Customer Reviews for

The Lemon Orchard

Average Rating 4
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted July 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    What a moving story! Two people brought together through fate on

    What a moving story! Two people brought together through fate only to realize how much they have in common and how they can rescue each other from the fragmented lives they are living.




    Luanne Rice describes time, place and circumstances so perfectly that our minds can see in detail each cacti needle, grain of sand, and tear shed. I felt like I was there or at the very least watching a movie instead of reading a book. I was thirsty just reading Roberto and Rosa’s long journey through the desert and could smell the fires that were burning in the canyon.




    The Lemon Orchard is a multifaceted story and very timely with a focus on immigration and what people do to provide the best lives possible for their family. Interwoven are losses of both Julia and Roberto with just a thread of hope. Their friendship turns romantic at the perfect pace. 




    I reached the last page way too quickly and can only hope and pray that some time in the future Rice will bless us with a sequel.




    This is a book that should be on everyone’s summer reading lists.  An entertaining story that will make a lasting impression on everyone that reads it. 

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    'The Lemon Orchard' is a captivating and exceptional novel that

    'The Lemon Orchard' is a captivating and exceptional novel that deals with love, loss, self discovery, and acceptance. It tells the story of Julia, the main character of the novel, whose life has been torn apart after the death of her husband and daughter. Julia travels to visit relatives in Malibu and to hopefully start fresh. While she's there, Julia will experience healing, growth, and the one thing she never expected - love.

    This was the first novel I have read by the author and I was blown away. Her attention to detail, the vivid descriptions, and the intimate characteristics of the characters and the setting captured my heart and attention from the very first page. The story is heartbreaking at the beginning and slowly transforms itself into an uplifting story full of hope and love. Julia is a wonderful main character. She's completely broken after the sudden death of her husband and daughter - she doesn't believe her life will ever be worthwhile again. Once she meets the handsome caretaker of the lemon orchard, Roberto, the two immediately connect due to their shared grief and pain. It's an intense and powerful connection and I found it both intriguing and beautiful to watch their relationship develop. The story is told from varying viewpoints throughout, which made it really interesting to read. We get to experience the story from the stance of several characters and their individual insights and thoughts really gave the story more depth. The writing was phenomenal and the author's immense talent was evident with each page. This is a novel that overcomes labels and genre preferences - it is one that must be experienced and not merely read. Highly recommended for fans of contemporary literature, women's fiction, and those who wish to expand their reading into a new and beautiful experience.

    Disclosure: I received a copy of the book in exchange for an honest review.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    To be honest, I wasn┬┐t sure I wanted to read this book at first

    To be honest, I wasn’t sure I wanted to read this book at first but I am so glad that I did. It is a beautifully written story about two broken people finding each other and a way to heal the hurts in their hearts. The book starts off with a heartrending story and keeps the emotional level up through the rest of the book.
    Julia is in California at her aunt and uncle’s lemon orchard house sitting for them while they are in Ireland. She is still mourning the loss of her daughter in a car accident five years before and living in body but not spirit. Her marriage was troubled at the time of the accident and the death of her husband in the same accident left Julia with a mix of grief and guilt. While at the orchard she meets Roberto, a migrant worker from Mexico who is in charge of the orchard’s workings. In Roberto she sees a kindred soul who has also had loss in his life. In an odd coincidence, his daughter was lost five years before at the same time as Julia’s daughter. Eventually the two share their stories and find themselves falling in love. As wonderful as it is for the two to find happiness in each other, it is an incomplete happiness because of their shared sense of loss.
    Ms. Rice must have done an incredible amount of research in this book to so accurately portray the journey that Roberto went through coming from Mexico and the terrible thing that happened. When Julia becomes obsessed with solving the mystery of that awful journey, the reader finds themselves immersed in the immigration issue from a point of view that most of us never consider. Interestingly for me, the day I finished this book I watched a TV news magazine do a story that covered one of the type of groups that Julia goes to on her quest. I think the character of Julia is especially interesting because she finds happiness is prepared to sacrifice it all for the peace of mind of her lover and that she can find a measure of solace by doing so.
    This is an excellent book that needs to be read when one has the time to really sit and read it and to get immersed in the story. I found it impossible to put down and thoroughly enjoyed it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    A wonderful romance. The plot is well structured and the charact

    A wonderful romance. The plot is well structured and the characters are very likable. I found this one very hard to put down. Highly recommended.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2014

    *This book was given to me for a fair and honest review* I

    *This book was given to me for a fair and honest review*
    I was so excited to be given the opportunity to review Luanne Rice’s The Lemon Orchard. I have been a fan for years so this is like the holy grail of reviews for me! Luanne never fails to deliver a wonderfully thought-out and extraordinarily engaging book.

