Customer Reviews for

The Legend of Sigurd and Gudrun

Average Rating 4
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Wonferful insight into a facinating time and place.

Poetic eddas have long caused me to wish that I had taken up the study of the Old Norse language when I was younger. Tolkien shows his brilliance in this book, both as a linguist and storyteller, communicating both the intensity of the story and the wonderful constructi...
Poetic eddas have long caused me to wish that I had taken up the study of the Old Norse language when I was younger. Tolkien shows his brilliance in this book, both as a linguist and storyteller, communicating both the intensity of the story and the wonderful construction of language. Written before the epic trilogy for which he is famous, this book shows us how gifted Tolkien truly was, with language and folklore.

posted by 166392 on March 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

One of Tolkien's more academic titles, the two expermental poems offered in this volume can be hard to follow, but the parts that work are very strong.

J.R.R. Tolkien The Legend of Sigurd and Gudrún. May 2009. 377p. ed. by Christopher Tolkien. illus. ISBN 978-0-547-27342-6. $26. LIT
Yet another posthumous title by Tolkien (between writing this much and teaching full time when did he sleep?), this is one of his mo...
J.R.R. Tolkien The Legend of Sigurd and Gudrún. May 2009. 377p. ed. by Christopher Tolkien. illus. ISBN 978-0-547-27342-6. $26. LIT
Yet another posthumous title by Tolkien (between writing this much and teaching full time when did he sleep?), this is one of his more scholarly outputs. Written before his popular Middle-earth creations, the two full poems presented here are based on the old Norse legends that heavily influenced those later works. There are no hobbits or elves, but readers will find plenty of familiar trappings and the feel is much the same. Son Christopher, who has edited 15 of his father's posthumous publications, provides lengthy commentaries on both poems, which greatly help to grasp the narrative, for as he states in the intro these "are not at all points easy to follow" (Beowulf is Dr. Seuss compared to some of this). These poems were experimental writings for Tolkien, and not entirely successful, yet the parts that work are strong. Much like his marvelous The Children of Húrin, this is dark; there are murders, suicides, and betrayals aplenty. Though the average hobbit head might find this too academic, a new book by Tolkien is always warmly welcomed. Recommended.-Mike Rogers, LJX/LJ

posted by MikeRogers on May 4, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 15 of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Must For Tolkein Fans

    I've been a fan of J. R. R. Tolkein since I first picked up a copy of "The Hobbit" in the base library where I was stationed in the USAF in 1970. It started out as simple curiosity of the subject to a 39 year love affair with all of his books. So it was a real treat to find this book and I ordered it without hesitation. If you like Tolkein's books of high fantasy, you like Icelandic/Norse sagas since his books are based on them. Here is a book of an Icelandic saga actually composed by Tolkein and it is is worthy to occupy shelf space of every Tolkein fan.

    As was mentioned, the saga is a bit hard to read but so are the actual sagas themselves. Fortunately for the nonscholars out there, the author's son Christopher Toklein has provided copious notes that make the reading much easier as well as providing the history behind the Icelandic sagas and the writing of Tolkein's own version of them.

    This book has renewed my interest in Icelandic and Norse sagas and I am sure I will be rereading this book very soon.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2013

    $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$

    Puts the bling in amazing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    beautiful

    i just loved it, great stories retold by a great author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A brilliant retelling of the Volsung saga

    The terse, alliterative Norse style poetry by J. R. R. Tolkien was brilliantly done in this retelling of the tragic story of Sigurd and Gudrun. Interestingly, for all of Tolkien's insistence that he prefers the pagan, pre-Christian version of the myth, he gives Sigurd some elements of a Christ character that are not in the original. Some of the commentary by Christopher Tolkien seemed tedious and unnecessary, but I'm still giving this 5 stars for the sake of the poetry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    this book is amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    amazing from begining to the very end!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    a pretty easy read for anybody who likes myth and high fantasy

    great book by j r r tolkien i loved this book the best its right up with both the hobbit and the lord of the rings!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    amazing from begining to the very end!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    awesome from begining to the very end!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 15 of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1