Customer Reviews for

The Life and Death of Bayou Billy

Average Rating 3.5
( 130 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(40)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(28)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Hilarious

Look, if you don't like strong language this book probably isn't for you. But, if you have a ribald sense of humor, you will have a wonderful time reading about the antics of those trying to make money out of the death of a notorious outlaw. The book is well plotted and...
Look, if you don't like strong language this book probably isn't for you. But, if you have a ribald sense of humor, you will have a wonderful time reading about the antics of those trying to make money out of the death of a notorious outlaw. The book is well plotted and never slows down. With all the complicated double dealing by all parties involved, it still comes down to a satisfying ending. So what if just about every nasty word in the English language is used in the book? For me that's part of the charm of the story. It should be noted that nowhere is there a derogatory word describing someone's race or ethnicity. You know, the real obscene words. If you like having fun, you can't do better than this book.

posted by Cubop1 on September 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

it was an interesting read.

I am glad this book was free. The story would have been a lot better had the author not used so much bad language. Over all I enjoyed the plot.

posted by fiter47 on June 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 10, 2011

    Hilarious

    Look, if you don't like strong language this book probably isn't for you. But, if you have a ribald sense of humor, you will have a wonderful time reading about the antics of those trying to make money out of the death of a notorious outlaw. The book is well plotted and never slows down. With all the complicated double dealing by all parties involved, it still comes down to a satisfying ending. So what if just about every nasty word in the English language is used in the book? For me that's part of the charm of the story. It should be noted that nowhere is there a derogatory word describing someone's race or ethnicity. You know, the real obscene words. If you like having fun, you can't do better than this book.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Funniest. Author. EVER.

    I mean really. Her "thrillers" are great. Her funny stories are even better. I love this woman! And so many of her books are free. I'm going to quit being a cheapskate now and buy the rest. ;-)

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2011

    Absolutely Hilarious!!!

    This book was sooooo funny....couldn't put it down. A must read! Can't wait for the next book.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2011

    Giggled all the way through!

    I loved this book. This is one of my favorite authors and have read everything she has written. Laughed through this book so hard my husband thought I was crazy. Being from a small town I know people just like those in the book so I can see this happening. Well worth the read and read the Bubba books they are also very very good.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2011

    Highly recommended

    I loved this book! The language was a bit crude but fit the characters and the theme. Laughed all the way through!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2011

    I'M 60 YEARS OLD AND I THOUGHT I KNEW EVERY CUSS WORD IN THE ENGLISH LANGUAGE!

    Truly inventive cussing, and most of it without a dirty word in it. I laughed all the way through this book. If you can't get passed the f-word, then you'll miss out on aa lot of fun. The plot is fast and zany - the good guys sometimes act like bad guys, but the bad guys ALWAYS act like bad guys.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2012

    This book had me laughing out loud several times!!!

    One of the funniest books I've ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2012

    excellent. very funny. didn't mind the language. it was written

    excellent. very funny. didn't mind the language. it was written for adults

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    Fun read, highly recommend

    This was a funny, crazy book with lots of bizarre characters and an even more bizarre storyline. If you want a good laugh and a relaxing book, I recommend this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    Excellent plot

    Great book. I really enjoy C.L. Bevill novels. Good plot and characters. A must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2012

    Hilarious!!

    This was a fantastic book! There were a few grammatical errors, but nothing major. The characters were wacky and intriguing. I laughed through the whole thing. Yes, it does have some very strong language in it, but, on the most part they are out and out rants, so can easily be skipped over. This book is 850 pages, and I wished it had never ended. This is my second book by this author, the first one being "Bubba And The Dead Woman", and I will be getting more of her books. And the remaining question is, how many times can a dead body (final vestiges) be stolen?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Really good book

    I have read several of this authors books and have enjoyed them all

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2011

    Bravo

    Some of the most creative use of insults ever. If you don't like foul language don't read it. If you enjoy eccentric chracters and gallows humor the book is just the ticket. I am loving this author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2011

    Hilarious!! Love this author!!

    This book keep me laughing the whole time. Reminded me so much of that movie "Drowning Mona" with Bette Midler. If you like that movie, you will love this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2011

    Laugh Out Loud Outrageous

    This was a good read. The characters are interesting and the action is fast paced

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2011

    Damn Funny Book

    Sure, it's got bad words but it's about a bad man who dies and two towns want his body for the infamy of having an outlaw buried in their town. So they do just about everything, including stealing bodies, lying, and blowing things up, to get Bayou Billy's corpse. It was hilarious. And it's free.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2011

    hilarious fantastic

    i am so hooked on c.l. bevill

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2011

    Simply GREAT!!

    Will make you laugh out loud, and tell every one you know about it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2