Customer Reviews for

The Lemon Orchard: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    What a moving story! Two people brought together through fate on

    What a moving story! Two people brought together through fate only to realize how much they have in common and how they can rescue each other from the fragmented lives they are living.




    Luanne Rice describes time, place and circumstances so perfectly that our minds can see in detail each cacti needle, grain of sand, and tear shed. I felt like I was there or at the very least watching a movie instead of reading a book. I was thirsty just reading Roberto and Rosa’s long journey through the desert and could smell the fires that were burning in the canyon.




    The Lemon Orchard is a multifaceted story and very timely with a focus on immigration and what people do to provide the best lives possible for their family. Interwoven are losses of both Julia and Roberto with just a thread of hope. Their friendship turns romantic at the perfect pace. 




    I reached the last page way too quickly and can only hope and pray that some time in the future Rice will bless us with a sequel.




    This is a book that should be on everyone’s summer reading lists.  An entertaining story that will make a lasting impression on everyone that reads it. 

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    'The Lemon Orchard' is a captivating and exceptional novel that

    'The Lemon Orchard' is a captivating and exceptional novel that deals with love, loss, self discovery, and acceptance. It tells the story of Julia, the main character of the novel, whose life has been torn apart after the death of her husband and daughter. Julia travels to visit relatives in Malibu and to hopefully start fresh. While she's there, Julia will experience healing, growth, and the one thing she never expected - love.

    This was the first novel I have read by the author and I was blown away. Her attention to detail, the vivid descriptions, and the intimate characteristics of the characters and the setting captured my heart and attention from the very first page. The story is heartbreaking at the beginning and slowly transforms itself into an uplifting story full of hope and love. Julia is a wonderful main character. She's completely broken after the sudden death of her husband and daughter - she doesn't believe her life will ever be worthwhile again. Once she meets the handsome caretaker of the lemon orchard, Roberto, the two immediately connect due to their shared grief and pain. It's an intense and powerful connection and I found it both intriguing and beautiful to watch their relationship develop. The story is told from varying viewpoints throughout, which made it really interesting to read. We get to experience the story from the stance of several characters and their individual insights and thoughts really gave the story more depth. The writing was phenomenal and the author's immense talent was evident with each page. This is a novel that overcomes labels and genre preferences - it is one that must be experienced and not merely read. Highly recommended for fans of contemporary literature, women's fiction, and those who wish to expand their reading into a new and beautiful experience.

    Disclosure: I received a copy of the book in exchange for an honest review.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    To be honest, I wasn¿t sure I wanted to read this book at first

    To be honest, I wasn’t sure I wanted to read this book at first but I am so glad that I did. It is a beautifully written story about two broken people finding each other and a way to heal the hurts in their hearts. The book starts off with a heartrending story and keeps the emotional level up through the rest of the book.
    Julia is in California at her aunt and uncle’s lemon orchard house sitting for them while they are in Ireland. She is still mourning the loss of her daughter in a car accident five years before and living in body but not spirit. Her marriage was troubled at the time of the accident and the death of her husband in the same accident left Julia with a mix of grief and guilt. While at the orchard she meets Roberto, a migrant worker from Mexico who is in charge of the orchard’s workings. In Roberto she sees a kindred soul who has also had loss in his life. In an odd coincidence, his daughter was lost five years before at the same time as Julia’s daughter. Eventually the two share their stories and find themselves falling in love. As wonderful as it is for the two to find happiness in each other, it is an incomplete happiness because of their shared sense of loss.
    Ms. Rice must have done an incredible amount of research in this book to so accurately portray the journey that Roberto went through coming from Mexico and the terrible thing that happened. When Julia becomes obsessed with solving the mystery of that awful journey, the reader finds themselves immersed in the immigration issue from a point of view that most of us never consider. Interestingly for me, the day I finished this book I watched a TV news magazine do a story that covered one of the type of groups that Julia goes to on her quest. I think the character of Julia is especially interesting because she finds happiness is prepared to sacrifice it all for the peace of mind of her lover and that she can find a measure of solace by doing so.
    This is an excellent book that needs to be read when one has the time to really sit and read it and to get immersed in the story. I found it impossible to put down and thoroughly enjoyed it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    A wonderful romance. The plot is well structured and the charact

    A wonderful romance. The plot is well structured and the characters are very likable. I found this one very hard to put down. Highly recommended.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2014

    Storm

    Sorry I have just chosen a partner butt ill still cosider you again soory

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2014

    You want me to be honest?

    Alright, first things first. Your name. It's extremely narcissistic to refer to yourself as a genius, when you can't even spell genius right. Even if you were a genius, it would still be narcissistic of you to call yourself a genius. If you really were a genius, you would know that it's kind of rude to call yourself a genius. Okay, mini-rant over. Your story: a couple more facts and explanations would have been nice. Why was she sitting in a closet to begin with? How old is she? Is she at school? Maybe you explain this later, but whatever. There were a couple of grammatical/spelling errors, but that wasn't that bad. I didn't understand Veronica's motives or why she didn't really seem freaked about her eyes turning red. Other than those points, it was fairly good and suspenseful. I liked the concept and would be interested in reading more later. If you could change your name, that is. Anyway, your plot was great and had nice pacing. <br>
    Sincerly,<p>

    ~A. Nony Mouse

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2014

    Honest reveiw

    Oh my gosh it was good left us on a cliffhanger i feel bad for veronica 4 stats cause of grammar

