Customer Reviews for

The Lawyer's Lawyer

Average Rating 4
( 41 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by Stephen Brayton for Readers' Favorite 1991: Jack To

Reviewed by Stephen Brayton for Readers' Favorite

1991: Jack Tobin, successful attorney, considers doing something else with his life other than the practice of law. 1993: A serial killer is terrorizing the college campus in Oakville, Florida. Detective Danielle Jansen...
Reviewed by Stephen Brayton for Readers' Favorite

1991: Jack Tobin, successful attorney, considers doing something else with his life other than the practice of law. 1993: A serial killer is terrorizing the college campus in Oakville, Florida. Detective Danielle Jansen suspects one of the students, Thomas Felton. After a couple more deaths, including that of the police chief's wife, Felton is arrested for murder. 2001: Jack Tobin has switched to defending death row clients gratis but accepts a case to help a basketball player at the Oakville campus from being charged with rape. He also begins a short-lived affair with Jansen who is close to retirement. 2003: Tobin agrees to help Felton, who is scheduled to die in six weeks' time. What he discovers sets off a chain reaction that will put Tobin himself on trial and uncover secrets buried for eight years.

This is a difficult story to summarize because to tell anymore would be to give away too much. This is basically three stories put into one: the serial killer investigation; Tobin's case with Felton; and Tobin's own trial. I had actually expected a couple of the minor characters to play a bigger role in later events, but I enjoyed the courtroom battles. I liked the give and take, the strategies from each side, the objections and the judge's personality. This is a long story, but one I thought worthwhile to listen to. The author understands the intricacies of the courtroom and provides enough ambiance to draw in the reader to the scenes. Just enough thrill to entice me; just enough mystery to keep me interested; a little romance; and a well-built story to provide provoking courtroom scenes.

posted by ReadersFavorite on April 11, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

I first saw this book at $1.99 and when I went to buy it for my

I first saw this book at $1.99 and when I went to buy it for my NOOK it was $10.99......what gives

posted by grammyNH on September 3, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Stephen Brayton for Readers' Favorite 1991: Jack To

    Reviewed by Stephen Brayton for Readers' Favorite

    1991: Jack Tobin, successful attorney, considers doing something else with his life other than the practice of law. 1993: A serial killer is terrorizing the college campus in Oakville, Florida. Detective Danielle Jansen suspects one of the students, Thomas Felton. After a couple more deaths, including that of the police chief's wife, Felton is arrested for murder. 2001: Jack Tobin has switched to defending death row clients gratis but accepts a case to help a basketball player at the Oakville campus from being charged with rape. He also begins a short-lived affair with Jansen who is close to retirement. 2003: Tobin agrees to help Felton, who is scheduled to die in six weeks' time. What he discovers sets off a chain reaction that will put Tobin himself on trial and uncover secrets buried for eight years.

    This is a difficult story to summarize because to tell anymore would be to give away too much. This is basically three stories put into one: the serial killer investigation; Tobin's case with Felton; and Tobin's own trial. I had actually expected a couple of the minor characters to play a bigger role in later events, but I enjoyed the courtroom battles. I liked the give and take, the strategies from each side, the objections and the judge's personality. This is a long story, but one I thought worthwhile to listen to. The author understands the intricacies of the courtroom and provides enough ambiance to draw in the reader to the scenes. Just enough thrill to entice me; just enough mystery to keep me interested; a little romance; and a well-built story to provide provoking courtroom scenes.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The Lawyer¿s Lawyer by James Shee­han is a fic­tional story tak­

    The Lawyer’s Lawyer by James Shee­han is a fic­tional story tak­ing place in present day Florida. Mr. Shee­han works at Stet­son Uni­ver­sity in Tampa, FL and teaches trail law.

    Jack Tobin, one of the best lawyers in the United States, takes it upon him­self to rep­re­sent a ser­ial killer that he believes to be inno­cent. The cit­i­zens of the town of Oakville are out­raged, the Chief of Police is angry and the dis­trict attor­ney is out to get Jack.
    The crim­i­nal jus­tice sys­tem as a whole is not too happy either.

    The Lawyer’s Lawyer by James Shee­han was a delight to read. I got this book a few months ago, but just picked it up and fin­ished it in about two days.

