BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Legend of Bagger Vance: A Novel of Golf and the Game of Life

Average Rating 4.5
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    An Exceptional Read

    The book lived up to its positive reviews, and then more. The movie was good, but the book delivers so much more. It's not about just the game of golf...but about life and the art of living it to your fullest potential. It is one I will re-read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2014

    Upon finishing this book I immediately returned to the first pag

    Upon finishing this book I immediately returned to the first page and began reading it again. When reading, it is a good idea to keep a pencil handy for marking many of the dialogs and passages for future reflection. It is a shame "The Field" was not explained in the movie because it is so important.This omission diminishes much of the cohesion and texture of the story. Unless simply an error, I do not understand why "Junah" is the book's spelling and "Junuh" is the movie's spelling. The movie's Junuh spelling is seen only once when the scoreboard is shown. Surely, I cannot be the only one that noticed that. The movie's ending was poor and should have contained the same much better ending from the book. Anyone who only saw the movie should be strongly encouraged to read the book to truly understand this wonderful story. When others tell me they are just not "readers" I tell them to make an exception for this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    Good Story

    I don't play the game but I really enjoyed the story.Well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2011

    excellent

    The Gita translated to a golf game... the story is excellent and if you want to dig deeper it is there as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Love this book!

    It's beautifully written, with an easy, relaxed narrative style you can sink right into. Story-telling at its best. Life lessons galore, naturally developed and completely accessible without being hit over the head. It's a quick, beautiful read that will leave you feeling better about life, yourself and humanity in general.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A hole in one...

    Pressfield hits a hole in one with his tale of three lost souls and how a mysterious caddy helps them find their perfect swings. Recommended even to those who don't enjoy the sport.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2008

    This book was awesome

    The Legend of Bagger Vance by Steven Pressfield was the best golf book I have ever read and also one of the best books I have ever read period. The book was a great mix between the game of golf itself and the idea of the gods involved in the game. Bagger Vance is a golf god in this book and he is caddying for Rannulph Junah in a match between Walter Hagen and Bobby Jones, two of the greatest golfers of all time. They played an exhibition match at Krewe Island golf club in Savannah Georgia. The winner gets 10,000 dollars. That was an incredible amount of money especially since America was in the great depression at the time. The whole match is great because Junah is playing really good but he must overcome bad memories from when he fought in World War one. This book was great and I would definitely recommend it to all golf fans out there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2007

    A reviewer

    A thought-provoking story of golf and life, one likely to make you enjoy both better. The film was great, but the book is even more rich and insightful. A good read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2004

    Much better than the movie

    I was a bit skeptical because the movie is among one of my favorites. But for those who have seen the movie and are trying to decide wether to read the book, buy it and read it. The book is barely comparable to the movie in my opinion. It is by far much better. It introduces us to things that Redford missed when making the movie which I feel would've made it even better. This is a wonderful book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2003

    AMAZING

    The Legand of Bagger Vance was truly a pleasure to read. The pictures painted in my mind by Pressfield were so amazing and captivating, that I was glued to each turning of the page..... until I had read it completely in one sitting. Being a golf professional, I found it incredible how he tied to the game of golf and the game of life together. I try to convey this to my students and plan on using this book as outside reading to ALL my students.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2002

    Better than the movie!

    I felt that the book went a lot deeper than the movie. I liked the way Rannolf meets Bagger better in the movie but I liked his character better in the book. Don't get me wrong it's a great movie, but the book beat it. The ending to the book was better and they tell you who Bagger reeally is in the book. If you haven't read the book and have seen the movie, I feel you have missed out on a lot. This isn't just an adult novel either. I'm 13 and it's my favorite book ever. It gave me goosebumps and I read it in one sitting. But no one other then Will Smith could have played Bagger in the movie. I had seen the movie first and when i found out who Bagger was, I was astonished. A truely great novel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2002

    A GREAT READ RUINED --- See Redford's Movie

    Little better than pompous convoluted tripe. The narrator is an MD (Movie: a simple duffer). The narrator's father is an MD (Movie: a street-sweeping failed honest businessman). The listener is black, all universe athlete, brilliant MD student (Movie: omitted this character). Bagger Vance is black and (literally) God (Movie: only hints at Vance's divinity). White hero (for all the right reasons) is truly a modern "Greek tragedy" (Movie: leaves viewers with a very different feeling). Georgia used to be part of an Africa country called "Mu". It just goes on ... spare me.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2001

    great book

    this was a wonderfull book, not just for golfers but everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2001

    A great book

    I really liked this book! I think anyone who is a golfer would love it it tells of one man's struggles not only with golf but with what he wittnessed in the war and another man helps him through his demonds. I really enjoyed this I think you should read it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2001

    Much better than the movie.

    You get a much better picture of the Bagger Vance character reading the book than watching the movie. The book gets much more philisophical than the movie. As a golfer, I was intrigued by Vance's notion of an 'authentic swing'. The author does a great job pitting the characters together in the golf tournament. I was fully engrossed in this book and read it one day, which for me is quite unusual. Great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2000

    Outstanding Read

    One of the best books I have read in a long time, on a subject the I love GOLF. The visuals that were flying through my head as I read were amazing. This is a must read for any golfer or a great gift for a golfer. I love any book that can take me to another time and place and this book has done just that. After buying the paperback I now have to get the hardcover for my permanent library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2000

    Golfing Virgin Here

    I do not know a thing about golf, however, I enjoyed this book immensely. It went alot deeper than golf, but on life itself. I can't wait to see the movie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2000

    Enchanting

    This is really a page turner. It seems cliche to say that it is a metaphor for life, but it doesn't take much insight to see that the story goes well beyond the golf course. The writing is very crisp and the images presented are very clear.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2000

    CAPTIVE

    I HAVE NEVER PLAYED GOLF, BUT THIS BOOK WAS TRULY INSPIRING TO ANYONE WHO WAKES UP DAILY. IT GAVE ME A TRUE FEELING THAT I WAS RIGHT THERE WITH THE CHARACTERS, SOMETHING FEW BOOKS HAVE DONE FOR ME FOR SOME TIME.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2