST OF THE MOHICANS for its bit more than one page long essay -- 431f-- after the end notes -- called 'INSPIRED BY THE LAST OF THE MOHICANS.' By Stephen Railton...
Lest its importance be lost, let me praise at once the Barnes and Noble Classics edition of THE LAST OF THE MOHICANS for its bit more than one page long essay -- 431f-- after the end notes -- called 'INSPIRED BY THE LAST OF THE MOHICANS.' By Stephen Railton, 'INSPIRED' lists and describes notable cinema inspired by Cooper's masterpiece. They begin with D. W. Griffith's 1909 one reeler, LEATHER STOCKING and move along through the 1920 Maurice Tourneur version with Wallace Beery as the satanic Magua and 1924 and 1936 versions by director George B. Seitz, the last starring Randolph Scott 'in perhaps the performance of his career.' Michael Mann's Oscar- winning 1992 THE LAST OF THE MOHICANS is great fun but bears very little resemblance to Cooper's original. *** The last words of this great novel give a sense of what the point of the yarn is. They are solemn remarks by ancient chief Tamenund, well over a century old, whose name is also preserved as Tammany and in 'Tammany Hall.' He concludes thus the funeral rites for Cora and Uncas: 'It is enough,' he said. 'Go, children, of the Lenape, the anger of Manitou is not done. ... The pale-faces are masters of the earth, and the time of the red-men has not yet come again. The day has been too long. In the morning I saw the sons of Unamis [turtles, totem, i.e., of Delawares of the eastern seaboard] happy and strong and yet, before the night has come, have I lived to see the last warrior of the wise race of the Mohicans.' 'Ch XXXIII' *** This book is probably too leisurely for children or even college students who are not English majors. Read it for a sad meditation on why American Indians and European whites never found a way to live together as equals and form an entirely new North American civilization -- much as the Normans had done in Saxon England. Fenimore Cooper makes much of white prejudices against interracial marriages. That Scottish Cora could love and be loved by the last Mohican Indian, gorgeous young Uncas, was thinkable to Cooper's readers only because far back in time she had had a West Indian granddam of color. *** Cooper also notes that the massacre of surrendered troops of Fort William Henry by Indian allies of the French was the second such incident to blot the copy book of the Marquis de Montcalm. *** A final historical suggestion by Cooper is that the Indians could have made themselves as much junior partners of the colonials as the savage Highlanders of Scotland eventually became of Scottish lowlanders and the vastly more numerous English. But the Indians could not unite. They spent too much time killing and raiding other Indians to resist the all-conquering European whites. --- -OOO-

posted by Anonymous on January 16, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Average at best

Well, I must be the bearer of bad news here: the back cover of the Barnes & Noble Classics edition of this novel leads readers astray. It mentions "death-defying chases and teeth-clenching suspense," but let me tell you, there's nothing teeth-clenching about this book. ...
Well, I must be the bearer of bad news here: the back cover of the Barnes & Noble Classics edition of this novel leads readers astray. It mentions "death-defying chases and teeth-clenching suspense," but let me tell you, there's nothing teeth-clenching about this book. I've never liked Cooper's writing, so I may come off as a little harsh, but the plot is average at best and even painfully predictable at times. Granted, plot isn't everything, but this novel does not possess many qualities that redeem the floundering plot. Cooper writes rather coldly, and his characters, with the possible exception of Hawk-eye, are extremely flat and even unlikable, which does not work well for this kind of story. I must give Cooper credit for his exquisite descriptions, especially of the vast frontier wilderness, but unfortunately for Cooper, description alone doesn't make a good book. I'd like to read The Last of the Mohicans again, just to make sure I didn't miss some revelation the first time around, but when the book cover is better than the story, you know something's wrong.

posted by TheQuillPen on April 1, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 105 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted April 1, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Average at best

    Well, I must be the bearer of bad news here: the back cover of the Barnes & Noble Classics edition of this novel leads readers astray. It mentions "death-defying chases and teeth-clenching suspense," but let me tell you, there's nothing teeth-clenching about this book. I've never liked Cooper's writing, so I may come off as a little harsh, but the plot is average at best and even painfully predictable at times. Granted, plot isn't everything, but this novel does not possess many qualities that redeem the floundering plot. Cooper writes rather coldly, and his characters, with the possible exception of Hawk-eye, are extremely flat and even unlikable, which does not work well for this kind of story. I must give Cooper credit for his exquisite descriptions, especially of the vast frontier wilderness, but unfortunately for Cooper, description alone doesn't make a good book. I'd like to read The Last of the Mohicans again, just to make sure I didn't miss some revelation the first time around, but when the book cover is better than the story, you know something's wrong.