    The Lemon Orchard was thought-provoking and lovely, a book to be read not only with your brain, but your heart as well. The story of Julia and Roberto was heartbreaking yet magical. Finding love after tragedy is hard enough, but struggling with the unknown makes it almost seem impossible. Yet Roberto and Julia reveled in their time together, simmering in the love and passion that they knew was on borrowed time. They fell hard and fast, united in grief and sadness of horrible losses that they both endured but their love made their hearts begin to heal.

    This is not your typical happily-ever-after story. This is what I loved about it. It was REAL. What takes place in the book is real life. Everyday people do not have the sunshine and roses love all the time. There are happy days, there are sad days, there is tragedy, there is healing. Roberto and Julia were the most genuine couple in a romance that I have read in a very long time. They reminded me that sometimes love means letting go….

    I recommend The Lemon Orchard to those who do not like “cookie cutter” romances, who are willing remember that love does not always have a happy ending. Originally posted to Books Books Books Blog

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2014

    Storm

    Sorry I have just chosen a partner butt ill still cosider you again soory

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2014

    Good summer read

    Great writing; you can smell the freshness of the Pacific ocean and the lemon orchards.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2014

    You want me to be honest?

    Alright, first things first. Your name. It's extremely narcissistic to refer to yourself as a genius, when you can't even spell genius right. Even if you were a genius, it would still be narcissistic of you to call yourself a genius. If you really were a genius, you would know that it's kind of rude to call yourself a genius. Okay, mini-rant over. Your story: a couple more facts and explanations would have been nice. Why was she sitting in a closet to begin with? How old is she? Is she at school? Maybe you explain this later, but whatever. There were a couple of grammatical/spelling errors, but that wasn't that bad. I didn't understand Veronica's motives or why she didn't really seem freaked about her eyes turning red. Other than those points, it was fairly good and suspenseful. I liked the concept and would be interested in reading more later. If you could change your name, that is. Anyway, your plot was great and had nice pacing. <br>
    Sincerly,<p>

    ~A. Nony Mouse

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2014

    Honest reveiw

    Oh my gosh it was good left us on a cliffhanger i feel bad for veronica 4 stats cause of grammar

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Two lives engulfed by sorrow meet and find a way of life that br

    Two lives engulfed by sorrow meet and find a way of life that breeds survival for both in extraordinary ways!  Julie lost her daughter Jennie five years ago and with that a part of herself so closely were they entwined in their daily lives.  She also lost her husband at that time; but as sad as that was, it wasn’t as traumatic as the loss of Julie’s child.  For five years Julie has kept close to home but finally agrees to house-sit for her aunt and uncle in Malibu, California. The lemon orchard grove and nearby Pacific Ocean breed some unexpected surprises!
    Roberto is an illegal immigrant who is the manager of the lemon orchard grove.  All of his money goes to his family in Mexico but his heart lies elsewhere. He too has lost a daughter, Rosa, who disappeared five years ago.  He has no idea whether she is alive or dead, but he holds onto a very dim hope she could have been found and adopted by some kind family. The sharing of that secret opens Julie’s heart and provides a ray of hope to Roberto.
    Romance infrequently develops from such pain and yet a similar bond can grow stronger and stronger from the sharing.  So it is here, but don’t try to predict how this all turns out because you will fail for sure.  Closer and closer they do grow as they formulate a plan for the future.  In the process of carrying out this plan, the reader will learn about the personal side of what is a troubling issue to so many in this country America, so often the ultimate refuge of those fleeing poverty, danger and other well-known problems.  But this story defies the stereotypical image of the illegal immigrant, depicting an actual person with a family and dreams of a better future.  No one is taking sides in this novel as to how they should be treated, but reading and pondering this particular scenario puts a whole new light on usually not discussed vulnerable aspects of the problem.
    This is the story of a quest for healing and hope.  It’s about how one singular event changes a person’s life and love forever. It’s no storybook romance but a real, gritty and yet charming account of the possibilities of renewal for those who have been rendered fragile through no fault of their own.
    Luanne Rice has written many novels but this is one of her best!  Very nicely crafted, Luanne Rice, story with some lovely, lovely descriptions of the breathtaking Santa Monica Mountains and lands around it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2014

    Ok...