    While there are sev­eral direc­tions the book pulls the reader towards, the real strength lays in the court­room drama which Mr. Shee­han so elo­quently brings to life. I’ll even go fur­ther and say that the side­bars the lawyers had while approach­ing the bench were some of the most inter­est­ing, fas­ci­nat­ing con­ver­sa­tion I’ve read in this genre.
    The author did a great job telling the story while stay­ing away from many tech­ni­cal terms (“legalese”) and if used, explain­ing them almost imme­di­ately. The nar­ra­tive is smooth and elo­quent which makes for an easy read despite the setting.

    The pro­tag­o­nist of the book, Jack Tobin, is too per­fect. He is rich, retired in fact, and only rep­re­sent clients for char­ity. Jack has a volatile con­scious which makes one won­der how he became not only a suc­cess­ful lawyer, but a “lawyer’s lawyer” – the one lawyers them­selves call when they get in trou­ble. The reader is reminded much too often about what a good per­son Jack is and how self­less he is that it seems unbe­liev­able at times.

    Mr. Shee­han did a fan­tas­tic job writ­ing a very inter­est­ing book. The legal bat­tles between the judge, the defense and the dis­trict attor­ney bring the book to life and reminds the reader that a trial is not nec­es­sar­ily about the accused.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I finished this compelling book in one day. I simply could not p

    I finished this compelling book in one day. I simply could not put it down. The protagonist, Jack Tobin, has made enough money to retire, so he takes cases of wrongly convicted people on death row. He works for no fee with a drive to bring justice to the criminal system. I enjoyed Jack's friendship with Henry, a former death row prisoner set free through Jack's efforts. Henry literally owes his life to Jack and becomes a devoted employee. The twosome is hard to beat.

    There are twists and turns that surprise. I really enjoyed this thriller.

    Contains profanity.

    Thank you to Sarah Reck at Center Street for my copy.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    Great Book

    I wish I read his other two book first.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    Highly Recommended - A must read!

    I love "courtroom drama" and The Lawyer's Lawyer ranks among one of the best reads. It was a book that was difficult to put down. Kudos to James Sheehan for a job well done. Now I will catch up by reading his other books and so far have not been disappointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2013

    I first saw this book at $1.99 and when I went to buy it for my

    I first saw this book at $1.99 and when I went to buy it for my NOOK it was $10.99......what gives

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2014

    Good legal thriller.

    Enjoyed it, although the characters did not have great depth.
    A very good ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    Good

    Kept my interest

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2014

    A reasonably good legal "thriller."  I'm inclined to r

    A reasonably good legal "thriller."  I'm inclined to read another by the author, and coming from a lawyer, that's pretty high praise.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2014

    Loved it!!

    An amazing story!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2014

    great legal thriller

    Full of authentic detail &provides lots of food for thought!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    excellent read. would recommend

    enjoyed this book from cover to cover.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2013

    highly recommended

    lots of twist and turns - good til the very end. Very good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2013

    I should not have read it right after the other Sheehan book!!

    Spoiler alert, he uses some of the same artifices on both books (e.g., the coroner filing a secondary report).

    Not bad overall, especially if, like me, you read it on a flight to Dallas or at the gym in your tablet. The ending --and, no, no spoilers here-- is too, way too, too much, incredible. Just doesn't fly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2013

    A fairly good read and you can't beat the price~

    The Lawyer's Lawyer is a fairly good read. The author seems quite knowledgeable about police interaction with each other and the D.A. The storyline is engaging and you get a good feel for the characters.

    That being said,the one thing that I felt was lacking in this book is throughout the "action" scenes there's a lack of descriptives to truly engage and frighten the reader. You don't actually get lost in the moments of terror as much as you're reading about them. I think that's the only missing element in this book.

    Other than that, I enjoyed the read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2013

    Decent read

    This was a good book, not the very best, but certainly worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    Highly recommend

    This was not his first novel so after I read this excellent novel, I wanted to pick one he had done previously. Unfortunately, the earlier novel was mentioned in the novel I read, and I know what happened in the previous story line and conclusion. darn. Why would he do that?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    Highly recommended

    Great Read. Keeps you involved. Great plots. You'll love it especially if you like lawyer stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2013

    Great

    I love this book. It gets you from page 1 to page 381, it is a mystery and romance combined, the writer keeps you guessing to the end. There all a lot of twist and turns that keep you riveted, a hard book to put down even to go to sleep. Read it you will be glad you did. GJRA

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    Great

    Loved this book. Will be reading more from this author. One of my new favorites.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3