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2014

    Wow

    Cool

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2014

    FlameFall

    He padded in.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    Shortstar

    Thanks

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    To goldenpaw

    U dont talk about cloak and veil like that okay? They are really nice cats!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2014

    HUNTED~ PROLOGUE by: A sixth grade genious

    "Rejected!" Veronica Croc raged to herself in a dark closet, "Rejected by everyone! First I get kicked out of my amature appartment then they," she stumbled. She couldn't help but think about her old friends, who have become her most hated enemies over time.
    Veronica got lost in her thoughts once again and forgot where she was. Suddenly the door opened and a janitor peeked in. The slit of light made a mirror visible on the back of the door. The janitor looked kind, but for today, Veronica hated that. She looked the janitor in the eye angrily and jumped when the janitor let out a murderous scream. Veronica jumped as the janitor ran off.
    Veronica glanced at the mirror on the door then nearly screamed herself, but she held it back. Her eyes, they had turned the color of dark blood. She charged out of the closet, covering her eyes from anyone nor anything.
    It was then she remembered where she was. She wasn't supposed to be there, but she was at the hotel, the one where her own parents had been killed. Veronica was so lost and confused in her thoughts she barely noticed the intruder bell. It took Veronica a moment or two to realize that she, herself was the intruder. She instinctively decided she had to run.
    Veronica didn't want to run, she just couldn't stop. At that very moment, Veronica knew. She knew the answer to everything, she knew she had gone mad. Suddenly, she felt an excruciating pain in the side of her head, and the room became dark.

    Veronica was awakened by street noises. She was still in her old, broken down appartment. Whenever she thought of them, those terrible people, she would see that image in her head, but each time it got worse.
    Veronica wanted it to stop, she just knew it would reoccur. She was changing, changing into a whole new person. She used to feel happy all the time now she feels like every move someone makes is just wrong.
    She used to feel hot this time of year, now everything was so cold.
    Veronica completely forgot what just happened in the previous minutes of her life. Veronica walked out, looking at the mirror on her own front door. Her eyes flashed red.
    This time, Veronica was pleased. "It's not a dream," Veronica whispered walking out of the appartment door "Not this time. Today I will get my revenge."

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Captivating! A beautiful story of loss and love

    A beautifully written story of two people finding their way and healing. An emotional story of Julia, set in breathtaking Santa Monica Mountains at her aunt and uncle’s lemon orchard –house sitting with her dog Bonnie while they are away in Ireland.

    Julie is still mourning the loss of her daughter in a car accident and seeks solace and peace to deal with her grief and guilt. Her marriage was in trouble at the time of the accident, and compounded with the death of her husband and her daughter.

    While at the orchard she meets Roberto, a migrant worker from Mexico who is in charge of the orchard operations. As they say, some people are in your life for a season or a reason. I am a true believer of this.

    In this case Julia sees Roberto as a kindred spirit who has also experienced loss in his life, as his daughter went missing five years ago. This couple become close and fall in love; however, they still have their loss. Julia becomes obsessed solving the mystery of the journey of Roberto and his missing daughter.

    Julia decides to help find her and the tale that unfolds is breathtakingly beautiful, suspenseful, romantic and completely captivating. Roberto has a heartbreaking story and a pain Julia knows too well.

    Rice is at the top of her game with the well-written Lemon Orchard-the intimate details, plot, and finely developed characters. This is a must read and highly recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2013

    Pierce

    Drags her in

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    Loved it!

    I really enjoyed this book, had a hard time putting it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2013

    Julia's life has been turned upside down. Her sixteen year old d

    Julia's life has been turned upside down. Her sixteen year old daughter, Jenny, had a car accident killing herself and her father. When Julia's aunt and uncle ask her to come to Malibu and house sit for them while they travel she accepts hoping for peace and quiet. The lemon orchard is just as she remembers with the addition of the manager, Roberto.  The connection these two share is amazing and quite a story.




     This is a book that when you finish it you stop and have to sit back and think about it. The beginning, middle, and ending were wonderful. I loved getting to know Julia and Roberto and their stories. Learning their past and their present made them very real to me. It is also kept me guessing as to what their future would be. The love these two shared was sweet and heart warming. They were true partners not just friends or lovers.




     I had tears, smiles, and love all come from the story Luanne Rice told. The Lemon Orchard is an amazing story that I will happily recommend over and over again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    Highly Recommended!

    This was my first Luanne Rice book and I loved it. Look forward to ready her other books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Luanne Rice knows how to spin a tale

    The topic of this book deals with an issue that is ery current. We all hear about the problems of "border crossings", but it is rare that we hear about the problems of the people crossing the border. This book brought forth a lot of knowledge and circomstances
    that we don't usually consider.
    Ms. Rice was very informative while writing a warm love story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2013

    Julia and Roberto - two souls struggling with life as they silen

    Julia and Roberto - two souls struggling with life as they silently bear the burden of their own individual losses. Each of them is very different, but as we know, tragedy know no boundaries, has no rules and is not governed by socioeconomic status. And so they are drawn together and through their relationship, they begin to heal.
    What a touching story and so well written. I was completely caught off guard by the ending - it made me gasp!
    I will never listen to the immigration debate again without thinking of this book. Also, I ALWAYS tell people that I don’t read novels classified as romance. That has changed with reading this. I could not have made a better choice for my first foray into the prolific library that is Ms. Rice’s written word. Lucky me.

    Muchas Gracias to Penguin Group Viking/Pamela Dorman Books, via Netgalley, for allowing me to read this in exchange for an unbiased review.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    H

    C

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2