    9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2008

    'THE PALE-FACES ARE MASTERS OF THE EARTH'

    Lest its importance be lost, let me praise at once the Barnes and Noble Classics edition of THE LAST OF THE MOHICANS for its bit more than one page long essay -- 431f-- after the end notes -- called 'INSPIRED BY THE LAST OF THE MOHICANS.' By Stephen Railton, 'INSPIRED' lists and describes notable cinema inspired by Cooper's masterpiece. They begin with D. W. Griffith's 1909 one reeler, LEATHER STOCKING and move along through the 1920 Maurice Tourneur version with Wallace Beery as the satanic Magua and 1924 and 1936 versions by director George B. Seitz, the last starring Randolph Scott 'in perhaps the performance of his career.' Michael Mann's Oscar- winning 1992 THE LAST OF THE MOHICANS is great fun but bears very little resemblance to Cooper's original. *** The last words of this great novel give a sense of what the point of the yarn is. They are solemn remarks by ancient chief Tamenund, well over a century old, whose name is also preserved as Tammany and in 'Tammany Hall.' He concludes thus the funeral rites for Cora and Uncas: 'It is enough,' he said. 'Go, children, of the Lenape, the anger of Manitou is not done. ... The pale-faces are masters of the earth, and the time of the red-men has not yet come again. The day has been too long. In the morning I saw the sons of Unamis [turtles, totem, i.e., of Delawares of the eastern seaboard] happy and strong and yet, before the night has come, have I lived to see the last warrior of the wise race of the Mohicans.' 'Ch XXXIII' *** This book is probably too leisurely for children or even college students who are not English majors. Read it for a sad meditation on why American Indians and European whites never found a way to live together as equals and form an entirely new North American civilization -- much as the Normans had done in Saxon England. Fenimore Cooper makes much of white prejudices against interracial marriages. That Scottish Cora could love and be loved by the last Mohican Indian, gorgeous young Uncas, was thinkable to Cooper's readers only because far back in time she had had a West Indian granddam of color. *** Cooper also notes that the massacre of surrendered troops of Fort William Henry by Indian allies of the French was the second such incident to blot the copy book of the Marquis de Montcalm. *** A final historical suggestion by Cooper is that the Indians could have made themselves as much junior partners of the colonials as the savage Highlanders of Scotland eventually became of Scottish lowlanders and the vastly more numerous English. But the Indians could not unite. They spent too much time killing and raiding other Indians to resist the all-conquering European whites. --- -OOO-

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Classic so much better then the 1990's film

    Twain was right about Fenimore....but i still need to read all the classics i blew off or didn't finish in HS

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2010

    Hard to get through

    This Book took me a long time to finish. It is a good story and should be read. But it is really slow going, and i found that parts of it are boring. if you have trouble getting through books you shouldnt read it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2013

    HELP ME PLEASE!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2006

    Hard to finish

    Huge fan of the movie but I must say it was hard to finish this book. I tried to put myself in the mindset of the time it was written, but the book was simply just too boring. Explanations and events in the story were excruciatingly too drawn out and the dialogue was ridiculous in a lot of parts.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2014

    Great book! I just read it! I'd rate it 10 stars if I had to!

    I love this story which is about Hawkeye, the colonial scout, and Chingachkook, the Mohican warrior who are brought togethet by their love of the New World forests and their desire for peace between their races. Set against the exciting days of the French and Indian War, their story-heroically risking their lives to guide two English sisters through hostile territory, battling the evil Le Renard Subtil- is a story of how trust and understanding can develop between people of two cultures.
    By my point of view, that's the summary. I read some of the book to my little brother....but he got bored when there was no action, shooting, or talking sometimes. So I ended up reading the end to myself. My favorite characters are Hawkeye, Heyward, and Uncas.
    My worst characters are the BAD INDIANS AND LE RENARD SUBTIL.
    Depressions: Cora, Uncas, sadness, graves, treaties, deaths, and ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2014

    Not texting social site

    B & N you need to police this site and stop all thie media conversations going on. This is for the readers who want ro review a book. Take care of this matter now becuse it is getting out of hand

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2014

    Bae-pharna {[ Large ferns ]}

    Where the Sipahi sleep.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2014

    Grimms bio

    A black cat with red eyes. Skinny but fast. Weak muscle-wise

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2014

    IceBeacons bio

    Name: IceBeacon but Ice for short.<p> Gender: female<p> Age: 23 moons<p>Rank: warrior<p>Personality: meet her to find out<p>History: originaly from Sunclan but when it became inactive, she went to Bloodclan. She left there eventually and came here.<p>Mate/Crush/Kits: Ask if you really want to know. Not yet. No.<p>Theme: Lux Aeterna from the lion king<p>Looks: Black with blue tail and ear tips and blueish hue to all of it. She has grey eyes <p> Other: just ask<p>

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2014

    Acornfurs bio ☻♡&hearts

    Name:acornfur <p> gender:&female <p> pelt color:brownish mixed with light brown<p> eye colo:brown <p> personality:get to know me but im usaly nice,friendly,firerce,and protective,loving,caring,loyal,wiling to die protecting my clan<p> history:unknown <p> siggy:&#9787&#9825&hearts <p> ANYTHUNG ELSE JUST ASK

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2014

    Heatstar's Bio

    <p>Name: Heatstar <p>Position in Heatclan: Leader <p>age 17 moons <p>gender:&male <p>looks:a musculer cat with fiery red eyes and a jet black pelt paws are jet black too <p>personality:wise brave patient courageous a leader quiet and fierceful in battle <p>other ask

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2014

    Fallenleaf's bio

    Gender:male
    Age:24moons
    Apperence:silver and brown tom with piercing blue eyes
    Personality:strong quiet brave
    Siggy:?_?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2014

    Julien

    ^_^ Love you. *he grins, stepping closer to her.*

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2014

    Plague

    *she grins.*

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2014

    Plague

    :D Bai!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2014

    Alejandro

    "Then I pronounce you husband and wife. You may kiss." He smiles and steps back.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2014

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2014

    Raylen

    Mai little nephew is gettin' married. They grow up so fast. O-o

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 105 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6