Customer Reviews for

The Lie: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2009

    Unbelievable in so many ways

    This book was seriously amazing. The characters were so well developed, their flaws brought so perfectly to the surface. I was constantly amazed at how stupid Kyle could be to keep wanting Heather; disgusted by how manipulative and selfish Heather could be. Brett was honestly a huge jerk from the start, and his behavior was both shocking and completely amusing at the same time. The ending is a twist I definitely didn't expect, and I was thinking about it for days after reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Awesome, awesome book! I couldn't put it down until the very end

    Awesome, awesome book! I couldn't put it down until the very end! And my mind was COMPLETELY BLOWN!! Throughout the whole book I couldn't imagine what had happened that was supposedly so 'terrible' to the characters, and I had never in a million years imagined what unfolded in the end. It is definitely not a book for the faint of heart as it is filled with more profanity and disgusting sexual acts than I could even imagine, much less describe, but I think that is what I loved about it the most. It was so raw and just open that it made me feel that much closer to the characters. This was my first Chad Kultgen book, and I will definitely be going back for the rest of his works. I just hope that they are at least close to as good as this one was!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    No no no no no no no

    Distgusting book and it takes alot for me to say that. Please dont waste your time reading this trash of a book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Horrible Ending!!!

    I am definitely a fan of this author and his writing style, but this book seriously has the worst ending of all time! Its ok for a book to end without a happy ending, but this book makes you literally want to hold a gun up to your head and pull the trigger. Spare your frustration and do not read this book. I hope his next book will be better... I loved "Average American Male."

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    Impossible to Put Down

    There is nothing better than finding a new author thats writing is thoroughly enjouable. After the first twenty pages, there was no putting this boor down. The story and caracters are all well developed. And of course, the college life is right on the money,from greek life, dorm like andd expectations.
    However, this book may come off as offensive to some. To me, it is a purely enjoyable work off fiction with some twists along the way. It comes with the perspective of the shy academic type, the shallow sorority girl and the rich frat guy. I will be looking out for more of this author's work in the future!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2013

    Wow!!!

    Wow!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    Awful

    Don't do it!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Wonderfully Shameless Page-Turner

    If you're looking for a book with pure entertainment value, then look no further. If you are easily offended however, stay far, far away. This book holds nothing back as it details the protagonist's transformation from a hopeless romantic into a misogynistic pig thanks to the emotional roller coaster that is his three year college romance. Cringe-worthy yet impossible to put down, this book is a highly recommended, thoroughly entertaining journey into the mind of three uniquely twisted college students.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Not good

    Waste of time unless your an 18 year old boy with NOTHING else to do

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2011

    hilarious satire of the Americam college experience; Do not send your daughters to a college with greek life!

    much better developed than his earlier 'average american male', The Lie is the story of three friends whose lives are inextricably intertwined. Admittedly vulgar, though i found the vulgarity added great value and humor. Told through alternating first person accounts from the three main characters. Its a shame that a lot of what is embellished here about college life is in fact not far off base. Brings clarity to the mantras: no girl is important enough to ruin a friendship over; and most importantly, Hell hath no fury like (even a vapid) a woman scorned... Fun read. I will never send my daughter to a college with greek life after reading this book...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2011

    Lovee Chad Kultgen

    His second book is awesome! I love it! Cant wait till he comes out with another. If you love Average American Male, then you'll def. love The Lie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Dirty

    Loved it. Read the book in two days. Now to go find a used copy of his first book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    This book could be a lesson for a lot of people

    This book is genius. In the beginning of the book, Brett introduced himself by saying the reader would hate him. In reality, I really enjoyed his character. He was truly revolting at times because of the acts he demanded to be performed, but it was actually for a good cause. The way he viewed girls was mostly true. Although I don't think all girls are useless beings that are only interested in material possessions, I do think A LOT of girls are like that. What's shocking is I'm a girl and I agree with him for the most part. Slutty girls, like those in this book, could really learn something from this character if they read into it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    New Favorite Author

    This was my first Kultgen book that I read. After finding more about the author, I had some big expectations and he did not let me down. It definitely brought me back to college and he wasn't far off the mark with the attitudes of college kids. In a way reading this book was very real to me. I knew many shallow girls like Heather. I knew lots of jaded guys like Brett. I also watched train wrecks like Kyle unfold before my very eyes. I laughed out loud several times and I cringed quite a few times during this book. I was horrified at some of the characters/events but I never wanted to put it down. It was a mix between Apathy and Other small victories by Paul Neilan and I Hope They Serve Beer in Hell by Tucker Max.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2009

    Still a bit over the top...

    After recerntly finsishing the average american male, I was intrigued to read the Lie. While the story contains many of the same language and even similiarities with characters, I found this novel to be a much better told story. The plot was interesting and had many turns I didn't see coming. I found myself compelled to keep reading just to see what horrible occurence the 3 narrators kept referring to. I enjoyed the style, the vocab and the vehicle the author chose to tell his story. Not the most high brow book but worth a read none the less.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2