Customer Reviews for

The Lean: A Revolutionary (and Simple!) 30-Day Plan for Healthy, Lasting Weight Loss

Average Rating 3
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 22, 2012

    I think the description of this book as "Vegan Friendly&quo

    I think the description of this book as "Vegan Friendly" is misleading. She is actually easing you into a vegan diet in this book. There is nothing wrong with that but when I read "Vegan Friendly" I was of the impression there would be options for those who still ate meat and/or animal products. There is no such thing in this book. She does have some good information in this book but a better description would be that it is a good book for those interested in easing their way to a vegan diet. If you are interested in that, this book would be a good step by step way to do it.

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2012

    I don't like that she promotes all this artificial meat and chee

    I don't like that she promotes all this artificial meat and cheese products. They are full of chemicals which are not good for your health. I don't believe that eating processed substitutes will make me healthier.

    9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2012

    Expect to become at least a part time vegan

    If you go into the book knowing that you are being led into at the very minimum being a part time vegan, then I would definitely recommend this book. I like that there is no promised "10 lbs in 2 weeks" type of headline for The Lean. I am halfway through the habits/days and feel great. There is nothing too difficult that you can't at least give it a shot. My mood and overall energy level have dramatically improved since starting The Lean habits.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    The Lean is a whole new workd!

    I would recommend The Lean to everyone who is ready to lose weight, especially those who have tried diets and have failed or those who like myself who have just exercised in the past. The weight has literally melted off. Kathy makes it easy by giving you one thing to try each day thereby making gradual changes to your eating. I liked most of the book and have been able to apply them to my life. I have lost 10 lbs. in the last 40 days and feel energtic and great! Give it a try if you are ready to lose the weight.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book About Getting Healthy!

    The Lean by Kelly Freston is a book that follows a simple 30 day plan to change your eating habits so that you can live healthier.
    The book was really easy to follow, and the steps truly were simple.
    I thought that a lot of the steps that were included were very true, and things that people should be doing all of the time.

    I especially liked how this books was more of a baby steps kind of book. You can take the diet plan one step at a time thanks to the day by day schedule. I think that that's one of the reasons that this is so appealing. You can ease yourself into the vegan lifestyle without taking the giant leap.
    Even if you aren't wanting to become a vegan, then you can still benefit from this book.
    It is full of great steps to help change your body for the better, even if it's as simple as eating an apple.

    I think this is a great book for anyone who is looking to eat healthier, or is just looking for some great reading material on nutrition and foods. I definitely enjoyed it, even though I have no intention of giving up my carnivorous ways.
    :)

    If you're curious about the 30 steps and what they mean, I would highly advise you to check out Kelly's page of badges.
    These are great to share on FB, Twitter, etc. to drum up support from your family and friends, especially while going through the 30 day plan.
    :D

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2