    You want me to be honest? Sixth grade genious, you're a jerk. But the story's ok.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2014

    Wow

    Cool

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2014

    FlameFall

    He padded in.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    Shortstar

    Thanks

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    AutumnFire

    AutumnFire padded in, her ears twitching.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    To goldenpaw

    U dont talk about cloak and veil like that okay? They are really nice cats!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2014

    HUNTED~ PROLOGUE by: A sixth grade genious

    "Rejected!" Veronica Croc raged to herself in a dark closet, "Rejected by everyone! First I get kicked out of my amature appartment then they," she stumbled. She couldn't help but think about her old friends, who have become her most hated enemies over time.
    Veronica got lost in her thoughts once again and forgot where she was. Suddenly the door opened and a janitor peeked in. The slit of light made a mirror visible on the back of the door. The janitor looked kind, but for today, Veronica hated that. She looked the janitor in the eye angrily and jumped when the janitor let out a murderous scream. Veronica jumped as the janitor ran off.
    Veronica glanced at the mirror on the door then nearly screamed herself, but she held it back. Her eyes, they had turned the color of dark blood. She charged out of the closet, covering her eyes from anyone nor anything.
    It was then she remembered where she was. She wasn't supposed to be there, but she was at the hotel, the one where her own parents had been killed. Veronica was so lost and confused in her thoughts she barely noticed the intruder bell. It took Veronica a moment or two to realize that she, herself was the intruder. She instinctively decided she had to run.
    Veronica didn't want to run, she just couldn't stop. At that very moment, Veronica knew. She knew the answer to everything, she knew she had gone mad. Suddenly, she felt an excruciating pain in the side of her head, and the room became dark.

    Veronica was awakened by street noises. She was still in her old, broken down appartment. Whenever she thought of them, those terrible people, she would see that image in her head, but each time it got worse.
    Veronica wanted it to stop, she just knew it would reoccur. She was changing, changing into a whole new person. She used to feel happy all the time now she feels like every move someone makes is just wrong.
    She used to feel hot this time of year, now everything was so cold.
    Veronica completely forgot what just happened in the previous minutes of her life. Veronica walked out, looking at the mirror on her own front door. Her eyes flashed red.
    This time, Veronica was pleased. "It's not a dream," Veronica whispered walking out of the appartment door "Not this time. Today I will get my revenge."

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Captivating! A beautiful story of loss and love

    A beautifully written story of two people finding their way and healing. An emotional story of Julia, set in breathtaking Santa Monica Mountains at her aunt and uncle’s lemon orchard –house sitting with her dog Bonnie while they are away in Ireland.

    Julie is still mourning the loss of her daughter in a car accident and seeks solace and peace to deal with her grief and guilt. Her marriage was in trouble at the time of the accident, and compounded with the death of her husband and her daughter.

    While at the orchard she meets Roberto, a migrant worker from Mexico who is in charge of the orchard operations. As they say, some people are in your life for a season or a reason. I am a true believer of this.

    In this case Julia sees Roberto as a kindred spirit who has also experienced loss in his life, as his daughter went missing five years ago. This couple become close and fall in love; however, they still have their loss. Julia becomes obsessed solving the mystery of the journey of Roberto and his missing daughter.

    Julia decides to help find her and the tale that unfolds is breathtakingly beautiful, suspenseful, romantic and completely captivating. Roberto has a heartbreaking story and a pain Julia knows too well.

    Rice is at the top of her game with the well-written Lemon Orchard-the intimate details, plot, and finely developed characters. This is a must read and highly recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2013

    I DO RECOMMEND THIS BOOK! I found this book very interesting, at

    I DO RECOMMEND THIS BOOK!
    I found this book very interesting, at first I thought it was a fairy tale romance but after reading more I realized its a human story. I hope more people read this book and open their hearts to other human beings, a little human kindness goes a long way, we never know when we are going to need a helping hand and understanding.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2013

    Heart touching

    Pulled at my heart and kept me turning the page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3